Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the excerpt (Mombasa ELC plaint dated 25th May 2015, amended 23rd March 2016)· [2020] KEELC 3171 (KLR)

Sadru Nanji v Al Nashir Dhanji [2020] KEELC 3171 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
10 February 2020
3,737 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Mombasa court awarded a landlord money for occupation and repairs, but far less than claimed because he proved no basis for his highest figure.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a plaint dated 25th May 2015 and amended on 23rd March 2016, the plaintiff, owner of leasehold interest in Flat Number 5, Block K on Plot Number 407 Section XI Mombasa Island, sued the defendant for mesne profits, service charge, renovation charges, a declaration of trespass, eviction and a mandatory injunction. The plaintiff claimed that the defendant, a former tenant of the previous owners, had used an order of the Rent Restriction Tribunal dated 17th June 2009 (later quashed in judicial review, High Court Misc. Civil Application No. 446 of 2009) to regain possession and remained in possession with his furniture inside despite a demand letter dated 16th April 2015. The defendant denied any relationship with the plaintiff, asserted he had vacated in August 2008, and contended that the judicial review proceedings did not determine ownership or his rights. The court framed four issues: ownership, trespass, entitlement to reliefs, and costs. It found the plaintiff owned the premises from 12th March 2009, but that the defendant only became a trespasser from 16th April 2015 when formal demand was made. The plaintiff failed to justify the claimed Kshs.40,000 monthly mesne profits; the court assessed reasonable mesne profits at Kshs.4,250 per month from July 2009 to June 2015 (Kshs.301,750), awarded service charge at Kshs.3,910 per month from April 2009 to June 2015 (Kshs.213,780) and renovation charges of Kshs.266,348.60, plus costs of the suit and interest. The suit was partially allowed, the monetary reliefs awarded at reduced quantum.

Key legal issues

#
01

Ownership of the suit premises

Holding

The plaintiff proved ownership of the suit premises from 12th March 2009 when he purchased and obtained transfer of it.

Reasoning

The plaintiff tendered documentary evidence including the approved transfer form from Jubilee Building Cooperative Society Ltd and the transfer dated 12th March 2009. The defendant laid no claim of ownership, admitting he had no proprietary interest and even suggesting the property go to the Unclaimed Assets Agency. No other party claimed ownership.

p. 3
02

Whether the defendant was a trespasser

Holding

The defendant became a trespasser only from 16th April 2015, when the plaintiff formally demanded vacant possession; before that he was not a trespasser.

Reasoning

The defendant rented the premises in 1987 from the previous owners and remained in possession as at 12th March 2009. He obtained tribunal orders on 17th June 2009 permitting him to regain possession, which were only quashed by the High Court in judicial review on 20th March 2015. Trespass could only arise from the plaintiff's demand letter of 16/4/15.

p. 3
03

Quantum of mesne profits

Holding

The plaintiff was entitled to mesne profits but failed to justify the claimed Kshs.40,000 per month; the court assessed reasonable mesne profits at Kshs.4,250 per month from July 2009 to June 2015.

Reasoning

The plaintiff gave no evidence justifying the Kshs.40,000 monthly rate. The last known rent was Kshs.2,500 per month, which had risen from Kshs.1,500 (about 66.66% increase). The court applied a 70% increment to the last rent, arriving at Kshs.4,250 per month as reasonable mesne profits for the relevant period.

p. 4
04

Service charge and renovation charges

Holding

The plaintiff proved the claim for service charge at Kshs.3,910 per month and renovation charges of Kshs.266,348.60.

Reasoning

The defendant did not dispute that the premises are in a gated community with shared and common services, satisfying the court on the service charge claim. The plaintiff produced documentary evidence, including a valuation report by Maina Chege & Co., supporting the renovation charges claimed.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A person in possession of premises pursuant to a tenancy or tribunal order cannot be termed a trespasser until formal demand for vacant possession is made by the owner.
  • Mesne profits must be proved with a basis for the quantum claimed; where none is given, the court may assess reasonable mesne profits by reference to the last known rent.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Mesne profit at the rate of Kshs.4,250 per month from July 2009 to June 2015 (Kshs.301,750.00)
  2. 2.Service charge from April 2009 to June 2015 at the rate of Kshs.3,910 per month (Kshs.213,780.00)
  3. 3.Renovation charges of Kshs.266,348.60
  4. 4.Costs of the suit
  5. 5.Interest on (a), (b), (c) and (d) above

Authorities

#

Cases cited (2)

  • Kenya Hotel Properties Limited –v- Willesden Investments Limited
    (2009) eKLR
  • John Mithamo Njika –v- Kellen Ndagala Nguumiri
    (2015) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over the suit premises (land dispute) - no specific constitutional/statutory provision cited in the excerpt

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Sadru Nanji v Al Nashir Dhanji [2020] KEELC 3171 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the excerpt (Mombasa ELC plaint dated 25th May 2015, amended 23rd March 2016). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/3171/eng@2020-02-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.