Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2019] KEELC 2869 (KLR)

Thuo Karanja v Jack Mburu Kagoh & others [2019] KEELC 2869 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 June 2019
934 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan land buyer lost his injunction because his sale agreement named a different property, while the registered owner was protected.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The court ruled on two cross-applications for interlocutory injunctions concerning LR. No. Dundori/Lanet Block 9/176. The plaintiff sought to restrain the 1st defendant from entering, dealing with or interfering with the property, claiming he had purchased it from Sammy Kimani Demwati (since deceased) on 3rd June 2010, though no transfer had been effected. The 1st defendant, in his defence, counterclaim and Notice of Motion dated 28th March 2017, sought an injunction against the plaintiff, asserting that he purchased the property from the deceased under a sale agreement dated 4th January 2013 and was registered as proprietor on 2nd April 2013. The 2nd defendant took no part. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown test as sequentially structured per Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen, the court found the plaintiff's exhibited sale agreement referred to a different parcel, Dundori/Lanet Block 9/181, with no evidence of a sale of the suit property to him, so he failed to establish a prima facie case. Conversely, the 1st defendant's agreement, transfer and title established a prima facie case; as registered proprietor he merited legal protection, and damages would not adequately compensate him. The court dismissed the plaintiff's application with costs to the 1st defendant and granted the 1st defendant an injunction restraining the plaintiff from selling, advertising, letting, charging, trespassing on or otherwise dealing with the suit property pending determination of the suit, with the plaintiff bearing the 1st defendant's costs. The ruling, delayed by the judge's medical leave, was delivered at Nakuru on 26th June 2019.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

He did not; his sale agreement referred to a different property, Dundori/Lanet Block 9/181, so no evidence of sale of the suit property to him

Reasoning

The plaintiff claimed he bought LR. Dundori/Lanet Block 9/176 from the deceased in 2010, but the exhibited sale agreement identified a totally different property. Without evidence of a sale of the suit property, he could not establish a prima facie case, and the application failed at the first Giella stage.

p. 2
02

Whether the 1st defendant established a prima facie case entitling him to an injunction

Holding

Yes; as registered proprietor since 2nd April 2013, with a valid sale agreement, he is entitled to statutory protection of registered title, and damages would be inadequate

Reasoning

The 1st defendant exhibited a sale agreement dated 4th January 2013 with the deceased and a title deed showing registration on 2nd April 2013. The court found he succeeded in establishing a prima facie case, that registered title attracts legal protection, and that damages could not adequately compensate him.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • The three Giella conditions are separate, distinct and logical hurdles to be surmounted sequentially; if no prima facie case is established, irreparable injury and balance of convenience need not be considered

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Notice of Motion dated 10th October 2015 is dismissed with costs to the 1st defendant
  2. 2.An injunction restraining the plaintiff, his agents, servants or anybody claiming under him from selling, advertising for sale, letting, charging, trespassing upon, entering, remaining on or dealing in whatsoever manner with the parcel of land known as LR. No. Dundori/Lanet Block 9/176 pending hearing and determination of this suit
  3. 3.The plaintiff shall bear costs of Notice of Motion dated 28th March 2017

Authorities

#

Cases cited (2)

  • Giella –vs- Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    [1973] E.A 358
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over land (Environment and Land Court) - not expressly stated in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Thuo Karanja v Jack Mburu Kagoh & others [2019] KEELC 2869 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/2869/eng@2019-06-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.