Hosea Barmo Chemweno v Samwel Kamau Kamara & 3 others [2018] KEELC 2952 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan land buyer lost his injunction bid because he produced no documents proving ownership — paper evidence matters more than years of possession.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the plaintiff established a prima facie case with a probability of success
No prima facie case established; no documentation of ownership or beneficial interest, and no proof of locus standi to claim on behalf of the deceased Monica Mugure Kariuki
The court examined the grounds of the application and the supporting affidavit and found nothing demonstrating the plaintiff's beneficial interest or ownership. The plaintiff did not state his relationship with the deceased alleged first allottee nor produce any documentation of the claim for ownership. Without establishing an apparent right capable of being infringed, the first Giella principle failed and the application could not succeed.
Whether the plaintiff would suffer irreparable loss not compensable by damages
No irreparable loss established; damages would be an adequate remedy
The court held that the plaintiff did not establish that he would suffer irreparable loss incapable of compensation by damages if the injunction were not granted. This second Giella principle also failed. Further, the balance of convenience lay with the 1st defendant, the registered proprietor holding a title deed, as reinforced by the 2nd and 4th defendants.
Legal principles established
#- The plaintiff bears the burden of demonstrating a prima facie case, irreparable injury not compensable by damages, and where in doubt the balance of convenience, per Giella v Cassman Brown
Court orders
#- 1.The plaintiff's application for a temporary injunction is dismissed with costs to the defendants
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated in the judgment
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Hosea Barmo Chemweno v Samwel Kamau Kamara & 3 others [2018] KEELC 2952 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 15th December 2017). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/2952/eng@2018-05-31
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.