Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in judgment (Memorandum of Appeal dated 9th January 2019)· [2021] KEELC 2316 (KLR)

Charles Kithiori Imwiti v Kinyua Koome [2021] KEELC 2316 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
28 July 2021
2,655 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that a land allotment letter alone gives you no ownership rights unless you meet all its conditions, including approval of the planning document.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The appellant sued the respondent in the Chief Magistrate's Court at Isiolo claiming to be the registered owner of plot Lower Kiwanjani/33, allocated to him in 1999, and sought the respondent's eviction after the respondent allegedly invaded the plot in May 2013 and later settled on it. The respondent denied the claim, asserting occupation since 1994, formalized by the Lands office in 2012, and produced a PDP, a site inspection report showing no prior commitment or dispute, and a letter from Isiolo County confirming the appellant was the owner of plot 34, not 33. The trial court dismissed the claim with costs, placing prime reliance on a Physical Planner's report which found that the appellant's PDP was never approved nor circulated to the County Council for adoption as a basis for allocation. The appellant appealed on six grounds, principally that the magistrate relied on extraneous material - the report whose maker was not cross-examined. The Environment and Land Court at Garissa, as the first appellate court, re-evaluated the evidence. It held that an allotment letter is a process, not an end in itself, conferring only a contractual right exercisable upon compliance with its terms; that the appellant did not comply with the payment terms within the stipulated 30 days; that no surveyor or County witness was called to establish the appellant's entitlement; and that there can be no valid letter of allotment without an approved and circulated PDP. Finding no basis to interfere with the trial court's findings, the court dismissed the appeal with costs on 28th July 2021.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether an unapproved and non-circulated PDP could support a valid letter of allotment

Holding

The letter of allotment issued to the appellant was irregularly issued and could not confer proprietary interest; a valid allotment requires an approved PDP circulated to and adopted by the County Council

Reasoning

The Physical Planner's report found that the PDP relied on by the appellant was never approved nor circulated to the County Council of Isiolo for adoption by the Town Works and Markets Committee. The trial court held there can be no allotment unless the PDP is approved and/or circulated, and the appellate court adopted these findings as critical procedural requirements for alienation of public land held in trust by county councils.

p. 2
02

Whether the appellant complied with the terms of the letter of allotment

Holding

The appellant did not fully comply with the terms of the allotment letter within the stipulated 30 days, and did not call witnesses (County officer, surveyor) to prove his entitlement

Reasoning

The allotment letter required payment of a Stand Premium, rent, conveyancing fees, registration fees, stamp duty, survey fees, approval fees and planning fees within 30 days. The court found these were not fully paid, no surveyor was called to identify boundaries, no beacon certificate was produced, and no witness from the County Government of Isiolo was called to show the plaintiff was the rightful allottee.

p. 3
03

Whether the trial magistrate erred in relying on the Physical Planner's report whose maker was not cross-examined

Holding

No error: the report was admitted in evidence without objection and the appellant never sought to have its maker summoned for cross-examination

Reasoning

The respondent submitted, without contradiction from the record, that the report was produced and admitted in evidence in the lower court without any objection from the appellant, and that the appellant never applied to have the maker summoned for cross-examination. The appellate court found the trial magistrate properly directed his mind to the evidence and applicable law.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • An allotment letter is a process and not an end in itself; it confers only a contractual right to be allocated property upon compliance with conditions, not a proprietary interest
  • An appellate court will not ordinarily interfere with findings of fact by a trial court unless based on no evidence, on a misapprehension of the evidence, or on wrong principles
  • Acceptance of a letter of allotment may be in writing or by conduct, including payment of the stipulated sums

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Government Lands Act (repealed)Not specified
  • Rating ActCap. 267
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 2 Rule 15

Cases cited (6)

  • Mwanasokoni –VS- Kenya Bus Services Ltd
    (1982-88) KAR 278
  • Kiruga –VS- Kiruga & Another
    (1988) KLR 348
  • Commissioner of Lands and another Vs Kithinji Murugu M'agere
    (2014) e KLR
  • Dr. Joseph N.K. Arap N'gok Vs Justice Moijo ole Keewa and others
    Civil Appeal No. Nai. 60 of 199[9]
  • Jubilee Insurance Company Limited –VS- Grace Ayuma Mbinda
    (2016) eKLR
  • Job Kiloch –VS- Nation Media Group Ltd., Salaba Agencies Ltd. & Michael R*
    (2015) eKLR
On appeal from
Chief Magistrate's Court at Isiolo
Not stated (plaint dated 27th May 2013)
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the magistrates' court (appeal from the Chief Magistrate's Court at Isiolo)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Charles Kithiori Imwiti v Kinyua Koome [2021] KEELC 2316 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in judgment (Memorandum of Appeal dated 9th January 2019). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2021/2316/eng@2021-07-28

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.