Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2019] KEELC 2684 (KLR)

Makatiat Limited v Liquidaton Agent Trade Bank Ltd (In Liquidation) & 2 others [2019] KEELC 2684 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
19 June 2019
11,051 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~44 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled a fraudulent land auction but ruled the bank could still sell the property properly once the actual debt is settled.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff company, through a plaint filed on 19 January 2016 and later amended, challenged the sale by public auction of land parcel Nakuru/Githiriga/124-Kuresoi conducted on 3 November 2017 by the chargee, Trade Bank Limited (in liquidation), through its auctioneer, to Jimpatsam Holdings Limited. The plaintiff sought a declaration that the interest rate applied was illegal, cancellation of the sale, and a permanent injunction. The chargee claimed the plaintiff owed Kshs. 418,666,702.20 after default on a negotiated settlement of Kshs. 34,288,087.50. The court framed three issues: the amount owing, whether the statutory power of sale had arisen, and whether the sale should be upheld. On the first, the court found the chargee had failed to produce statements of account to justify the Kshs. 418 million demand and declined to determine the amount, directing the parties to negotiate, arbitrate or file a suit. On the second, the court held that the statutory notice of 5 May 2000 under Section 74 of the Registered Land Act was validly issued and served, that no fresh notice under the Land Act 2012 was required, and that the power of sale had arisen. On the third, the court found the auction fatally flawed: the 3rd defendant was allowed to bid without meeting the advertised deposit conditions, the auctioneer topped up the 25% deposit from his own funds, and the auction was adjourned to an unannounced afternoon session. The sale was declared fraudulent and set aside, and the sale cancelled. A permanent injunction was refused since the debt remains; costs were awarded to the plaintiff against the 1st and 2nd defendants jointly and/or severally, with no orders against the 3rd defendant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the statutory power of sale had arisen

Holding

The statutory notice dated 5 May 2000 under Section 74 of the Registered Land Act was validly issued and served; no fresh notice under the Land Act 2012 was needed, and the 45-day notification of sale and advertisements complied with the Auctioneers' Rules, so the right of sale had arisen

Reasoning

The 5 May 2000 letter expressly purported to be a statutory notice under Section 74 of the Registered Land Act and gave three months' notice. Mr Kiplagat acknowledged receipt in cross-examination, which settled the question of issuance and service. The court held a statutory notice is issued only once, relying on the Executive Curtains decision, and found the 45-day redemption notice and the two newspaper advertisements of 17 and 31 October 2017 satisfied the rules. The claim of a 3-day notice failed because there were two advertisements.

p. 7
02

Whether the amount claimed by the chargee (Kshs. 418,666,702.20) is justified

Holding

The court was unable to determine with finality what the plaintiff owes because the 1st defendant did not produce statements of accounts; the parties were directed to negotiate, arbitrate, or file a suit to settle the amount

Reasoning

The correspondence showed a history of contested figures: the plaintiff offered Kshs. 20 million, the chargee countered with Kshs. 34,288,087.50 subject to conditions, and later threatened to rescind and claim Kshs. 418 million. DW-1 conceded bank statements were not available. Without statements of account the court could not affirm the demand. The claim that the negotiated figure excluded interest from 2005 remained unsubstantiated.

p. 7
03

Whether the auction of 3 November 2017 was properly conducted

Holding

The sale was fraudulent and set aside: the 3rd defendant did not meet the conditions of sale (deposit of Kshs. 2 million by cash or banker's cheque), the auctioneer topped up the 25% deposit from his own funds, and the auction was adjourned to an afternoon session not notified to the public

Reasoning

The auctioneer conceded the 3rd defendant deposited neither cash nor a banker's cheque but instead advocate's personal cheques, an exception never advertised, so the 3rd defendant did not qualify to bid. Accepting Mr Muyundo's personal cheques while PW-1 was denied bidding showed unequal treatment suggesting collusion. The auctioneer drew his own cheques for Kshs. 1,725,000 to make up the 25% deposit, which the court found irregular and indicative of collusion. The adjournment to a publicised-afternoon session violated the integrity of the auction as condemned in Maina Wanjigi.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • A statutory notice under the repealed Registered Land Act does not require reissuance under the Land Act 2012 after repeal; a statutory notice is issued only once
  • There is no legal requirement that a public auction be held where the property is located or that it cannot be held in an office, so long as the public is invited and allowed access
  • Conditions of sale at a public auction must apply equally to all bidders; preferential treatment of a bidder may found a presumption of collusion between the auctioneer and the bidder and vitiates the sale
  • Once an auction has commenced it must continue without interruption until finalised, or abort; it cannot be adjourned to an unannounced afternoon session to await higher bids
  • A condition in auction advertisements reserving to the auctioneer the right to refuse the highest bid without reason is inconsistent with Rule 17(4) of the Auctioneers' Rules and is illegal
  • A chargee claiming a specific amount owed must provide statements of account to justify the claim; absent accounts the court cannot affirm the sum claimed

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The sale of the suit land conducted on 3 November 2017 is set aside
  2. 2.Cancellation of the sale of all that parcel of land known as Nakuru/Githiriga/124-Kuresoi conducted on 3/11/2017
  3. 3.The parties to revert to the position they were in before the auction sale
  4. 4.The plaintiff and 1st defendant directed to negotiate on the amount owing, and failing agreement, to appoint an arbitrator or file a suit so that what is owed may be resolved
  5. 5.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff jointly and/or severally against the 1st and 2nd defendants; no orders for or against the 3rd defendant on costs
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit before the Environment and Land Court; no specific constitutional provision invoked in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Makatiat Limited v Liquidaton Agent Trade Bank Ltd (In Liquidation) & 2 others [2019] KEELC 2684 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/2684/eng@2019-06-19

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.