Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in judgment (Malindi ELC Notice of Motion dated 7th February 2017)· [2018] KEELC 4006 (KLR)

Katana Mdzomba Kabani (Suing as the administrator of the Estate of the late Tuva Mdzomba Kabani, the deceased) v Grace Kabibi Keah (Sued as the administrator of the Estate of the late Mathias Benedict Keah, the deceased) & 2 others [2018] KEELC 4006 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
15 March 2018
3,731 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kilifi land dispute over Kilifi/Vipingo/151 went both ways: the estate's suit wasn't time-barred, but no injunction was granted because a registered title stands until trial.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, administrator of the estate of the late Tuva Mdzomba Kabani, sought an interlocutory injunction restraining the Defendants from dealing with Title No. Kilifi/Vipingo/151, contending the estate was allotted the land by the Settlement Fund Trustees in 1978 and received a Discharge of Charge and Transfer in 2013, and alleging the late Mathias Benedict Keah, a former Cabinet Minister, fraudulently obtained a title. The 1st Defendant, administrator of Keah's estate, responded that her husband took over the allottee's rights in 1991 by written agreement, was allotted the land by the SFT, took possession in 1992, purchased the brothers' claims to trees and developments before a Council of Elders in 1993, and obtained a title deed on 29th August 2006; she raised a Preliminary Objection that the suit was barred by Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act. The 2nd and 3rd Defendants opposed on grounds including Section 16 of the Government Proceedings Act. The court dismissed the Preliminary Objection, holding that land held by the Settlement Fund Trustees remained public land protected by Section 41 of the Limitation of Actions Act until discharge, and that 12 years had not lapsed whether time ran from 2006 (title) or 2013 (discharge). Turning to the motion, the court applied the Giella principles, found the Plaintiff had not established a prima facie case, and held that under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act the registered title must be recognized as prima facie evidence of proprietorship pending trial. Both the application and the Preliminary Objection were dismissed with each party bearing their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit is time-barred under Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act

Holding

The Preliminary Objection fails because the 12-year limitation period had not lapsed; time could not run against land held by the Settlement Fund Trustees, which only ceased when title issued in 2006 at the earliest or when discharged to the Plaintiff in 2013

Reasoning

Section 41 of the Limitation of Actions Act excludes public land from adverse possession claims. Land allotted by the Settlement Fund Trustees remains public land until the purchase price is paid and the land discharged. The 1st Defendant did not show when the loan was paid; the title issued on 29th August 2006 and the discharge to the Plaintiff was on 11th April 2013. The suit, filed 7th February 2017, was therefore within 12 years of the earliest possible accrual date. The Preliminary Objection was dismissed.

p. 4
02

Whether an interlocutory injunction should issue

Holding

Dismissed. The court was bound by Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act to recognize the title issued to the 1st Defendant's husband as prima facie evidence of proprietorship, and questions of fraud can only be determined at the trial

Reasoning

Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown principles, the court found the Plaintiff had not clearly demonstrated occupation or an unmistakable right. The title deed issued to Mathias Benedict Keah on 29th August 2006 is prima facie evidence of proprietorship under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act. The court noted troubling circumstances around the issuance of title (Keah was an Assistant Minister when the land was 'documented' to him), but the validity of the title is a matter for trial, not an interlocutory application.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Land held or allotted by the Settlement Fund Trustees remains public land until the allotment process is completed and the purchase price paid, and is excluded from adverse possession claims under Section 41 of the Limitation of Actions Act
  • A court's jurisdiction flows from the Constitution or legislation and cannot be expanded by judicial craft or innovation
  • Where a certificate of title is alleged to have been improperly acquired, the holder must demonstrate through evidence that it was properly acquired; the process of acquisition is material

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Preliminary Objection dated 21st April 2017 is dismissed as devoid of merit
  2. 2.The Notice of Motion application dated 7th February 2017 is dismissed
  3. 3.Each party shall bear their own costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Law of Succession ActSections 35 and 45
  • Limitation of Actions Act (Cap 22)Sections 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 41
  • Government Proceedings ActSection 16
  • Agriculture Act, Cap 318Section 167
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)

Cases cited (6)

  • Samuel Kamau Macharia & Another -vs- Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd & 2 Others
    (2012) eKLR
  • Boniface Oredo -vs- Wabumba Mukile
    Civil Appeal No. 170 of 1989
  • Jaber Mohsen Ali & Another -vs- Priscillah Boit & Another
    (2014) eKLR
  • Giella -vs- Cassman Brown Company Ltd
    (1973) EA
  • Nguruman Limited -vs- John Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    (2014) eKLR
  • Danchi Kiptugen -vs- Commissioner of Lands & 4 Others
    (2015) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution (implied); no express provision cited

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Katana Mdzomba Kabani (Suing as the administrator of the Estate of the late Tuva Mdzomba Kabani, the deceased) v Grace Kabibi Keah (Sued as the administrator of the Estate of the late Mathias Benedict Keah, the deceased) & 2 others [2018] KEELC 4006 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in judgment (Malindi ELC Notice of Motion dated 7th February 2017). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/4006/eng@2018-03-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.