Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the extract (Plaint dated 6th December 2010)· [2019] KEELC 721 (KLR)

Stephen Mwangi Kimani v Hannah Wambui Njihia & another [2019] KEELC 721 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
20 November 2019
5,282 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~21 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landowner lost a claim to cancel his wife's title because he couldn't strictly prove fraud—registered titles are protected unless fraud is clearly proven.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued the 1st Defendant (his wife) and the 2nd Defendant (the vendor), seeking special damages of Kshs. 6,510,000, general damages, declarations cancelling the title to Ngong/Ngong/24712 issued to the 1st Defendant, an order that she redeem the charge to Equity Bank Ltd, a permanent injunction, interest and costs. The Plaintiff claimed that after he paid the full purchase price of Kshs. 670,000 under a Sale Agreement dated 19th July 2000, the 1st Defendant colluded with the 2nd Defendant to have the land registered solely in her name. The 1st Defendant asserted the Plaintiff willingly directed the Registrar to register the land in her sole name and that she solely built the storeyed building on it; the 2nd Defendant denied any fraud and sought exoneration. The court framed six issues and held that the Plaintiff, who alleged fraud, bore the burden under section 109 of the Evidence Act to prove it strictly, per Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau and Davy v Garrette. The Plaintiff contradicted his witness statement, failed to summon the attesting advocate or enjoin the Land Registrar, and evidence indicated he directed the transfer to his wife during happier years of the marriage, complaining only after separation in 2008. Fraud having failed, sections 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act protected the 1st Defendant's title, which was upheld. The damages claims failed for lack of strict proof, the injunction was declined, and the injunction of 22nd November 2012 was vacated. The suit was dismissed with each party bearing their own costs. Judgment was delivered at Kajiado on 20th November 2019 by Christine Ochieng, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit land was fraudulently registered in the 1st Defendant's name

Holding

No; the Plaintiff failed to discharge the burden of proving fraud to the required standard

Reasoning

The Plaintiff, who alleged fraud, bore the burden under section 109 of the Evidence Act and the higher standard set in Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau. He contradicted his witness statement with oral testimony, failed to summon the advocate who attested the transfer or enjoin the Land Registrar, and evidence showed he wrote a letter directing the Registrar to transfer the land to his wife. Fraud could not be inferred merely from missing registry records.

p. 4
02

Whether the 1st Defendant's title should be cancelled

Holding

No; the Certificate of Title was upheld as the 1st Defendant's indefeasible title

Reasoning

Sections 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act protect the registered proprietor's title, subject only to challenge on grounds of fraud to which the proprietor is a party or illegal or corrupt acquisition. Having found no proof of fraud, and noting the Plaintiff complained only after some eight years of registration, the court saw no basis for cancelling the title.

p. 4
03

Whether the Plaintiff was entitled to general and special damages

Holding

No; the damages were neither strictly proved nor was any wrong established

Reasoning

The Plaintiff failed to prove that his SACCO loans were for construction; receipts were addressed to the 1st Defendant's business name HAWAM; he produced no building plans or evidence of rent or total expenditure, and contradicted his own statement on the construction period. Following Kenya Tourist Development Corporation v Sundowner Lodge, special damages require specific pleading and strict proof. Since the Plaintiff consented to the registration and no wrong was committed, damages were refused.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Allegations of fraud must be pleaded and strictly proved to a standard higher than the balance of probabilities
  • A registered proprietor's title is indefeasible and may be challenged only on grounds of fraud or misrepresentation to which the person is proved to be a party, or where the title was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • Special damages must be both specifically pleaded and strictly proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The suit is dismissed for failure by the Plaintiff to prove his case on a balance of probability
  2. 2.The Certificate of Title held by the 1st Defendant in respect of land parcel number Ngong/Ngong/24712 is upheld
  3. 3.The 1st Defendant is exonerated together with the 2nd Defendant from the allegations of fraud
  4. 4.The claim for general and special damages is declined
  5. 5.The prayer for permanent injunction against the 1st Defendant is declined
  6. 6.The orders of injunction granted on 22nd November, 2012 are vacated
  7. 7.Each party to bear their own costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence ActSection 109
  • Land Registration ActSections 25(1) and 26(1)
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27
  • Marriage ActNot specified

Cases cited (9)

  • Kinyanjui Kamau vs George Kamau
    [2015] eKLR
  • Ndolo vs Ndolo
    (2008) 1 KLR (G & F) 742
  • Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau Njoroge
    [2015] eKLR
  • Davy Vs Garrette
    (1878) 7 ch.473
  • WILLY KIPSONGOK MOROGO v ALBERT K. MOROGO
    (2017) eKLR
  • Kenya Tourist Development Corporation v Sundowner Lodge Limited
    [2018] eKLR
  • BANQUE INDOSUEZ vs. DJ LOWE & CO. LTD
    [2006] 2KLR 208
  • HAHN vs. SINGH
    [1985] KLR 716
  • Livingstone Vs Rawyards Coal Co.
    (1880) 5 App Cases 25
Jurisdiction invoked
First-instance civil suit (land dispute) before the Environment and Land Court; jurisdiction provision not expressly stated

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Stephen Mwangi Kimani v Hannah Wambui Njihia & another [2019] KEELC 721 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the extract (Plaint dated 6th December 2010). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/721/eng@2019-11-20

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.