Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment text provided· [2019] KEELC 1536 (KLR)

Shayona Timber Limited v Kenya National Highway Authority [2019] KEELC 1536 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
1 October 2019
2,611 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, a limited liability company, sued the defendant, a State Corporation under the Kenya Roads Authority Act, 2007, claiming a declaration of ownership of LR No.9950/8 and a permanent injunction, alleging that the defendant invaded the suit property on 28 March 2012 claiming it had been compulsorily acquired. The plaintiff had purchased the land from Richard Ingram Crawford under agreements of 18 December 2008 and 25 September 2009. When the Government gazetted the land for compulsory acquisition on 13 March 2009, the plaintiff filed judicial review proceedings; Koome J granted leave and a stay on 30 April 2009, and Ouko J issued orders of prohibition on 24 September 2010 halting the acquisition. The specific performance suit against Crawford (Nakuru HCCC No.110 of 2009) was compromised by consent declaring the plaintiff owner of the land. The defendant contended the acquisition was complete and compensation of Kshs.7,797,690/= paid, evidenced by a cheque dated 30 June 2009. The court found the acquisition had been stopped by court orders, that the defendant's own witness had no evidence the cheque was ever delivered or cashed, and that no compensation was ever paid to Crawford or the plaintiff. The consent vested Crawford's interest in the plaintiff. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff: a declaration of ownership, a permanent injunction restraining the defendant from the suit land, with costs to the plaintiff, and a direction that any future acquisition must follow due process with compensation.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the compulsory acquisition of the suit land was complete

Holding

No. The process was stopped by the stay order of Koome J on 30 April 2009 and the prohibition orders of Ouko J on 24 September 2010, and no compensation was ever paid to Mr. Crawford or the plaintiff.

Reasoning

The court traced the chronology: the sale agreement of 18 December 2008 preceded gazettement; judicial review proceedings halted the acquisition; the consent in HCCC 110 of 2009 vested Mr. Crawford's interest in the plaintiff; and the defendant's own witness conceded there was no evidence the cheque was ever delivered or cashed. Without payment of the compensation, the acquisition cannot be said to have been completed, and the defendant could not claim the land.

p. 2
02

Whether the plaintiff's title to the suit land is valid

Holding

Yes. The plaintiff purchased the land, sued for specific performance, and obtained a consent declaring her owner, after which the land was transferred to her by Mr. Crawford's estate.

Reasoning

The vendor's interest was ceded to the plaintiff through the consent of 25 September 2009 in Nakuru HCCC 110 of 2009, subject only to payment of the balance, which the plaintiff paid. Crawford's advocates wrote to the Commissioner of Lands to deal with the plaintiff. There was no evidence impeaching the consent or the title, so the plaintiff was declared the rightful and legal owner.

p. 3
03

Whether the defendant is entitled to permanent injunction restraining interference

Holding

Yes. The defendant must respect the plaintiff's proprietary rights and, if it needs the land, must commence a fresh compulsory acquisition process and pay appropriate compensation.

Reasoning

Having found no valid acquisition and valid title in the plaintiff, the court issued a permanent injunction. The defendant's invasion of the land on 28 March 2012 through its agents was unlawful. Any future acquisition must follow the laid-down procedures with compensation.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Compulsory acquisition of land is incomplete without payment of compensation; where no compensation has been paid, the acquiring authority cannot claim the land
  • A party alleging payment of compensation bears the burden of proving it; failure to respond to a Notice to Produce is adverse to that party
  • Where acquisition proceedings are halted by court order, steps taken thereafter (such as drawing a compensation cheque) are improper

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Declaration that the plaintiff is the rightful and legal owner of the suit land
  2. 2.Permanent injunction restraining the defendant from interfering in any way with the plaintiff's quiet possession and use of the suit land
  3. 3.Defendant to pay the costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Kenya Roads Authority Actnot specified
  • Civil Procedure Rules (Order 16 Rule 7 - Notice to Produce)Order 16 Rule 7
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over a dispute concerning ownership of land (plaint filed 26 April 2012)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Shayona Timber Limited v Kenya National Highway Authority [2019] KEELC 1536 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment text provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/1536/eng@2019-10-01

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.