Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (plaint filed 26th July 2019; Notice of Motion dated 29th July 2019)· [2020] KEELC 2978 (KLR)

Eastmore School Limited & another v Faulu Microfinance Bank Limited & another [2020] KEELC 2978 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 April 2020
2,276 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The court dismissed a school's bid to stop a bank auctioning its charged land, confirming that banks can sell if statutory notices are properly served.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, operators of a private boarding school, sued the 1st defendant bank (chargee) and the 2nd defendant auctioneer over a intended sale by public auction scheduled for 1st August 2019 of the suit property, Nakuru Municipality Block 16/303, charged to secure loans of KShs 14 million advanced to the 1st plaintiff. By Notice of Motion dated 29th July 2019 they sought a temporary injunction restraining the sale, alienation or interference with the property, arguing the chargee's power of sale had not crystallised because the statutory notices under sections 90(1) and 96(2) of the Land Act were neither addressed to nor served on the chargor, no new notification of sale and 45-day redemption notice issued for the rescheduled auction, no advertisement under rule 16(2) of the Auctioneers Rules, 1997, and no forced sale valuation under section 97 of the Land Act. The 1st defendant opposed; the 2nd defendant did not participate. Applying the Giella test as sequenced in Nguruman, the court found the notices validly issued and served by registered post to the chargor's designated postal address, rejecting the argument that copying rather than addressing the notice to the chargor rendered it defective. It held that disputes on the amount owing alone cannot ground an injunction against a chargee, and that no fresh notification of sale was required for a rescheduled auction. Although the absence of advertisement appeared valid, the failure related to a sale whose date had passed; the application was overtaken by events and no prima facie case was established. The application was dismissed with costs in the cause. Judgment delivered remotely on 30th April 2020 pursuant to the Chief Justice's COVID-19 Practice Directions.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiffs established a prima facie case for an interlocutory injunction

Holding

No prima facie case was established; the application was overtaken by events since the threatened sale date had passed

Reasoning

The court applied the Giella test sequentially as explained in Nguruman. The plaintiffs' own material showed acknowledged default and arrears. The statutory notices under sections 90 and 96 of the Land Act were properly issued and served by registered post. The only defect was non-advertisement of the 1st August 2019 auction, but that date had passed, so there was no present threat of violation of any right to be restrained.

p. 3
02

Whether the statutory notices under sections 90(1) and 96(2) of the Land Act were validly issued and served

Holding

The notices dated 10th May 2018 and 18th January 2019 were validly issued and served by registered post to the chargor's postal address in the charge documents

Reasoning

The notice dated 10th May 2018 was addressed to the 1st plaintiff and copied to the 2nd plaintiff, sent by registered post to the postal address specified in the charge documents, and complied with section 90(2). The chargor was also a director of the borrower. The notice to sell dated 18th January 2019 similarly complied with section 96(2) and section 90(3). The argument that copying rather than addressing the notice to the chargor rendered it defective was rejected.

p. 2
03

Whether the failure to advertise the auction and conduct a forced sale valuation warranted an injunction

Holding

Although non-advertisement under rule 16(2) appeared valid as a complaint, it related to a sale whose date had passed, so no restraint could issue against a future compliant sale

Reasoning

The court accepted that no advertisement for the 1st August 2019 auction was exhibited, so the plaintiffs' contention seemed valid. However, the failure related to a proposed sale whose date was now past. Any future auction would have to meet the advertisement and valuation requirements, and the court could not restrain the bank from holding a lawful future sale. The prayer was therefore moot.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A dispute as to the amount owing under a charge alone cannot be a basis for granting an injunction to restrain a chargee from exercising the power of sale
  • A notice under section 90(1) of the Land Act is not defective merely because the chargor is copied rather than addressed, provided the chargor is adequately informed of the matters specified under section 90(2)
  • There is no legal basis for requiring a fresh notification of sale and 45-day redemption notice merely because an auction is rescheduled to a new date
  • An injunction will not issue to restrain a future sale by a chargee where the chargee may still comply with the law before that sale

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Notice of Motion dated 29th July 2019 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs shall be in the cause

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Actsection 90(1), 90(2), 90(3)
  • Land Actsection 96(2)
  • Land Actsection 97(1) and (2)
  • Auctioneers Rulesrule 15
  • Auctioneers Rulesrule 16(2)

Cases cited (5)

  • Giella –vs- Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    [1973] E.A 358
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Mrao Ltd vs First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 Others
    (2003) KLR 125
  • Habib Bank Ag Zurich v. Popin (K) Ltd & Others
    [1989] LLR 3069
  • Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd v Stephen Mukiri Ndegwa & another
    [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over the suit (interlocutory application in a plaint filed 26th July 2019); ruling delivered under the Chief Justice's Practice Directions on remote delivery during the COVID-19 pandemic

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Eastmore School Limited & another v Faulu Microfinance Bank Limited & another [2020] KEELC 2978 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment (plaint filed 26th July 2019; Notice of Motion dated 29th July 2019). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/2978/eng@2020-04-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.