Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text (Murang'a ELC suit filed 16/6/2015)· [2020] KEELC 3626 (KLR)

Dorothy Wacera Macharia v Mboi Kamiti Farmers Company Limited & 2 others [2020] KEELC 3626 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 January 2020
7,424 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~30 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled fraudulently obtained land titles, ruling a company that took full payment held the land in trust for the buyer's family.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, widow and co-administrator of the estate of John Gichuki Thogo, sued over NGINDA/SAMAR/BLOCK 2/316 (10 acres bought from Mboi-Kamiti Farmers Limited in 1992-93). Thogo paid the full price of Kshs 400,000 and the transfer and Land Control Board consent were executed, but he died in 1998 before registration. The green card showed the land instead registered to Patrick Gachanja Mutira on 9/1/14 and transferred to Afrimac Nut Company Limited on 25/8/14 after the Plaintiff's caution was removed in CMCC No 159/2014. The original 1st Defendant died and the suit against him abated; Mboi-Kamiti was enjoined by consent. The court framed six issues. It held the suit was not statute barred, fraud having been discovered in 2014. The Plaintiff had locus standi as trustee under the confirmed grant, the objection being in substance res judicata of a ruling of 2/5/19. On the merits, the court found Mboi-Kamiti, having sold and received the full price, held title in trust for Thogo's estate and could not convey to Gachanja; the resulting titles were nullities impeachable under section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act. Afrimac failed to prove it was a bona fide purchaser: no official search, no executed transfer, unproven stamp duty and payment, and visible occupation ignored. Declarations of nullity, rectification reverting the title to Mboi-Kamiti, an order that Mboi-Kamiti transfer the land to the Plaintiff within 14 days (with default execution by the Deputy Registrar), and a permanent injunction were granted. General, punitive and exemplary damages were declined for want of evidence; costs were awarded against the 2nd Defendant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Limitation

Holding

The suit is not statute barred because the claim is founded on fraud and the Plaintiff discovered the fraud in 2014 and sued in 2015

Reasoning

Section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act provides that where a claim is based on fraud, time does not run until discovery or constructive discovery. The Plaintiff testified she discovered the fraudulent registration in 2014 and filed suit in 2015, within time. Although the objection was raised only by the 3rd Defendant, which did not prosecute its defence, the court inquired into it as it touches jurisdiction.

p. 4
02

Locus standi

Holding

The Plaintiff, named in the confirmed grant to hold the suit land in trust for beneficiaries, has capacity to sue; the objection is res judicata of an earlier ruling

Reasoning

The court held the confirmation of grant clothed the Plaintiff with legal capacity as trustee of the suit land. The same issue had been decided in a ruling of 2/5/19 dismissing a preliminary objection, so the point was in substance res judicata. Further, Mboi-Kamiti was enjoined by consent not set aside or appealed.

03

Fraud and illegality

Holding

Mboi-Kamiti, having sold to Thogo, received full payment and executed transfer documents, held the title in trust and fraudulently conferred a title it did not own on Patrick Gachanja; the derivative titles are nullities impeachable under section 26(1)(b) LRA

Reasoning

The documentary evidence showed Thogo paid Kshs 400,000, the transfer and LCB consent were executed, and Mboi-Kamiti never rescinded or refunded. It therefore had nothing to pass to Gachanja. The court found the individual particulars of fraud as pleaded against each Defendant not tenable due to inelegant drafting, but the illegality falls under section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act. Gachanja passed nothing to the 2nd Defendant.

p. 6
04

Bona fide purchaser for value without notice

Holding

The 2nd Defendant failed to establish the defence: LCB consent preceded the sale agreement, no executed transfer or official search was produced, stamp duty payment unproven, and visible occupation should have raised suspicion

Reasoning

The court found the 2nd Defendant conducted no due diligence, produced no certificate of search or executed transfer, could not prove payment of the purchase price or stamp duty, and ignored a farmhouse, fence, grave and the Plaintiff's occupation. Without apparent valid title in the vendor and without valuable consideration proved, the bona fide purchaser plea fails.

Legal principles established

#
  • A seller who has received the full purchase price and executed the transfer holds the title in trust for the purchaser and cannot convey the land to a third party
  • One cannot confer title that one does not own; a nullity of title cannot pass a valid derivative title
  • Fraud must be specifically pleaded and distinctly proved; it cannot be left to be inferred from facts
  • A proprietor relying on the bona fide purchaser defence bears the burden of proving good faith, due diligence and valuable consideration
  • A proprietor whose title is under challenge must prove the legality of how the title was acquired, not merely produce the title instrument

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the registration in the name of the 1st Defendant and subsequent transfer to the 2nd Defendant was unprocedurally unlawful null and void and of no legal consequence
  2. 2.The 3rd Defendant is ordered to rectify the title of the suit land by cancelling entries Nos. 4-9 to revert the title to the 1st registered owner Mboi-Kamiti Farmers Limited
  3. 3.The 1st Defendant is ordered to transfer the suit land to the Plaintiff pursuant to the further amended confirmed grant issued in Nairobi High Court Succession No 2619 of 1998 on 13/5/2014 within 14 days
  4. 4.In default the Deputy Registrar of the Court is mandated to execute all requisite documents to effect the transfer to the Plaintiff
  5. 5.The Land Registrar may dispense with the production of the original title in the name of the 2nd Defendant
  6. 6.General, punitive and exemplary damages declined
  7. 7.A permanent injunction restraining the Defendants from selling, disposing of, encumbering or otherwise dealing with NGINDA/SAMAR/BLOCK 2/316
  8. 8.The costs of the suit payable by the 2nd Defendant in favour of the Plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSections 24, 25, 26, 26(1)(b), 46
  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 26
  • Evidence ActSection 107
  • Stamp Duty ActSection 5
  • Land Act(cited generally)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 24 Rule 4(3)

Cases cited (12)

  • Katende Vs Haridas & Company Limited
    EALR (2008) 2 EA
  • Falcon Global Logistics Co Limited Vs Eldama Ravine Boarding Primary School
  • Lawrence P Mukiri Mungai Vs James Ndirangu & 4 others
    CA 146 of 2014
  • Central Bank of Kenya Limited Vs Trust Bank Limited & 4 others
    (1996) EKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau Vs George Mau
    (2015) EKLR
  • Waimiha Saw Milling Company Vs Waione Timber Company Limited
    (1926) AC 101
  • Vijay Morjaria vs Nansingh Madhusingh Darbar & Another
    [2000] eKLR
  • Hannington Njuki Vs Willian Nyanzi
    HCCC No 434 of 1996
  • Sir John Bogire Vs Matovu
    CA No 7 of 1996 (ULR)
  • Arthi Highway Developers Limited vs West End Butchery Limited & 6 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha
    Nyeri C.A No. 239 of 2009 [2013] eKLR
  • Lawrence Mukiri Mungai Vs AG & 4 others
    (2017) EKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under the Environment and Land Court Act and Article 162(2) of the Constitution (not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Dorothy Wacera Macharia v Mboi Kamiti Farmers Company Limited & 2 others [2020] KEELC 3626 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment text (Murang'a ELC suit filed 16/6/2015). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/3626/eng@2020-01-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.