Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedELC Suit (Murang'a), plaint dated 11/10/2016· [2019] KEELC 1936 (KLR)

Samuel Kamau Kairu & another v National Bank of Kenya Limited [2019] KEELC 1936 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
25 July 2019
4,110 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A landowner tried to stop the bank auctioning his farm but couldn't prove he had fully repaid the loan, so the court dismissed his case.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The 1st Plaintiff, registered proprietor of LOC9/KANYENYAINI/1417, and the 2nd Plaintiff, his business trading as Sakama Enterprises, sued to restrain the 1st Defendant bank and the 2nd Defendant auctioneers from realizing the charged land. They sought declarations that foreclosure would occasion irreparable loss, that the bank's right of realization had not accrued, that their right of redemption had accrued upon full repayment, a permanent injunction, damages for breach of statute and the loan agreement, and costs. The Plaintiffs claimed to have paid a cumulative Kshs 702,020 against a 1997 facility of Kshs 250,000, invoking section 44A of the Banking Act (the in duplum rule) and alleging the bank kept no proper accounts, having admitted losing pre-2002 records. The bank asserted a restructured facility of Kshs 355,026.95 evidenced by a letter of offer of 2002, an outstanding balance of Kshs 340,035.55, and due issuance of statutory notices. The court found the Plaintiffs had not proved full repayment: no receipts supported the Kshs 702,020 claim, the 30/08/2012 letter did not state the loan was cleared, and correspondence acknowledged indebtedness. The bank's post-restructure statement of account sufficed despite clerical errors, and the charge's existence was admitted and confirmed by official search, anchoring the statutory power of sale. No breach of section 44A was shown on the face of the statement, though the bank was to adjust the sum if computation showed excess. The suit was dismissed with no orders as to costs, delivered at Murang'a on 25 July 2019.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiffs fully repaid the loan

Holding

They did not. The claimed aggregate of Kshs 702,020 was unsupported by receipts, and the Plaintiffs repeatedly acknowledged indebtedness in correspondence, including continued payments up to 2014

Reasoning

The court found the documented loan to be the 2002 restructured facility of Kshs 355,026.95. Credits of about Kshs 315,730 were reflected on the statement from May 2002 to October 2014, leaving a balance of Kshs 340,035.55 which the Plaintiffs never challenged with evidence of payment. The 30/08/2012 letter asking the borrower to collect the title did not state the loan was cleared, and payments continued thereafter, evidencing acknowledgment of an outstanding loan.

p. 4
02

Whether poor record-keeping by the bank defeats its statutory power of sale

Holding

It does not. The bank produced the executed letter of offer and a statement of account from the 2002 restructure onwards; clerical errors in the 30/08/2012 letter and the notification of sale were excusable

Reasoning

Although the bank's counsel admitted records before 2002 could not be traced, the outstanding loan by 2002 was an overdraft restructured into a normal loan, and the offer letter and post-restructure statement were produced. The charge's existence was admitted in pleadings and oral testimony and confirmed by official search, establishing the bank's right to exercise its statutory power of sale despite non-production of the charge document.

p. 4
03

Whether the 1st Defendant breached section 44A of the Banking Act

Holding

No breach established on the face of the statement; the claimed balance does not exceed the statutory cap, and the bank must adjust the sum if computation shows excess

Reasoning

Section 44A imports the in duplum rule and applies retrospectively. On the statement, the amount due does not appear to exceed double the outstanding amount at default, and interest appears to have stopped for several years. The court directed that should the computation show the amount payable to be in excess, the bank must adjust the sum accordingly.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A bank which fails to keep proper records of account cannot make a calculable claim against a customer; accounts cannot be determined on guesswork
  • A fact neither proved nor disproved is not proved - the burden of proving full repayment lies on the borrower
  • Section 44A of the Banking Act (in duplum rule) applies retrospectively to loans made before its commencement, capping recoverable interest at the principal owing when the loan becomes non-performing

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiffs' claim is disallowed/dismissed
  2. 2.No orders as to costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Banking Act (Cap 488)Section 44A(1),(2),(6)
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80 Laws of KenyaSection 3(4)
  • Registered Land ActSection 74
  • Registered Land ActSection 65(2)

Cases cited (1)

  • Scholastica Nyaguthi Mututri vs. Housing Finance Co. of Kenya Ltd & another
    [2017] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit on land charged to a bank (Environment and Land Court jurisdiction); no specific constitutional/statutory jurisdictional provision stated in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Samuel Kamau Kairu & another v National Bank of Kenya Limited [2019] KEELC 1936 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). ELC Suit (Murang'a), plaint dated 11/10/2016. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/1936/eng@2019-07-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.