Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2020] KEELC 1899 (KLR)

Charles Munene Ngochi v Mary Mugure [2020] KEELC 1899 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
5 June 2020
2,211 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that agreed interest rates in consent judgments are binding unless proven illegal, fraudulent, or unconscionable.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first appeal to the Environment and Land Court at Kerugoya from an order of Principal Magistrate Hon. S.N. Ndegwa dated 26th July 2013 dismissing the appellant's Notice of Motion dated 3rd July 2009. The motion sought leave to liquidate a decretal balance by instalments, fresh computation of interest, and setting aside of an undated decree and a consent order dated 19th September 2005. The dispute originated in a 1999 agreement for sale of Title No. GICHUGU/SETTLEMENT/SCHEME/1295, which became null and void for want of Land Control Board consent within six months. The purchaser sued for refund with interest, and on 19th September 2005 the trial court adopted a consent judgment of Ksh. 237,000/= inclusive of interest and costs. The ELC Judge framed four issues: setting aside the consent judgment; the 35% per annum interest; whether the sale agreement was void for lack of consent; and costs. The court, applying Samuel Mbugua Ikumbu, held that consent judgments may be set aside only on grounds vitiating a contract, and, following National Bank of Kenya v Pipeplastic Samolit and Ajay Indravan Shah, found the agreed 35% rate neither illegal, unconscionable nor fraudulent. It accepted that the transaction was void but noted the consent judgment merely reflected the statutory refund remedy under Section 7 of the Land Control Act. The court also observed that the impugned orders were discretionary and appealable only with leave, which the appellant never obtained, but proceeded to dismiss the appeal on the merits with costs. The judgment is dated 5th June 2020 and was delivered via e-mail.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the consent judgment of 19th September 2005 should be set aside

Holding

No sufficient grounds existed; the parties voluntarily agreed to the sum of Ksh. 237,000/= inclusive of interest

Reasoning

The court applied the settled principle that a consent order can be varied or set aside only on grounds vitiating a contract such as fraud, illegality, mistake or unconscionability. The appellant alleged no such vitiating factor; the parties had freely and voluntarily agreed to the 35% interest default clause and compromised the suit at a lump sum inclusive of interest.

p. 3
02

Whether the agreed 35% per annum interest was illegal, unconscionable or fraudulent

Holding

It was not; the rate was far below the rates courts have struck down as unconscionable

Reasoning

Drawing on National Bank of Kenya v Pipeplastic Samolit and Ajay Indravan Shah, the court held it could interfere only where the agreed rate was illegal, unconscionable or fraudulent. The court contrasted 35% per annum with the 50% per month (600% per annum) rate found unconscionable in the Pipeplastic case, and found nothing oppressive in the present rate.

p. 3
03

Whether the sale agreement was void for want of Land Control Board consent

Holding

Yes, the transaction became null and void, entitling the payer only to a refund recoverable as a debt under Section 7 of the Land Control Act

Reasoning

Under Sections 6 and 8(1) of the Land Control Act, consent for a controlled transaction must be obtained within six months, failing which the agreement becomes null and void. That is common ground here. Section 7 then provides that money paid under a void controlled transaction is recoverable as a debt - which is precisely what the consent judgment reflected.

p. 3
04

Whether the appeal was properly before the court without leave

Holding

No leave was sought or obtained, rendering the appeal defective, though the court proceeded to dismiss it on the merits

Reasoning

The orders sought in the Notice of Motion were discretionary and appealable only with leave under Order 43 Rule 1(2) and (3) CPR and Section 75 CPA. Citing Peter Nyaga Muvake v Joseph Mutunga, the court noted leave is a sine qua non for a valid notice of appeal. The appellant never sought leave, though the court still analysed and dismissed the appeal on its merits.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A consent judgment may be set aside only on grounds that would vitiate a contract, such as fraud, collusion, illegality, mistake or unconscionability
  • A court will not interfere with an agreed contractual interest rate unless it is illegal, unconscionable or fraudulent
  • A void controlled transaction permits only recovery of monies paid as a debt under Section 7 of the Land Control Act
  • Leave to appeal is a sine qua non for a valid appeal against orders appealable only with leave

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Appeal is dismissed with costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder XX Rule 11(2), Order XXI Rule 1, Order 43 Rule 1(2) and (3)
  • Civil Procedure ActSections 3A, 63(e), 75, 26(1)
  • Land Control Act Cap. 302Sections 6, 7, 8(1), 22

Cases cited (4)

  • Samuel Mbugua Ikumbu Vs Barclays Bank of Kenya Limited
    (2015) e K.L.R
  • National Bank of Kenya Ltd vs Pipeplastic Samolit (K) Limited
    (2001) e K.L.R
  • Ajay Indravan Shah vs Guilders International Bank Ltd
    Civil Appeal No. 135/2001 (2002) 1 E.A. 269
  • Peter Nyaga Muvake vs Joseph Mutunga
    Civil Appeal No. 86 of 2015 (Nairobi) (2015) e K.L.R
On appeal from
Principal Magistrate's Court
Not stated (suit arising from plaint dated 21st November 2000)
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal against discretionary orders; appeal purportedly under Order 43 Rule 1(2) and (3) CPR and Section 75 CPA (leave not sought)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Charles Munene Ngochi v Mary Mugure [2020] KEELC 1899 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/1899/eng@2020-06-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.