Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedChuka ELC (as per plaint dated 25th August, 2015 - number not stated in judgment)· [2018] KEELC 2503 (KLR)

Elyjoy Kageni v Bank of Africa Kenya Limited & 3 others [2018] KEELC 2503 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 June 2018
17,369 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~69 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Chuka court dismissed a woman's attempt to stop a bank auction because she could not prove she was a spouse with a right to consent to the loan.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued to stop the public auction of Land Reference No. Chuka Township/39, charged by the 4th defendant to Bank of Africa to secure Kshs.20.6 million advanced to the 3rd defendant. She sought declarations that the intended sale and the charge were unlawful and void under section 79(3) of the Land Act for want of her spousal consent, plus a permanent injunction. She claimed to be the first wife of the 4th defendant under Meru customary law and to occupy the property as her matrimonial home, whereas the bank's only known spouse, Lucyline Kanyua Mutindwa, had signed the spousal consent. An earlier interlocutory application for a temporary injunction was dismissed on 16th March 2017. At the trial the plaintiff testified with PW2 (her father) and PW3 (the 4th defendant's father); the bank called its recoveries officer. The court framed four issues: validity of the charge, the lawfulness of the sale, the injunction and costs. It found the plaintiff's evidence riddled with contradictions, destroying its probative value; parenthood of a child was not proof of marriage, and neither spousal status nor the existence of a matrimonial home was proved on a balance of probabilities. The court further held that section 79(3) requires the consent of 'any' spouse living in the matrimonial home, not all spouses, so no second spousal consent was necessary since Lucyline Kanyua had consented. All prayers were refused; the suit was dismissed with costs to the bank.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff was a spouse of the 4th defendant

Holding

She was not proved to be a spouse; her evidence was contradictory and the only documentary proof was a child's birth certificate

Reasoning

The plaintiff gave inconsistent testimony, denying and later admitting knowledge of the loan, the bank and the 3rd defendant. Her witnesses contradicted each other on dates and rites. Customary marriage requires proof of the rites of the community; parenthood alone is not proof of marriage. On a balance of probabilities, spousal status was not established.

p. 24
02

Whether the suit property was the plaintiff's matrimonial home requiring her consent

Holding

Not proved; in any event only 'any' spouse's consent was required and Lucyline Kanyua had consented

Reasoning

The court found no probative evidence that the plaintiff occupied the property as her matrimonial home as at 7th August 2012. Even if she had, section 79(3) requires execution by the chargor and any spouse living in the home; the chargor and Lucyline Kanyua, whose residence was uncontroverted, signed the charge, so no second consent was needed.

p. 23
03

Whether the charge was void under the Land Act

Holding

The charge was valid; statutory notices under sections 90 and 96 were complied with

Reasoning

The charge dated 7th August 2012 was executed by the chargor with spousal consent from the spouse known to reside on the property. Statutory notices were issued and served, and the court found the recovery process lawful. The plaintiff having failed to prove spousal status or matrimonial home, the charge could not be void.

p. 21
04

Whether a permanent injunction should issue

Holding

Refused; the plaintiff failed the prima facie case threshold

Reasoning

Having failed to establish spousal status, a matrimonial home, or an invalid charge, the plaintiff had no prima facie case with a probability of success. An injunction restraining the exercise of the statutory power of sale could not issue, particularly where the debt was ballooning past the value of the security.

p. 24

Legal principles established

#
  • A charge of a matrimonial home is valid only if executed by the chargor and any spouse of the chargor living in that matrimonial home (section 79(3), Land Act)
  • Section 79(3) requires consent of any (not all) spouse living in the matrimonial home; a second spousal consent is unnecessary once one spouse has consented
  • Whether one is a spouse, and the existence of a matrimonial home, must be proved by evidence; parenthood of a child is not proof of marriage

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff is not entitled to a declaration that sale by public auction of Land Reference No. CHUKA TOWNSHIP/39 would be unlawful, irregular, unprocedural and illegal
  2. 2.The plaintiff is not entitled to a declaration that the charge on CHUKA TOWNSHIP/39 is void and of no effect in terms of the Land Act 2012
  3. 3.The plaintiff is not entitled to an order of permanent injunction restraining the defendants from dealing with the suit property
  4. 4.This suit is dismissed
  5. 5.Costs shall follow the event and are awarded to the 1st Defendant

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Actsection 79(3); sections 90, 96; section 2 (definition of matrimonial home)
  • Marriage Actsection 59; section 96(2), (3), (4)
  • Evidence Act (Cap. 80)section 51
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 1 rule 8(2)
  • Auctioneers Actnot specified

Cases cited (13)

  • Pamela Imbuki Njaro and another versus Joseph Vutita Njaro and another
    H.C. ELC No.78 of 2014 (Kakamega)
  • Rose Florence Wanjiru versus Standard Chartered Bank (K) Ltd and 2 Others
    (Nairobi)
  • Giella versus Cassman Brown & Co Ltd
    [1973] EA 358
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    Civil Appeal No. 77 of 2012
  • EWM versus EMK alias JN
    [2014] eKLR; HCCC 33 of 2010 (OS)
  • Stella Mokeira Matara versus Thaddeus Mose Mangenya and Another
    [2016] eKLR; ELC No.209 of 2012 (Kisii)
  • Andrew M. Wanjohi versus Equity Bank and Another
    HCCC No.203 of 2005
  • Anastasia Mumbi Kibunja & Others vs Njihia Mucina & Others
    [2013] eKLR
  • Julius Mainye Anyega versus Ecobank Kenya Limited
    HCCC 455 of 2012
  • Davis Nyanjui Njehia versus National Bank of Kenya Limited
    HCCC 22 of 2015
  • Chatur Radio Service and Pronogram Limited
    CA No.50 of 1988
  • Daniel Kamau Mugambi versus Housing Finance Company of Kenya Limited
    HCCC No.261 of 2006 (OS)
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd v. Afraha Education Society
    [2001] Vol. 1 EA 86
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the High Court/Environment and Land Court (Land Act, 2012; Civil Procedure); no specific constitutional provision cited

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Elyjoy Kageni v Bank of Africa Kenya Limited & 3 others [2018] KEELC 2503 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Chuka ELC (as per plaint dated 25th August, 2015 - number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/2503/eng@2018-06-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.