Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in judgment (Fast Track plaint dated 26th April 2016)· [2019] KEELC 2239 (KLR)

Andrew Nyado Othina v Edward Ouma Othina [2019] KEELC 2239 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 June 2019
1,532 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that a registered landowner's title wins over informal family trust claims unless strong evidence proves the trust.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a fast-track plaint dated 26th April 2016, the plaintiff, registered proprietor of LR KAWERE/KONYANGO/KARANDING/1429 measuring 0.7 hectares, sued for a permanent injunction restraining the defendant from entering, cultivating or interfering with his quiet occupation and possession of the land, plus costs. He alleged that on 15th March 2016 the defendant wrongfully, unlawfully, forcefully and illegally entered the land and claimed ownership. The defendant, appearing in person, admitted the plaintiff's registration but contended the land's original owner, Pesila (Pricillah) Atieno Ogweno (deceased 1), entrusted it to his care for her co-wife Agnes Obonyo Ogweno and her children, and that he had cultivated it since 1995 with deceased 1's knowledge and consent until her death in 2013, raising trust and gift issues. The plaintiff relied on his title, official search and Chief's proceedings; the defendant and his step-sister testified but the defendant admitted on cross-examination he had no title deed and no written permission. Framing four issues guided by Galaxy Paints v Falcon Grounds, the court held the plaintiff was the registered proprietor, that no trust (customary or otherwise) was established on the evidence, distinguishing Mbothu v Waitimu and applying the Supreme Court's elements in Isack M'inanga Kiebia, and that the defendant's entry was unjustifiable trespass. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff for a permanent injunction and costs in terms of orders (a) and (b) of the plaint, the claim being proved on a balance of probabilities.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff is the proprietor of the suit land

Holding

Yes - both the plaintiff's title deed and the defendant's own pleadings and evidence confirmed the plaintiff as registered proprietor.

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced a copy of title issued 15th April 2015 and a certificate of official search (PExhibits 1 and 2). The defendant's statement of defence at paragraph 3 and his testimony admitted registration in the plaintiff's name. The court applied the concept of Certificate of Title and Proprietor under the Land Registration Act and Wainaina v Murai, holding it common ground that the land was registered in the plaintiff's name.

p. 2
02

Whether the plaintiff holds the suit land in trust for the estate of Pricilla Atieno Ogweno (deceased 1)

Holding

No - the exhibits did not disclose any trust, including customary trust, and the defendant failed to bring the proprietorship within the statutory exceptions.

Reasoning

The court distinguished Mbothu v Waitimu and Rose Naswa Masinde, finding Dexhibits 1 to 4 pointed to no trust under sections 25 and 28 of the Land Registration Act. Applying the Supreme Court's elements in Isack M'inanga Kiebia v Isaaya Theuri M'Linturi on qualifying a claimant as trustee, the evidence of DW1 and DW2 did not establish that the plaintiff was a trustee.

p. 2
03

Whether the defendant is a trespasser on the suit land

Holding

Yes - the defendant's entry and cultivation of the land without title or written permission was wrongful and unjustifiable.

Reasoning

The defendant admitted having no title deed and no written permission to use the land, entering on 15th March 2016. Relying on Clerk and Lindsell on Torts on trespass, the court held that the registered proprietor's rights were infringed and the defendant's purported entry was unjustifiable, entitling the plaintiff to the injunction sought under section 13(7)(a) of the Environment and Land Court Act.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor's title can only be challenged under the statutory exceptions to indefeasibility, and the burden lies on the party alleging a trust to adduce sufficient evidence.
  • A claimant asserting customary trust must establish the elements recognised by the Supreme Court for qualifying a person as trustee.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered for the plaintiff against the defendant for a permanent injunction restraining the defendant from entering, cultivating or interfering with the quiet occupation and possession of land title number KAWERE/KONYANGO/KARANDING/1429
  2. 2.Costs of the suit to be borne by the defendant in terms of order (b) sought in the plaint

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration Actsections 24(a), 25, 26, 26(1), 27(1), 28 and Section 2
  • Registered Land Act (repealed)sections 85(2) and 108(1); (Cap 300)
  • Law of Succession Act (Cap 160)section 45
  • Environment and Land Court Actsection 13(7)(a); (2015)

Cases cited (8)

  • Machareus Obaga Anunda –v- KPLC Ltd
    (2015) eKLR
  • Rose Naswa Masinde –v- Lilian Nekesa Simuyu Mukupi
    (2014) eKLR
  • Registered Trustees Anglican Church of Kenya, Mbeere Dioceses v- David Waweru Njoroge
    (2007) eKLR
  • Galaxy Paints Company Ltd –v- Falcon Grounds Ltd
    (2000) 2EA 385
  • Wainaina –v- Murai and others
    (1976-80) 1KLR 283 at 289 and 290
  • Mbothu and 8 others –v- Waitimu and 11 others
    (1986) KLR 17
  • Mwangi and Another –v- Mwangi
    (1986) KLR 328
  • Isack M'inanga Kiebia –v- Isaaya Theuri M'Linturi and another
    (2018) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court Act, 2015 (Section 13(7)(a) invoked in granting relief)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Andrew Nyado Othina v Edward Ouma Othina [2019] KEELC 2239 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in judgment (Fast Track plaint dated 26th April 2016). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/2239/eng@2019-06-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.