Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in judgment (plaint dated 27th August 2014)· [2020] KEELC 819 (KLR)

Laurent Hongo Jacob Owiti v Charles Oyugi Owino & 3 others [2020] KEELC 819 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
7 October 2020
3,005 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landowner who never sold his plot got it back after the court cancelled fraudulently obtained titles and restored his name on the register.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued the defendants seeking declarations that he was the lawful first registered proprietor of parcel KISUMU/KASULE/1582, that the 3rd and 4th defendants (registered officials) lacked statutory power to transfer the parcel to the 1st and 2nd defendants without his consent, cancellation of the defendants' registrations and rectification of the register, plus costs. The 1st and 2nd defendants were served by substituted service through the Standard Newspaper and did not enter appearance; the 3rd, 4th and 5th defendants filed a defence but called no witness. The matter proceeded by formal proof. The plaintiff testified as first registered owner since 29th November 1988 and produced his title deed, green card, adjudication register and rates receipts. He discovered on 4th August 2014 during a lands office search that the land had been fraudulently transferred, and filed suit on 27th August 2014. The court held, relying on sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act and authorities including Dr. Joseph Arap Ngok, that the plaintiff's title was indefeasible. It held the suit was not time barred under section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act because limitation runs from discovery of fraud. The original title having never been surrendered for cancellation and the loss never publicised in the Kenya Gazette, the transfers were plainly fraudulent. Invoking section 80 of the Land Registration Act, the court cancelled the 1st and 2nd defendants' registrations, directed rectification of the register into the plaintiff's name, and awarded costs plus interest to be paid by the defendants.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved ownership of the suit land

Holding

The court held the plaintiff indefeasible owner under sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act, his title deed, green card, rates receipts and adjudication register being unchallenged

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced his title deed issued on 29th November 1988 as first registered owner, the green card, the Kasule adjudication register and rates payment receipts. None of the defendants challenged this evidence or suggested the documents were procured fraudulently. The court was therefore bound by sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act to find him the indefeasible proprietor.

p. 3
02

Whether the suit was time barred

Holding

The suit was not time barred; limitation ran only from discovery of the fraud on 4th August 2014

Reasoning

Applying section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act, the court held that where an action is based on fraud, time runs from discovery. The plaintiff discovered on 4th August 2014 during a search at the Lands Registry that his land had been fraudulently transferred, and he filed suit on 27th August 2014, well within time.

p. 3
03

Whether the defendants fraudulently transferred the suit land

Holding

The transfers were fraudulent; the original title was never surrendered for cancellation and no loss was publicised in the Kenya Gazette

Reasoning

The plaintiff pleaded particulars of fraud and testified he never sold the land, retaining the original title. Following Evanson Wambugu Gachugi, the original title must be surrendered for cancellation before a new title issues, and any loss must be publicised in the Kenya Gazette. Neither occurred, leading the court to conclude the transaction was clearly fraudulent.

p. 4
04

Whether the register should be rectified

Holding

The court exercised its power under section 80 of the Land Registration Act to cancel the defendants' registrations and rectify the register in the plaintiff's name

Reasoning

Section 80(1) empowers the court to order rectification where a registration was obtained by fraud or mistake. The court found the 1st and 2nd defendants' registrations were products of fraud, and no protective subsection (2) circumstances arose, so it directed cancellation and rectification to reflect the plaintiff's name.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor's title is absolute and indefeasible and can only be challenged on grounds of fraud or misrepresentation to which the owner is proved to be a party
  • In fraud cases, limitation does not begin to run until the plaintiff discovers the fraud or could with reasonable diligence have discovered it

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the plaintiff is lawfully registered proprietor of all that property comprised in the title known as KISUMU/KASULE/1582 measuring approximately 0.17Ha situated in Kisumu County, being registered as such as the first registered proprietor
  2. 2.A declaration that the 3rd and 4th defendants as the registered officials lacked the statutory powers to transfer the parcel No. KISUMU/KASULE/1582 to the 1st defendant and subsequently to the 2nd defendant without the consent and/or knowledge of the plaintiff
  3. 3.That the registration of the 1st and 2nd defendants is cancelled and the register be rectified to reflect the name of the plaintiff by the 3rd defendant
  4. 4.Costs of the suit plus interest to be paid by the defendants
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit under the Land Registration Act (sections 24, 25, 26 and 80); first-instance land dispute

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Laurent Hongo Jacob Owiti v Charles Oyugi Owino & 3 others [2020] KEELC 819 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in judgment (plaint dated 27th August 2014). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/819/eng@2020-10-07

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.