Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment as extracted· [2018] KEELC 2037 (KLR)

Samuel Njuguna Kabue v Simon Thuku Kiarie [2018] KEELC 2037 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
31 July 2018
1,586 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Murang'a removed a caution on land, confirming that a registered title holder's ownership stands unless fraud is proved.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, registered owner of LOC.1/KIGIO/497 since 08.10.1976 following a 1976 purchase from Wambui Kaniu (widow and administratrix of original owner Kaniu Igecha), sued for removal of a caution lodged by the Defendant claiming a beneficial interest. The Plaintiff established an unbroken chain: adjudication in 1963 in favour of Kaniu Igecha, succession in the Kandara Magistrate's Court confirming the suit land to Wambui Kaniu, the sale agreement, and registration. The Defendant conceded the Plaintiff's registration but alleged fraud, claiming his father Mburu Wainaina had purchased the land in 1964 from Kaniu Igecha for Kshs. 2,550/- and that his family had occupied it for over 50 years. The Defendant relied on a sale agreement with Gitau Kaniu, who was never a registered owner, and could not explain why no transfer was effected before his father's death in 2007. No particulars of fraud were pleaded or proved and no counterclaim was filed. In oral evidence the Defendant conceded his family neither resides on the land nor resides there, cultivating only nappier grass, and a pending High Court adverse possession suit was abandoned. Applying Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, 2012, the court held the Plaintiff's title prima facie and indefeasible, found the Plaintiff had proved his case on a balance of probability, and held the Defendant lacked any legal right to caution the land. The court ordered removal of the caution and awarded the Plaintiff the costs of the suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Indefeasibility of registered title under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, 2012

Holding

The Plaintiff, as registered owner since 1976 with a clean chain from the administrator of the original owner's estate, holds an indefeasible title; the Defendant raised no sufficient ground to challenge it.

Reasoning

The Plaintiff traced the title from adjudication (Kaniu Igecha, 1963), through succession to Wambui Kaniu, to a 1976 sale agreement, consent and registration. The Defendant relied on a sale agreement with Gitau Kaniu, who was never a registered owner, and pleaded fraud without particulars or a counterclaim. The court found the Plaintiff proved his case on a balance of probability and the Defendant proved no beneficial interest.

p. 2
02

Right to lodge a caution

Holding

A person with no legal or beneficial interest in registered land has no right to caution against the proprietor's title.

Reasoning

The Defendant claimed a beneficial interest through his father's alleged 1964 purchase from the original owner, but never sought transfer in decades, was not in residence, and only cultivated nappier grass. Having failed to prove any interest, the Defendant lacked any legal right to caution the Plaintiff's land.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is a party, or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The caution lodged against land Loc.1/KIGIO/497 be and is hereby removed
  2. 2.The Plaintiff shall have the costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under the Land Registration Act, 2012 and land law jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Samuel Njuguna Kabue v Simon Thuku Kiarie [2018] KEELC 2037 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in the judgment as extracted. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/2037/eng@2018-07-31

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.