Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedMachakos High Court, Notice of Motion dated 17th April 2018 (arising from Advocate-Client Bill of Costs dated 24th October 2017)· [2019] KEELC 3869 (KLR)

Machakos County Government v Kapiti Plains Estate Ltd & another [2019] KEELC 3869 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya
5 April 2019
5,458 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~22 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The High Court dismissed Machakos County's attempt to avoid a KShs 366 million advocate's bill, confirming the lawyer was properly instructed and entitled to his fees.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The County Government of Machakos moved by notice of motion dated 17th April 2018 to strike out an Advocate-Client Bill of Costs dated 24th October 2017 in which Boniface Mutinda Kabaka t/a Kabaka & Associates Advocates claimed Kshs. 366,670,971.70 for a rates-recovery suit filed against Kapiti Plains Estate Limited in Machakos HCCC (ELC) No. 40 of 2015. The Applicant alleged that advocate Philip Nzyuko Musya's signature on the Plaint and other pleadings was forged, that Jacinta Masila's signatures on affidavits were forged, that the advocate had no instructions, had breached the Public Procurement and Assets Disposal Act, 2015, and had acted in conflict of interest while serving as the County's Legal and Strategy Adviser and County Attorney. The court framed five issues and dismissed the application. It found, comparing signatures under Section 76(1) of the Evidence Act, that Musya did sign the Plaint and that the forgery allegation failed for want of handwriting-expert evidence. On instructions, the court found the letter of 25th July 2014, the verifying affidavit sworn by the Chief Finance Officer, and continued correspondence established a retainer, estopping the County from denying instructions. The appointment letter expressly permitted Kabaka's continued private practice, so no conflict of interest arose, and the Procurement Act, having come into force on 7th December 2016, did not apply retroactively. The court held the advocate entitled to his fees under the Advocates Act and Remuneration Order and dismissed the application with costs to the 2nd Respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether Philip Nzyuko Musya signed the impugned pleadings

Holding

The court found on comparison of signatures that Musya signed the Plaint; the forgery allegation was not proved

Reasoning

The court invoked Section 76(1) of the Evidence Act to compare Musya's undisputed signature on his Petition to the Chief Justice with the disputed signature on the Plaint and found them similar. Musya failed to call a handwriting expert as required to discharge the burden under Section 107 of the Evidence Act, had no letter of employment binding him exclusively to B. M. Mung'ata & Co. Advocates, and had admitted holding brief for Kabaka & Associates.

p. 5
02

Whether the Plaintiff instructed the 2nd Respondent to file the suit

Holding

Yes; the Plaintiff gave instructions by letter dated 25th July 2014 and is estopped from denying the retainer

Reasoning

PW2 gave written instructions on 25th July 2014, PW3 swore the verifying affidavit confirming the firm filed the suit, and PW4 continued corresponding with the firm during the suit's pendency, including a reference to maintaining the 'decorum of Client and Advocate relationship'. Estoppel bars the Plaintiff from denying the retainer.

p. 6
03

Whether there was a conflict of interest and breach of the Public Procurement and Assets Disposal Act, 2015 and the Leadership and Integrity Act

Holding

No conflict of interest arose and the procurement Act did not apply

Reasoning

The Act came into force on 7th December 2016, after the instructions of 25th July 2014 and the filing of the suit. The appointment letter expressly stated it was not a contract of employment and did not preclude the advocate's firm from undertaking its normal legal practice. The advocate did not instruct himself, and the Plaintiff's officers knowingly retained his firm.

p. 7
04

Whether the 2nd Respondent is entitled to his fees

Holding

Yes; the Advocate-Client Bill of Costs stands for taxation

Reasoning

Having found a valid retainer, no forgery, no conflict of interest and no applicable procurement breach attributable to the advocate, the court held the advocate entitled to fees under the Advocates Act and Advocates Remuneration Order. The Plaintiff remains free to withdraw the underlying suit but must still settle the fees.

Legal principles established

#
  • A party who alleges a signature on a pleading is a forgery bears the burden of proving it, ordinarily through a handwriting expert, the court's power of comparison under Section 76(1) of the Evidence Act notwithstanding
  • A client who swears a verifying affidavit in support of a plaint and whose officers gave instructions is estopped from denying that the suit was filed with its instructions
  • An advocate cannot be denied his fees merely because the client's officers breached procurement law in procuring his services

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Application dated 17th April 2018 is dismissed with costs to the 2nd Respondent

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence ActSection 76(1)
  • Evidence ActSection 107(1) and (2)
  • Evidence ActSection 122
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 4 Rule 1(2)
  • Public Procurement and Assets Disposal Act, 2015Not specified
  • Leadership and Integrity ActNot specified
  • Advocates ActNot specified
  • Advocates Remuneration OrderNot specified
  • Employment ActNot specified (referenced in appointment letter)

Cases cited (1)

  • Concepta Nyaboke vs. Peter Muasya Wangaika & Others
    Machakos ELC Case No. 32 of 2017
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction over taxation dispute under the Advocates Act and Advocates (Remuneration) Order; notice of motion in advocate-client bill of costs proceedings

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Machakos County Government v Kapiti Plains Estate Ltd & another [2019] KEELC 3869 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Machakos High Court, Notice of Motion dated 17th April 2018 (arising from Advocate-Client Bill of Costs dated 24th October 2017). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/3869/eng@2019-04-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.