Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment text· [2020] KEELC 1941 (KLR)

Francis Wainaina Kariuki v Samuel Kiongo Ndegwa; National Bank of Kenya Ltd (Interested Party) [2020] KEELC 1941 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
Invalid Date
2,662 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that a validly auctioned property buyer with a registered title gets eviction, while unproven fraud claims and no counterclaim fail.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued for eviction from land parcel MWERUA/KANYOKORA/420, averring that he purchased it at a public auction on 14th January 2003 conducted by Watts Enterprises Auctioneers on the instructions of National Bank of Kenya in exercise of its statutory power of sale, paid the full purchase price of Ksh. 760,000, and was registered as absolute proprietor. He alleged the defendant, a relative, requested six months to vacate but refused to do so. The defendant alleged the auction was fraudulent and null and void, claiming he was not served and that no bids were made. The court framed a single issue: whether the plaintiff proved his case on a balance of probabilities. The plaintiff produced the title deed, official search, auction agreement, bank and auctioneer letters confirming the auction and payment. The defendant admitted the loan arrears, receipt of statutory notice, attendance at the auction, and continued occupation, contradicting his defence that no auction took place. The court noted the defendant had previously filed CMCC No. 505 of 2003 (Nyeri) challenging the sale, which was struck out, and his appeal was dismissed. Relying on Gabriel Ndungu Githua v National Bank of Kenya, the court held that the equity of redemption was extinguished by the valid sale contract, leaving damages as the defendant's only remedy. Under section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, the plaintiff's title was prima facie and indefeasible, and the defendant's unproved fraud allegations and absence of a counter-claim could not displace it. The court ordered the defendant to vacate within 30 days failing which he would be evicted, with police supervision, and awarded the plaintiff costs plus interest at court rates.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved his claim for eviction on a balance of probabilities

Holding

Yes. The plaintiff proved he purchased the suit land at a lawful public auction held in exercise of the bank's statutory power of sale, paid the full price and was registered as proprietor; the defendant's fraud allegations were unproved and no counter-claim for cancellation of title was filed.

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced the title deed, official search, auction sale agreement, bank and auctioneer correspondence confirming the auction of 14th January 2003 and payment of the purchase price. The defendant admitted arrears, receipt of notice, attendance at the auction and continued occupation. His prior suit challenging the sale was struck out and his appeal dismissed, confirming no pending suit over the property.

p. 3
02

Effect of the defendant's unproved fraud allegations and failure to counter-claim on the plaintiff's indefeasible title

Holding

The defendant pleaded fraud but proved none, did not seek leave to enjoin the auctioneers, and filed no counter-claim for cancellation of title or rectification of the register; the plaintiff's title under section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act therefore stands.

Reasoning

Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act renders the certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, subject to challenge only on proof of fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is party, or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition. The defendant did not bring himself within these exceptions, so the title could not be challenged.

p. 3
03

Whether the defendant's equity of redemption survived the auction sale

Holding

No. The equity of redemption was extinguished upon the valid contract of sale executed pursuant to the public auction; the defendant's only remedy, if aggrieved, was to sue for damages.

Reasoning

Relying on Gabriel Ndungu Githua v National Bank of Kenya & 2 Others and the decision in Ze Yu Yang v Vova Industrial Products Ltd citing George Mbuthia v Jumba Credit Corporation, the court concurred that a valid contract of sale pursuant to a statutory power of sale extinguishes the equity of redemption, leaving damages as the sole remedy for a dissatisfied mortgagor.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on grounds of fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is party, or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme.
  • Once a contract is executed pursuant to a public auction conducted in exercise of a statutory power of sale, the equity of redemption stands extinguished; the mortgagor's remedy is damages.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The defendant be and is hereby given 30 days from today to vacate the suit land parcel No. MWERUA/KANYOKORA/420 failing which he shall be evicted
  2. 2.The Officer Commanding Kerugoya Police Station to supervise the exercise and ensure law and order is observed
  3. 3.The defendant shall pay the costs of this suit plus interest at Court rates

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Transfer of Property ActSection 60

Cases cited (3)

  • Gabriel Ndungu Githua v National Bank of Kenya & 2 Others
    (2009) e K.L.R
  • Ze Yu Yang v Vova Industrial Products Ltd
    Nairobi HCCC No. 9 of 2003 (unreported)
  • George Mbuthia v Jumba Credit Corporation
    Civil Appeal 111 of 1986
Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court jurisdiction over land disputes (suit for eviction from land parcel MWERUA/KANYOKORA/420); specific provision not stated in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Francis Wainaina Kariuki v Samuel Kiongo Ndegwa; National Bank of Kenya Ltd (Interested Party) [2020] KEELC 1941 (KLR)", Case Analysis (Unkn). Not stated in the judgment text. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/1941/eng@2020-05-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.