Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (originally filed at the High Court in Nairobi, 1st December 2014; prior related suit: Nairobi ELC Case No. 295 of 2013)· [2017] KEELC 3256 (KLR)

Boniface Gichira Gachirigua & 10 others v Attorney General & 3 others [2017] KEELC 3256 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
31 March 2017
5,650 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~23 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court dismissed landowners' claims against the National Irrigation Board, ruling the Thiba Dam land acquisition was voluntary, not compulsory, and compensation claims must follow proper statutory channels.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a constitutional petition filed in the High Court in Nairobi on 1st December 2014 and dealt with by the Environment and Land Court, in which the petitioners - owners of numerous parcels of land in the Kabare/Kiritine area needed for the construction of the Thiba Water Dam in Mwea - sought declarations that the National Irrigation Board was compulsorily acquiring their land in violation of the Land Act, that the National Land Commission had abdicated its statutory duty, that the Syagga & Associates valuation was a nullity, and that their rights under Articles 40, 35, 26 and 43 of the Constitution had been violated. They also sought an injunction restraining implementation of Gazette Notice No. 8174 and compensation totalling over Ksh. 2.3 billion. The 1st and 3rd respondents raised a preliminary objection, and the 2nd respondent contended the petitioners had voluntarily agreed to compensation, most had been paid or were in the process, and that only five parcels had been referred to the National Land Commission for compulsory acquisition. The court framed thirteen questions and answered each: it held that the 2nd respondent, a body corporate under the Irrigation Act, was acquiring land voluntarily on agreed terms and had no power of compulsory acquisition; the National Land Commission had commenced the lawful process for the five gazetted parcels, making claims over them premature; the valuation was not a nullity; and the Articles 35, 26 and 43 claims were a hunting expedition. The petition was dismissed with costs to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd respondents, the court directing that agreed compensation be paid promptly once outstanding issues were settled.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the 2nd respondent was compulsorily acquiring the petitioners' land

Holding

No - the acquisition was voluntary on agreed terms, and only five parcels had been referred to the NLC for compulsory acquisition under Gazette Notice No. 1909

Reasoning

The court traced the scheme of Article 40(3) of the Constitution and Section 107(1) of the Land Act, which vests compulsory acquisition power in the National Land Commission. The NIB is a body corporate under Section 3(1) of the Irrigation Act capable of purchasing land. It negotiated compensation with persons affected by the project, obtained Compensation Disclosure Certificates, payment vouchers, land control board consents and title transfers. No material showed the NIB commenced compulsory acquisition; where necessary it referred parcels to the NLC.

p. 6
02

Whether the 3rd respondent (National Land Commission) abdicated its constitutional and statutory duty

Holding

No - it gazetted the five contested parcels and commenced the statutory process

Reasoning

The NLC issued Gazette Notice No. 1909 dated 11th March 2015 and Gazette Notice No. 8173 for parcels KABARE/KIRITINE/819, 1140, 958, 1290 and 1137. Registered owners and interested persons were notified. Any dispute arising from that process must be pursued under Sections 127 and 128 of the Land Act, and as regards those parcels the petition was premature.

p. 8
03

Whether the Syagga & Associates valuation was a nullity for violating Sections 112-115 of the Land Act

Holding

No - those sections govern compulsory acquisition, which did not apply; the valuers were qualified and the only complaint (a 2012 licence) did not advance the petitioners' case

Reasoning

Since the acquisition was voluntary, the compulsory acquisition provisions did not apply. The firm of Syagga & Associates was not shown to be unqualified; the only complaint was that its licence produced was for 2013 while the valuation was done in 2012. Having accepted compensation based on those reports, the petitioners could not approbate and reprobate.

p. 8
04

Whether the respondents' failure to provide valuation reports violated Articles 35, 26 and 43 of the Constitution

Holding

No - the court could not see how these provisions were violated and treated the claim as a fishing expedition

Reasoning

Article 35 guarantees access to information, Article 26 protects life, and Article 43(1)(c) protects freedom from hunger. The court found no material connecting these rights to the facts of the negotiated acquisition and compensation process, and concluded the issue was a hunting expedition.

p. 11

Legal principles established

#
  • The power to compulsorily acquire land is vested in the National Land Commission, not in statutory bodies like the National Irrigation Board, which may only acquire land voluntarily by purchase or donation
  • Where a dispute can be disposed of without recourse to the Constitution, a constitutional petition should not be invoked
  • A party cannot approbate and reprobate the same valuation by accepting compensation under it and later attacking its validity
  • Compensation agreed through negotiated voluntary transfer must be paid promptly once outstanding issues (succession, disputes, encumbrances) are cleared

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The petition is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs awarded to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd respondents
  3. 3.Right of appeal explained
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Boniface Gichira Gachirigua & 10 others v Attorney General & 3 others [2017] KEELC 3256 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Not stated in the judgment (originally filed at the High Court in Nairobi, 1st December 2014; prior related suit: Nairobi ELC Case No. 295 of 2013). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/3256/eng@2017-03-31

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.