Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text provided· [2020] KEELC 449 (KLR)

Ajit Bhogal v Kenya Power And Lighting Co. Ltd [2020] KEELC 449 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
23 November 2020
6,137 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~25 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya Power must pay a Mombasa landowner KShs.20 million for trespassing to build a power line without consent or compensation.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, the registered freehold proprietor of Plot No. 571, Section V, Mainland North, Mombasa, sued the defendant power utility for trespass, general, aggravated and exemplary damages and a permanent injunction, claiming the defendant entered his land in 1999-2000 and constructed a second 132 KV electricity line from Rabai to Kipevu without licence or consent. The defendant denied trespass, asserting the second line ran within the existing 30-metre wayleave trace of the first 132 KV line and that it was the plaintiff who had encroached on the trace. The court heard the plaintiff, the defendant's Assistant Wayleave Officer, received a joint survey report (signed only by the plaintiff's surveyor) and took a site visit, then framed five issues. Holding that the plaintiff's title was undisputed, the court found that the defendant had repeatedly sought a wayleave, been refused unless suitably compensated, yet entered and constructed the second line without consent and without compensation. Under the Electric Power Act, No. 11 of 1997, the repealed Wayleaves Act, the Energy Act and Section 148 of the Land Act, 2012, landowner consent and compensation were mandatory; the defendant's entry therefore amounted to a continuing trespass. The plaintiff's Kshs.300,000,000 claim was rejected as unpleaded and unproven special damages; the court awarded general damages of Kshs.20,000,000. Exemplary and aggravated damages were refused because the defendant's repeated correspondence and forwarding of a wayleave agreement showed no malice or arrogance. A permanent injunction was refused as impractical, since removing the operational line would incapacitate power supply to the coastal region; instead the defendant was directed to negotiate a proper wayleave agreement or right of way under Section 148 of the Land Act within 120 days, with liberty to apply. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff, with costs borne by the defendant. Dated, signed and delivered virtually at Mombasa on 23rd November 2020 by C.K. Yano, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the defendant's construction of the second 132 KV line on the plaintiff's land without consent constituted trespass

Holding

Yes - the defendant sought the wayleave repeatedly, was refused unless suitably compensated, but proceeded to lay the line without consent and without compensation, and the trespass is continuing

Reasoning

The plaintiff's registered title was not disputed. Under Section 46 of the Electric Power Act, No. 11 of 1997, the repealed Wayleaves Act, and now Sections 46-47 and 52 of the Energy Act and Section 148 of the Land Act, 2012, a landowner's permission and compensation are required before laying electric supply lines. The defendant's own letters showed requests were refused, yet it entered and constructed the second line. Entry without lawful authority and without compensation is trespass, which continues as long as the line remains.

p. 6
02

The quantum of general damages for the continuing trespass

Holding

General damages of Kshs.20,000,000 awarded as nominal/general damages, since the plaintiff's claim of Kshs.300,000,000 was an unpleaded, unproven claim for special damages

Reasoning

The plaintiff claimed Kshs.300,000,000 computed at Kshs.15,000,000 per year for 20 years, but pleaded no special damages and adduced no evidence of how the annual figure was derived or of the actual loss to the land. The court held such a claim is special damages neither pleaded nor proved, and awarded Kshs.20,000,000 as general damages, taking account of the evidence that about 1.5 acres had been denied the plaintiff since 1999 while the land remained in some use.

p. 6
03

Whether exemplary and aggravated damages were payable

Holding

No - the defendant's persistent correspondence and forwarding of a standard wayleave agreement showed no malice, arrogance or profit-seeking at the plaintiff's expense

Reasoning

Applying Rookes v Barnard as approved in Obongo v Municipal Council of Kisumu, exemplary damages are limited to oppressive/arbitrary state action or profit-making conduct exceeding compensation payable. Here the defendant pleaded for the wayleave over time, forwarded standard wayleave agreement documents for execution, and built the line out of necessity for coastal power supply. That conduct was not malicious or arrogant, and aggravated damages, being compensatory, were also unwarranted on these facts.

p. 6
04

Whether a permanent injunction should issue restraining the defendant from the suit land

Holding

No injunction granted; instead the defendant was directed to negotiate a proper wayleave agreement/right of way under Section 148 of the Land Act, 2012 within 120 days

Reasoning

The second 132 KV line is in place and supplies the coastal region from Rabai to Kipevu. Removing it would incapacitate the entire line and cause untold suffering to the populace and public facilities. The justice of the case, the court held, is that the defendant be given time to negotiate the wayleave/right of way with the plaintiff as the law provides, with liberty to apply reserved for both parties.

p. 6
05

Weight to be given to the joint survey report signed only by the plaintiff's surveyor

Holding

The report was admitted as representing the joint position of the parties' surveyors; the reference to Ketraco instead of KPLC was an immaterial error, and the defendant's surveyor gave no reason for not signing nor filed any rival report

Reasoning

The joint survey ordered by the court was conducted on 15th March 2018 with both surveyors present, but the report was signed only by the plaintiff's surveyor, Mr. Mwendwa, and referred to Ketraco rather than the defendant. The court noted that the defendant's representative, Mr. Amunga, was never asked why he did not sign and filed no alternative report, so the objection could not stand and the report was taken as the joint position found on the suit property itself.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Trespass to land is actionable per se; a plaintiff need not prove specific damage to be awarded damages, though unpleaded and unproven losses cannot yield special damages
  • A licensee under the energy legislation must obtain the landowner's consent (or the statutory alternative of court/arbitral determination and compensation) before laying electric supply lines on private land; entry without consent amounts to trespass
  • Exemplary damages are confined to two classes of cases - oppressive, arbitrary or unconstitutional action by government servants, and conduct calculated to procure benefit at the plaintiff's expense; aggravated damages are essentially compensatory
  • A wayleave is an analogous right of way governed by Part X (Sections 143-149) of the Land Act, 2012, which also provides for compensation

Court orders

#
  1. 1.General damages in the sum of Kshs.20,000,000/- for trespass
  2. 2.The defendant is directed to negotiate a proper wayleave agreement/right of way with the plaintiff as per Section 148 of the Land Act 2012 and enabling provisions, within 120 days from the date of the judgment
  3. 3.Either party has liberty to apply
  4. 4.Costs of the suit to be borne by the defendant
Jurisdiction invoked
First-instance civil suit on the pleadings (plaint dated 30th November 2006) before the Environment and Land Court

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (2)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ajit Bhogal v Kenya Power And Lighting Co. Ltd [2020] KEELC 449 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment text provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/449/eng@2020-11-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.