Muhia Daniel Kimeu & another v Equity Bank (Kenya) Limited & another [2017] KEELC 3295 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court blocked a bank from selling a borrower's land because the bank couldn't prove it properly served the required notices.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Prima facie case for interlocutory injunction
A prima facie case was established because there was no evidence of postage of the demand, statutory and redemption notices.
The court accepted the plaintiffs were indebted in Kshs. 1,931,203.62 as at 12.10.2015. However, on the demand notice dated 14.5.2015, the statutory notice and the redemption notice, there was no evidence of postage and no certificate of registration of mail. Failure to serve the requisite notices is a serious breach of the law, and once non-service is alleged the burden of proving service shifts to the defendant.
Irreparable harm
Irreparable harm established because the market value of the suit property (Kshs. 30,000,000) far exceeds the debt claimed.
The court found the market value of the property to be sold was Kshs. 30,000,000, so the plaintiffs were likely to suffer irreparable harm if it was sold. The balance of convenience also favoured an injunction since the value of the property far exceeded the money owed.
Legal principles established
#- Where a plaintiff alleges non-service of statutory notices, the burden shifts to the defendant to prove service.
Court orders
#- 1.Interlocutory injunction restraining the defendants from selling, advertising, transferring or dealing with Eldoret Municipality Block 5/763 pending hearing and determination of the suit
- 2.The defendants to undertake the realization process afresh by serving a demand notice and issuing a fresh statutory notice following due process according to law
- 3.Costs of the application to be borne by the defendant
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original civil jurisdiction over land dispute; specific provision not stated in the judgment
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Muhia Daniel Kimeu & another v Equity Bank (Kenya) Limited & another [2017] KEELC 3295 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Not stated in the excerpt (Eldoret ELC application dated 29.1.2016). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/3295/eng@2017-03-31
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.