Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19th February 2018)· [2018] KEELC 499 (KLR)

Pink Properties Ltd v National Land Commission & 2 others [2018] KEELC 499 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
14 December 2018
3,059 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court stopped the National Land Commission from revoking a property buyer's title, protecting purchasers who check titles before buying.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, Pink Properties Ltd, moved the Environment and Land Court at Malindi by a Notice of Motion dated 19th February 2018 seeking a temporary injunction to restrain the National Land Commission, the Chief Land Registrar and Elizabeth Muthoni Ritho from vesting LR No. Chembe/Kibabamshe/272 in the 3rd Defendant or any other person, from revoking the Plaintiff's title, and from interfering with its quiet possession pending trial. The application followed Gazette Notice No. 6866 of 12th July 2017 by which the 1st Defendant directed the 2nd Defendant to vest the suit property in Samuel Kanogo Ritho, the 3rd Defendant's father. The 1st and 2nd Defendants filed no response to the application; the 3rd Defendant contested it, asserting her father was the first registered owner following the 1978 adjudication and that his title had been unlawfully cancelled. Applying the Giella -vs- Cassman Brown principles as sequential hurdles, the court found the Plaintiff had established a prima facie case: it purchased the property in 2011 from the registered proprietor after conducting an official search, took title, and had invested over Kshs 60,000,000 in construction. The court traced the property's history, including the cancellation of Ritho's title, fresh allocation to Simeon Patrick Hinzano under the settlement programme, and the judicial review orders of 21st December 2007 compelling Hinzano's registration. The court held the Plaintiff had demonstrated a clear and unmistakable right directly threatened by the revocation, and that it would suffer irreparable harm not compensable in damages, while the 3rd Defendant had never been in occupation. The application was allowed as prayed with costs to the Plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

The court held that the Plaintiff, as a purchaser for value who conducted an official search and held registered title free of any evident blemish, demonstrated a clear and unmistakable right to the suit property directly threatened by the proposed revocation of title

Reasoning

The court traced the chequered history of the suit property: adjudication to Samuel Kanogo Ritho in 1978, cancellation by the Commissioner of Lands, fresh allocation to Simeon Patrick Hinzano, and the 2007 judicial review orders compelling Hinzano's registration. Hinzano's chain of transfers led to the Plaintiff's 2011 purchase after an official search. Nothing suggested any defect in the Plaintiff's title at purchase, and the Gazette Notice No. 6866 directing vesting of the property to Ritho threatened a registered proprietor's clear right, establishing a prima facie case per Mrao Ltd and Nguruman Ltd.

p. 4
02

Whether the Plaintiff would suffer irreparable harm not compensable by damages

Holding

Revocation of the Plaintiff's title would cause unnecessary harm and damage, as the Plaintiff had spent over Kshs 60,000,000 on construction and the 3rd Defendant had never been in occupation

Reasoning

The court noted the Plaintiff had commenced construction of a residential twin house after obtaining the relevant approvals and had expended sums in excess of Kshs 60,000,000, a figure still rising. The 3rd Defendant was never in occupation. If the title were revoked and the revocation later found to offend the 2007 judicial review orders, the Plaintiff would suffer unnecessary harm; pending trial, where the cancellation of the initial title could be interrogated at length, the Plaintiff deserved protection from irreparable harm.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • The three Giella -vs- Cassman Brown conditions for injunctive relief are separate, distinct and sequential hurdles that an applicant must surmount
  • A prima facie case in civil cases is one in which an apparently infringed right calls for an explanation or rebuttal, and it is more than an arguable case

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order of temporary injunction restraining the Defendants jointly and severally, whether by themselves, servants, agents, employees and/or officers, from vesting the suit property to the 3rd Defendant or any other person, revoking the Plaintiff's title, entering, trespassing, taking possession, wasting, damaging or in any other way interfering with the Plaintiff's quiet possession of LR No. Chembe/Kibabamshe/272 including the entire improvements thereon pending hearing and determination of the suit
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the Plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Adjudication ActNot specified

Cases cited (5)

  • Giella –vs- Cassman Brown Company Ltd
    (1973) EA 358
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Company Ltd –vs- Afraha Education Society
    (2001) 1 EA 86
  • Mrao Ltd –vs- First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 Others
    (2003) KLR 125
  • Nguruman Ltd –vs- Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    (2014) eKLR
  • John Dominic Obel & Another –vs- Commissioner of Lands and Others
    Nairobi HCCC No. 3111 of 1997
Jurisdiction invoked
Inherent jurisdiction of the High Court/Environment and Land Court to grant interim injunctive relief under the Civil Procedure Act and Rules (not expressly cited; jurisdiction inferred from the interlocutory application before the court)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Pink Properties Ltd v National Land Commission & 2 others [2018] KEELC 499 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19th February 2018). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/499/eng@2018-12-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.