Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated (Notice of Motion dated 9th November 2011 in a suit determined on 12th November 2002)· [2018] KEELC 3342 (KLR)

Bahati Temo & 6 others v Swafiya Abdalla & another [2018] KEELC 3342 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya
11 April 2018
1,146 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's High Court confirmed judgment creditors can execute within twelve years of judgment, and adopted a government valuer's figures where the other side filed no competing valuation.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a Notice of Motion dated 9th November 2011 brought under Sections 34, 51 and 94 of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 51 of the Civil Procedure Rules, the defendants sought orders for valuation of the plaintiffs' structures and cash crops on the suit property, setting of compensation and mode of payment, exclusion of post-suit structures, police protection during execution, and arrest of resisting plaintiffs. Mukunya J had on 27th November 2013 granted prayers (1), (3) and (4), and a valuation report by the District Valuer was filed on 28th August 2014. The remaining question before C. Yano J was prayer 2 - setting the amount of compensation. The plaintiffs opposed, contending they were unaware of the proceedings, had lived on the land from time immemorial, and that the judgment of 12th November 2002 was statute-barred under Sections 4(4) and 17 of the Limitation of Actions Act. The court held that the application filed on 11th November 2011 was within twelve years of the judgment, so the limitation defence failed, and that the 2013 orders remained in force. The plaintiffs' failure to file their own valuation reports led the court to adopt the District Valuer's figures as reasonable compensation, excluding the 7th plaintiff who had no structure. The 5th plaintiff's notice of withdrawal filed on 6th October 2017 was held to be of no effect since the suit had been determined in 2002. The court granted prayer 2 in terms of the valuation report and prayer 5, with each party bearing their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the judgment sought to be executed was statute-barred

Holding

The application was filed within twelve years of the judgment, so Section 4(4) of the Limitation of Actions Act does not apply

Reasoning

The judgment was delivered on 12th November 2002 and the Notice of Motion was filed on 11th November 2011, one day short of twelve years. Since execution proceedings were commenced before expiry of the twelve-year period, the limitation defence fails. Further, the orders of 27th November 2013 granted by Mukunya J had not been set aside and remained in force.

p. 2
02

What amount of compensation should be set for the plaintiffs' structures

Holding

The court adopted the amounts in the valuation report filed on 28th August 2014, since the plaintiffs failed to file any valuation report of their own despite being given the opportunity

Reasoning

Only one valuation report was on file, prepared by the District Valuer pursuant to the orders of 27th November 2013. The plaintiffs were given an opportunity to engage their own valuer but filed none. The court therefore adopted the government valuer's figures as reasonable compensation, excluding the 7th plaintiff who had no structure.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Time for execution under Section 4(4) of the Limitation of Actions Act runs from the date of judgment; where an execution application is filed within twelve years of judgment, the judgment is not time-barred
  • A notice of withdrawal of suit filed after the suit has been determined is of no effect

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Application granted in terms of prayer 2, adopting the figures in the valuation report dated 28th August 2014 as the reasonable compensation payable to plaintiffs who had structures when the suit was ongoing
  2. 2.Prayer 5 granted (police assistance/enforcement against resistance to the execution process)
  3. 3.Each party to bear their own costs
Jurisdiction invoked
Sections 34, 51 and 94 of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 51 of the Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Bahati Temo & 6 others v Swafiya Abdalla & another [2018] KEELC 3342 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated (Notice of Motion dated 9th November 2011 in a suit determined on 12th November 2002). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/3342/eng@2018-04-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.