Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text (originated by amended plaint dated 23rd January 2001; earlier related suit Kikuyu RMCC No. 12 of 1998)· [2019] KEELC 2603 (KLR)

Mary Wanjiru Njenga v Waweru Koimburi & 4 others [2019] KEELC 2603 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court (first-instance land suit; signature block shows delivery at Thika)
14 June 2019
1,965 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed a registered landowner's title, dismissed fraud and adverse possession claims, and ordered the occupants evicted.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This first-instance land suit concerned title number Muguga/Muguga/T421 in Kikuyu, Kiambu County. The plaintiff, Mary Wanjiru Njenga, sued for eviction of the defendants and mesne profits, asserting that she purchased the property from Jackson Mburu Gitu and was registered as proprietor on 2nd September 1996. The 1st and 2nd defendants, through a re-amended defence and counterclaim, asserted that their father acquired the land from the then Kikuyu Area Council in 1965 as compensation for surrendered road land, and counterclaimed for cancellation of the plaintiff's title and rectification of the register on grounds of fraud, alternatively adverse possession. An earlier suit, Kikuyu RMCC No. 12 of 1998, had been dismissed for want of jurisdiction under the Land Disputes Tribunals Act. The plaintiff testified and closed her case; DW1, the defendants' administrator, testified for the defence; the plaintiff filed no submissions. The court embraced the agreed issues and held that the plaintiff was the absolute and indefeasible registered proprietor; the defendants failed to prove fraud, which required proof on a standard higher than a balance of probabilities, and failed to show lawful allocation to their father. The adverse possession claim failed because the plaintiff's 1998 recovery suit stopped time running under section 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act. The mesne profits claim failed for want of specific pleading and proof, being special damages. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff in terms of prayers (a) to (c) of the amended plaint, jointly and severally against the defendants, and the counterclaim was dismissed with costs to the plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff's title was fraudulently acquired

Holding

No; the plaintiff lawfully obtained title without encumbrances and the allegations of fraud were not proved to the required standard

Reasoning

The court considered the particulars of fraud pleaded in the re-amended defence and counterclaim, which PW1 denied. Relying on Koinange v Koinange and Raila Odinga v IEBC, it held that fraud must be proved on a standard higher than a balance of probabilities. DW1's own evidence did not establish lawful allocation of the property to his late father, and the exhibits confirmed PW1's registration after purchase from Jackson Mburu Gitu.

p. 3
02

Whether the defendants/counterclaimants had acquired the property by adverse possession

Holding

No; the plaintiff's earlier suit for recovery of the property stopped time from running under section 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act, defeating the adverse possession claim

Reasoning

The court applied Ndatho v Itumo, holding that the filing of Kikuyu RMCC No. 12 of 1998 for recovery of the suit property interrupted the running of limitation time. The counterclaim, founded on alleged quiet and uninterrupted possession of more than twenty years, was therefore bound to fail.

p. 3
03

Whether the plaintiff is the rightful proprietor entitled to eviction of the defendants

Holding

Yes; PW1 is the absolute and indefeasible proprietor and the defendants are in unlawful occupation, hence trespassers

Reasoning

P Exhibits showed the property was allocated to Jackson Mburu Gitu, who sold it to PW1, who was registered on 2nd September 1996. Under sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act her interest was protected, subject to overriding interests under the repealed Registered Land Act. DW1 failed to prove that the property belonged to his late father, so the defendants' occupation was unlawful under section 152A of the Land Act.

p. 3
04

Whether the plaintiff was entitled to mesne profits

Holding

No; the specific mesne profits claim failed for want of specific pleading and proof

Reasoning

Relying on the definition in section 2 of the Civil Procedure Act and the Rioki Estate decision, the court held mesne profits are special damages which must be specifically pleaded and proved. PW1 did not plead or prove a specific sum, so no mesne profits were payable on that head.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Fraud must be proved to a standard higher than a balance of probabilities but not beyond reasonable doubt
  • Mesne profits are special damages that must be specifically pleaded and proved
  • Filing suit for recovery of the property interrupts the running of time for adverse possession purposes under section 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act
  • A registered proprietor's title is indefeasible subject to overriding interests and grounds of fraud, misrepresentation or adverse possession

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered for the plaintiff against the defendants jointly and severally in terms of orders (a) to (c) sought in her amended plaint dated 23rd January 2001 (eviction from Muguga/Muguga/T421, mesne profits of Kshs 24,000 from 1996 to 2000 and thereafter Kshs 6,000 per year until they vacate, and costs)
  2. 2.The 1st and 2nd defendants' counterclaim re-amended and dated 24th July 2005 dismissed with costs to the plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 50(1)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 23(c)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 64(1)
  • Land Registration Actsections 2, 24, 25, 26 (cited as 2016 (2012))
  • Land Actsection 152A (cited as 2016 (2012))
  • Civil Procedure Act (Cap 21)section 2 (definition of mesne profits)
  • Evidence Act (Cap 80)section 107
  • Limitation of Actions Act (Cap 22)section 38
  • Registered Land Act (Cap 300) (repealed)sections 27, 28, 30
  • Land Disputes Tribunals Act, 1990 (repealed)section 3(1)

Cases cited (11)

  • Jonathan Namulala Nyongesa v Multibusiness Shooters Investors Ltd and 3 others
    (2017) eKLR
  • Vincent Koskei v Benard Koskei
    (2018) eKLR
  • Great Lakes Company (U) Limited v Kenya Revenue Authority
    (2009) KLR 720
  • Mwangi and another v Mwangi
    (1986) KLR 328
  • Rioki Estate Company (1970) Limited v Kinuthia Njoroge
    (1977) KLR 146
  • Nakuru Industries Limited v S.S Mehta and Sons
    (2016) eKLR
  • Koinange and 3 others v Koinange
    (1986) KLR 23
  • Raila Odinga and 2 others v Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission
    (2011) eKLR
  • Taybali Adamji Alibhai v Abdulhussein Adanji Alibhai
    (1938) 5 EACA
  • Kimani Ruchine and another v Swift Rutherford Company Limited
    (1976-80) 1 KLR 1500
  • Ndatho v Itumo and 2 others
    (2002) 2 KLR 637
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over land title Muguga/Muguga/T421; the earlier Kikuyu RMCC No. 12 of 1998 was dismissed for want of jurisdiction under section 3(1) of the Land Disputes Tribunals Act, 1990 (repealed), provoking this suit

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mary Wanjiru Njenga v Waweru Koimburi & 4 others [2019] KEELC 2603 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment text (originated by amended plaint dated 23rd January 2001; earlier related suit Kikuyu RMCC No. 12 of 1998). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/2603/eng@2019-06-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.