Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment (plaint dated 12th November, 2015)· [2018] KEELC 2704 (KLR)

Joseph Kamondo Kingori (Suing as the legal representative and administrator of the estate of Kingori Kamondo (Deceased) v Paul Nthinwa Mumbi & another [2018] KEELC 2704 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
2 July 2018
699 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~3 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court stripped a landowner's title because it was obtained by fraud, returning the land to the deceased original owner's estate.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a plaint dated 12th November 2015, the plaintiff, armed with limited letters of administration ad litem, sued for rectification of the title to Mweiga Block (Muthuini) 172 from the 1st defendant's name back to the name of Kingori Kamondo (deceased), alleging that the registration of the 1st defendant was procured by fraud. The deceased had been registered as proprietor on or about 24th May 1988 before the property passed through subsequent owners to the 1st defendant. The 1st defendant, though served by substituted service (newspaper advertisement), never entered appearance or filed a defence, and interlocutory judgment was entered, with the suit set down for formal proof. At formal proof the plaintiff produced a title deed, official search, share certificate, ballot paper, receipts and, critically, the green card, which showed the chain of registrations and bore an endorsement that fraud was suspected in the transfer from the deceased. The court found that the retention of the original title by the plaintiff corroborated the pleaded fraud, since that title ought to have been surrendered to the Land Registrar upon transfer. With no evidence from the defendant to counter the plaintiff's case, and applying Sections 26 and 80 of the Land Registration Act, 2012, which do not protect title acquired by fraud, the judge held that the plaintiff had made out his case, allowed the suit as prayed, and ordered rectification as sought. Judgment was delivered at Nyeri on 2nd July 2018.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved fraud in the transfer of the suit property so as to warrant rectification of title

Holding

Yes - the green card endorsed that fraud was suspected in the transfer, the original title was never surrendered, and the defendant offered no countering evidence; the suit was allowed as prayed.

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced a green card showing the property was first registered in the deceased's name and later transferred through subsequent owners to the 1st defendant, with an endorsement that fraud was suspected. The original title remained in the plaintiff's hands although it ought to have been surrendered to the Land Registrar upon transfer, corroborating the pleaded fraud. With no evidence from the defendant to rebut this, and given that Sections 26 and 80 of the Land Registration Act afford no protection to fraudulently acquired title, the court found the claim made out and allowed the suit as prayed.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • The Land Registration Act, 2012 does not afford protection to title acquired by fraud.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's suit is allowed as prayed
  2. 2.Rectification of the title in respect of Mweiga Block (Muthuini) 172 from the name of the 1st defendant to the name of Kingori Kamondo (deceased) as sought in the plaint

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26
  • Land Registration ActSection 80
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over the suit; relief grounded on Sections 26 and 80 of the Land Registration Act, 2012

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Joseph Kamondo Kingori (Suing as the legal representative and administrator of the estate of Kingori Kamondo (Deceased) v Paul Nthinwa Mumbi & another [2018] KEELC 2704 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in the judgment (plaint dated 12th November, 2015). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/2704/eng@2018-07-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.