Maurice Nabwera Matanda & another v Julius Migot Otieno [2019] KEELC 2514 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Malindi court refused to stop a land dispute because the buyers couldn't prove exactly what land they owned, since it was unsurveyed and unregistered.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the Applicants established a prima facie case with a probability of success
No - the land is unsurveyed/unregistered, the sellers' rights of ownership were unproved, and the size of the parcel and extent of encroachment could not be determined
Both parties produced sale agreements but nothing showed what rights the sellers had over the unsurveyed, unregistered land. The Applicants' own description made it impossible to determine the size of the parcel they claim or the extent of the alleged encroachment. Granting the injunction would pre-empt the Respondent's evidence on how he acquired his land.
On whom the onus lies to demonstrate encroachment/trespass
The onus lies on the Applicants to demonstrate the alleged extent of encroachment and/or trespass
The court reasoned that allowing the prayers would deny the Respondent the opportunity to tender evidence on how he acquired his portion and its extent. Since the Applicants assert ownership and encroachment, the evidential burden rests on them to demonstrate the encroachment before injunctive relief can issue.
Legal principles established
#- A party seeking an injunction must satisfy the Giella v Cassman Brown principles: prima facie case with probability of success, irreparable damage not compensable in damages, and if in doubt, balance of convenience
- The burden of proving a prima facie case lies on the applicant, who must show a clear and unmistakable right directly threatened by the act sought to be restrained
Court orders
#- 1.The Notice of Motion dated 29th March 2018 is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the application to the Respondent
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated in judgment
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Maurice Nabwera Matanda & another v Julius Migot Otieno [2019] KEELC 2514 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 29th March 2018). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/2514/eng@2019-07-11
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.