Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment (plaint originally dated 14/1/2008, amended 15/4/2009)· [2020] KEELC 318 (KLR)

Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission v Wilson Gacanja & 3 others; Nairobi City Council (Interested Party) [2020] KEELC 318 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
8 December 2020
6,056 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~24 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court cancelled fraudulent 1997 titles to a government house in Nairobi, confirming that a registered title cannot shield fraud.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, as successor to the Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission, challenged the 1997 alienation of LR No 209/6238 - the developed official residence of the Principal of the Kenya School of Law - by the then Commissioner of Lands, Wilson Gacanja, to Rockville Limited, and its subsequent transfer to Standard Assurance Limited in 2002. The plaintiff showed through five uncontroverted witnesses that the land had been surveyed, alienated and titled in 1962 as Grant IR 19103 in favour of the East African Common Services Authority, later vesting in the Government of Kenya as a government house, and was therefore not available for alienation in 1997. The 1997 dealings involved a duplicated deed plan (No 215822) and a second grant (IR 74856) bearing the same land reference number, no surrender of the existing title, no presidential authority under section 3 of the repealed Government Lands Act, and no procedural disposal under the applicable Government Regulations and Public Works Housing Circular No 2/58. None of the defendants led evidence. Applying the Court of Appeal's jurisprudence in Chemey Investment and Munyu Maina, the court found the allotment letter, the grant and the subsequent transfer illegal, null and void. It granted prayers (a) to (f): declarations of nullity, cancellation of the titles, restoration of the 1962 title to the Principal Secretary for the National Treasury on behalf of the State Law Office, and a permanent injunction. Noting the defunct Office of the Commissioner of Lands and the Directorate of Survey - the key culprits - were not parties, the court ordered each party to bear its own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Validity of the 1997 allotment and Grant over already alienated, titled and developed Government land

Holding

The allotment letter dated 3/11/1997 and Grant Number 74856 are illegal, null and void because the land was already alienated, titled and developed in 1962 and was never surrendered for re-alienation

Reasoning

The uncontroverted evidence showed that LR 209/6238 was surveyed in 1962, granted as IR 19103 to the East African Common Services Authority and later vested in the Government of Kenya as a developed government house. There was no surrender of the 1962 title, no presidential authority under section 3 of the Government Lands Act, and no procedural disposal under the applicable Government Regulations and Ministry of Public Works circulars. The same land reference number appeared on two deed plans and two grants, which the law does not permit.

p. 6
02

Burden of proof of fraud and illegality

Holding

The plaintiff bore the evidential burden of proving the fraud and illegalities particularised in the amended plaint and discharged it through uncontroverted evidence

Reasoning

As the suit was brought by the plaintiff, it bore the evidential burden of proving the pleaded fraud and illegalities. Five witnesses - including a surveyor, a land registrar and an EACC investigator - gave uncontroverted evidence establishing the 1962 title, the resurvey of 1997 and the duplication of the grant. None of the defendants led any evidence to controvert the plaintiff's case or support their own defences.

p. 5
03

Entitlement to the reliefs sought

Holding

Prayers (a) to (f) of the amended plaint were granted in the absence of evidence challenging them

Reasoning

The court considered the prayers in the context of the plaintiff's constitutional and statutory mandate to recover public property corruptly acquired. The focus of the prayers was nullification of the impugned alienation and the parallel title. Since no defendant led evidence or submissions challenging the reliefs, and the 3rd defendant orally supported the plaintiff's case, the court granted declarations of nullity, cancellation of titles, restoration of the 1962 title and a permanent injunction.

p. 6
04

Costs in public interest litigation

Holding

Each party to bear its own costs because the key culprits - the defunct Office of the Commissioner of Lands and the Directorate of Survey - were not parties

Reasoning

The court characterised the suit as largely public litigation prosecuted by a publicly funded body on behalf of the Kenyan people. It observed that the two key culprits in the alienation, the defunct Office of the Commissioner of Lands and the Directorate of Survey, were public offices not party to the suit, and therefore declined to award costs against any party, ordering each party to bear its own costs.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Sanctity of title is not a shield for fraud, illegality or unjust enrichment at public expense
  • Where a registered proprietor's root of title is challenged, the proprietor must prove the legality of the acquisition beyond the title instrument
  • Land law does not permit duplication of deed plans and grants over the same parcel

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the letter of allotment dated 3/11/1997 allocating to the 2nd defendant Land Reference Number 209/6238 is null and void, and the same is cancelled
  2. 2.A declaration that Grant Number 74856 registered on 21/11/1997 in respect of Land Reference Number 209/6238 in the name of the 2nd defendant is null and void, and the same is cancelled
  3. 3.A declaration that the transfer of Land Reference Number 209/6238 by the 2nd defendant to the 3rd defendant is null and void
  4. 4.An order cancelling and/or revoking the title documents issued to the 2nd and 3rd defendants in respect of Land Reference Number 209/6238
  5. 5.The Chief Land Registrar ordered to register Land Reference Number 209/6238 comprised in Grant Number IR 19103 registered on 11/9/1962 and delineated on Survey Plan Number 79163 dated 1962 in the name of The Principal Secretary for the National Treasury to hold the same on behalf of the State Law Office
  6. 6.A permanent injunction restraining the defendants, their agents and/or servants against disposing, encumbering, wasting or trespassing on or interfering with Land Reference Number 209/6238
  7. 7.Parties shall bear their respective costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Government Lands ActChapter 280, Laws of Kenya, section 3
  • Constitution of Kenya (repealed, as referenced for unalienated Government land)definition of unalienated Government land
  • Government Financial Regulations and Proceduresdisposal of government property
  • Ministry of Public Works Housing Circular No 2/58 of 1958disposal of developed and titled government land

Cases cited (9)

  • Chemey Investment Limited v Attorney General & 2 Others
    [2018] eKLR
  • Niaz Mohamed Jan Mohamed v Commissioner for Lands & 4 Others
    [1996] eKLR
  • Funzi Island Development Ltd & 2 Others v County Council of Kwale
  • Republic v Minister for Transport & Communications & 5 Others ex parte Waa Ship Garbage Collectors & 15 Others
    KLR (E&L) 1, 563
  • John Peter Mureithi & 2 Others v Attorney General & 4 Others
    [2006] eKLR
  • Kenya National Highway Authority v Shalien Masood Mughal & 5 Others
    (2017) eKLR
  • Arthi Highway Developers Limited v West End Butchery Limited & 6 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina
    [2013] eKLR
  • Milan Kumarn Shah & Others v City Council of Nairobi & Others
    HCCC No. 1024 of 2005
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the validity of title to land; suit instituted by the anti-corruption agency pursuant to its constitutional and statutory mandate

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission v Wilson Gacanja & 3 others; Nairobi City Council (Interested Party) [2020] KEELC 318 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment (plaint originally dated 14/1/2008, amended 15/4/2009). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2020/318/eng@2020-12-08

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.