Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNotice of Motion dated 15th April 2015 (suit number not stated in the judgment)· [2017] KEELC 3728 (KLR)

Francis Kimundui Keigi v Joyce Wanjiru Macharia & 4 others [2017] KEELC 3728 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 January 2017
2,013 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court refused to stop land transactions because a title holder is protected unless fraud is proven with strong evidence at trial.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling on the Plaintiff/Applicant's Notice of Motion dated 15th April 2015, brought under Sections 1A, 1B and 3A of the Civil Procedure Act, seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Defendants from entering, trespassing on, disposing of or dealing with land parcels Thika Municipality Block 40/1656, 40/1657 and 40/1658, subdivisions of the parent parcel Thika Municipality Block 40/1211, pending the hearing of the suit. The Plaintiff, the former registered owner of the parent parcel, alleged that the Defendants fraudulently and without authority secured its subdivision and transfer into their names. The Defendants, through replying affidavits sworn by Agnes Wacera Macharia, Monica Wanjiru Karanja and Joyce Wanjiru Macharia, denied the allegations and produced an oral sale agreement, an acknowledgement of receipt of full purchase price dated 22nd July 2013, Land Control Board consents for subdivision and transfer, and registered transfer documents showing they lawfully purchased the parcels from the Plaintiff himself. The application was canvassed by written submissions. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown principles, the court held that the Defendants, as registered proprietors, were prima facie absolute and indefeasible owners under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act; that allegations of fraud are serious and must be strictly proved by evidence at trial; and that in an interlocutory application the court cannot make conclusive findings of fact on contradictory affidavit evidence. The Plaintiff failed to establish a prima facie case with probability of success, and since the Giella conditions are sequential, the court did not consider irreparable harm or balance of convenience. The Notice of Motion was dismissed with costs to the Respondents on 27th January 2017.

Key legal issues

#
01

Prima facie case for temporary injunction

Holding

The Plaintiff failed to establish a prima facie case with probability of success

Reasoning

Although the Plaintiff was the former registered owner of the parent parcel, the Defendants produced transfer documents, Land Control Board consents and an acknowledgement of receipt of full purchase price showing regular transactions. The Plaintiff's fraud allegations were unsupported and, on the documents, the Defendants appeared as registered proprietors protected by Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act.

p. 4
02

Indefeasibility of title under Section 26(1) Land Registration Act

Holding

Registered proprietors are prima facie absolute and indefeasible owners, challengeable only on fraud to which they are party or illegal/unprocedural acquisition

Reasoning

The court invoked Section 26(1) to hold that the Defendants, named in the certificates of title, were deemed absolute and indefeasible owners. The alleged fraud was a matter requiring proof at trial and could not displace statutory protection at the interlocutory stage.

p. 3
03

Sequential nature of the Giella conditions

Holding

Having failed the first condition, the court did not consider irreparable harm or balance of convenience

Reasoning

Relying on Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd v Afraha Education Society, the court held the Giella conditions are sequential, so failure of the prima facie case test ended the inquiry into the remaining grounds.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Allegations of fraud must be strictly proved, more than on a mere balance of probabilities, and can only be established by calling evidence at trial
  • In an interlocutory application the court should not make conclusive or definitive findings of fact or law on contradictory affidavit evidence
  • The conditions for an interlocutory injunction are sequential; the second condition is addressed only if the first (prima facie case) is satisfied

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion dated 15th April 2015 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the Respondents

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure ActSections 1A, 1B and 3A
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)

Cases cited (6)

  • Giella Vs Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    1973 EA 358
  • Peter Kamau Kiriba Vs City Council of Nairobi & 3 Others
    (2015) eKLR
  • Neepu Auto Spares Limited vs. Narendra Chaganlal Solanki & 3 Others
    [2014]
  • R G Patel Lalji Makanji
    [1957] EA 314
  • Airland Tours & Travel Ltd Vs National Industrial Credit Bank
    Nairobi High Court, (Milimani) Civil Case No. 1234 of 2002
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Co.Ltd Vs Afraha Education Society
    (2009) EA 86
Jurisdiction invoked
Sections 1A, 1B and 3A of the Civil Procedure Act and all other enabling provisions of law

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Francis Kimundui Keigi v Joyce Wanjiru Macharia & 4 others [2017] KEELC 3728 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Notice of Motion dated 15th April 2015 (suit number not stated in the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/3728/eng@2017-01-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.