Prairie Co-operative Society Limited v Kuria Gitonga & 7 others [2020] KEELC 2233 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court dismissed a contempt claim because the 2011 status quo order didn't clearly say which land it covered.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether contempt of the 18th October 2011 consent status quo order was proved
Contempt was not proved; the court could not establish the scope of the order or the acts of disobedience to the required standard
The order made by Emukule J in 2011 did not state which property it related to. The parties disputed what constituted the suit property - the applicants disclaimed interest in LR No. 4730/45, the subject of the plaint, while the plaintiff said the order concerned LR No. 22909. Because contempt carries penal consequences for liberty and property, the higher standard of proof applies, and the applicants failed to discharge it.
The court's jurisdiction over contempt
The court has both statutory and inherent jurisdiction to punish violation of its orders
Relying on section 5(1) of the Judicature Act and Court of Appeal authority, the court affirmed its power to punish any party who violates its orders, since court orders issue ex cathedra and are compulsive and binding. Jurisdiction was thus affirmed even though the order under challenge was made by another judge over eight years earlier.
Legal principles established
#- The standard of proof in contempt proceedings is higher than the balance of probabilities applicable in ordinary civil proceedings
- Court orders are binding and must be obeyed regardless of a party's view of them, until discharged
- Every court has inherent jurisdiction to punish violation of its orders and uphold its authority and dignity
Court orders
#- 1.Notice of Motion dated 25th October 2019 dismissed
- 2.Costs in the cause
- 3.Parties encouraged to set down the suit for hearing
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Inherent jurisdiction of the court to punish for contempt, including under section 5(1) of the Judicature Act
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Prairie Co-operative Society Limited v Kuria Gitonga & 7 others [2020] KEELC 2233 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the excerpt (Notice of Motion dated 25th October 2019). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/2233/eng@2020-06-04
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.