Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (original plaint filed 21.11.2011, amended 18.10.2018)· [2019] KEELC 3619 (KLR)

David Kiruthi Kamoche v County Government of Kiambu,Chief Land Registrar,Attorney General & Sona Properties Limited (? 202 of 2017) [2019] KEELC 3619 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
2 May 2019
3,238 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court upheld a landowner's title, voided Kiambu County's demolition notice and awarded him Kshs.5.46 million for lost rental income.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued the County Government of Kiambu (substituted for the Municipal Council of Ruiru), the Chief Land Registrar, the Attorney General and Sona Properties Limited after receiving an enforcement notice dated 18 November 2011 requiring him to stop and demolish developments on land parcel Ruiru Town/496, which he had bought from Sona Properties for Kshs.2,000,000. He sought a declaration of ownership as a purchaser for value without notice, an injunction against interference, loss of rental income at Kshs.109,000 per month from the 1st defendant, and general damages for trespass against the 4th defendant. The 1st defendant contended the land was public land reserved for a septic tank and sewer and that the title was fraudulently procured, but adduced no evidence of fraud and had never sought cancellation of the title. The court applied Central Bank of Kenya v Trust Bank and Rosemary Wanjiku Murithi on the heavy burden of proving fraud, held the certificate of lease to be prima facie evidence of ownership, and found the plaintiff's case proved against the 1st defendant on a balance of probability. It rejected the jurisdictional objection based on section 38(4) of the Physical Planning Act and held the documentary discrepancies immaterial. The trespass claim against the 4th defendant failed for want of evidence. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff against the 1st defendant with declarations of ownership and nullity of the notice, an injunction, damages of Kshs.5,460,000 and costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the title holder's ownership was displaced by the 1st defendant's claim that the land was public land

Holding

The plaintiff, as holder of a leasehold interest derived from a 1996 Certificate of Lease, proved ownership; the 1st defendant failed to plead or prove fraud or to pursue cancellation of the title

Reasoning

The plaintiff purchased from Sona Properties and obtained all approvals from the 1st defendant and NEMA, which was inconsistent with the claim that the land was public. The fraud allegation was neither pleaded nor supported by evidence, and the 1st defendant never took steps to surrender or seek cancellation of the title. The title was prima facie evidence of ownership and the plaintiff was a purchaser for value.

p. 3
02

Whether the court lacked jurisdiction under section 38(4) of the Physical Planning Act

Holding

Section 38(4) did not apply because the plaintiff was not merely challenging the enforcement notice but also seeking a declaration of ownership and compensation, and the 1st defendant itself raised the ownership issue

Reasoning

The court held that the pleadings showed the parties wanted the court to determine ownership of the land, which went beyond an appeal against an enforcement notice. Since the suit involved declaration of ownership and compensation for loss of income, the statutory appeal route under the Physical Planning Act was inapplicable.

p. 3
03

Quantum of loss of income

Holding

The valuer's assessment of Kshs.109,000 per month was rejected as inflated; the court awarded Kshs.84,000 per month from January 2014, computed on 12 units rather than 16

Reasoning

The court found the valuer's figures implausible: the 0.0242-hectare plot could not realistically accommodate four one-bedroomed units per floor, and the loss was wrongly computed from 2012 when the valuer himself said computation should run from 2014. Allowing for uncertainties of tenancy, the court substituted three units per floor and awarded Kshs.5,460,000.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Fraud must be specifically pleaded and proved to a standard heavier than an ordinary civil case; vague allegations are insufficient
  • A certificate of lease is prima facie evidence that its holder is the absolute proprietor of the land
  • Merely raising fraud in a statement of defence is not proof of fraud

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the plaintiff is the legal owner of land parcel No. Ruiru Town/496
  2. 2.The 1st and 2nd defendants directed to facilitate registration of the suit land into the plaintiff's name forthwith
  3. 3.The notice issued by the 1st defendant on 18.11.2011 declared null and void
  4. 4.An order restraining the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th defendants, their agents, employees and/or servants from interfering with the plaintiff's occupation and developments on RUIRU TOWN/496
  5. 5.Damages for loss of income payable by the 1st defendant at Kshs.84,000 per month from January 2014 until the date of judgment, totalling Shs.5,460,000
  6. 6.Costs of the suit with interest at court's rates payable by the 1st defendant

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Registered Land Act CAP 300 (repealed)Section 27
  • Land Registration Act 2012 (No. 3 of 2012)Section 24(b)
  • Physical Planning Act CAP 286Sections 38(4) and 13

Cases cited (2)

  • Central Bank of Kenya Ltd v Trust Bank Ltd & 4 Others
    NAI Civil Appeal No. 215 of 1996 (UR)
  • Rosemary Wanjiku Murithi v George Maina Ndinwa
    NYR Civil Appeal No. 9 of 2014 [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit under the Environment and Land Court's jurisdiction over land disputes (Land and Environment Court Act); no specific constitutional provision invoked

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "David Kiruthi Kamoche v County Government of Kiambu,Chief Land Registrar,Attorney General & Sona Properties Limited (? 202 of 2017) [2019] KEELC 3619 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment (original plaint filed 21.11.2011, amended 18.10.2018). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/3619/eng@2019-05-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.