Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedApplication dated 11th January, 2016 (Malindi Environment and Land Court suit; file number not stated in the excerpt)· [2017] KEELC 2943 (KLR)

KAAB Investments Limited & another v Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd [2017] KEELC 2943 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
12 May 2017
2,163 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court refused to stop KCB from selling charged land, ruling that a borrower who admits owing money cannot get an injunction.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiffs, a company and the registered proprietor of two Malindi properties (Portion Number 10801 (CR 34037) and Portion Number 11215 (CR 46603)), moved the court by an application dated 11th January 2016 seeking interlocutory injunctions restraining Kenya Commercial Bank Limited, its receivers and Garam Investments Auctioneers from advertising or selling the suit properties and the plant and machinery thereon, an order of discovery of the security documents, and the appointment of an independent commissioner to investigate the interest applied to the loan and the market value of the properties. The Plaintiffs contended that the Bank had been paid Kshs. 2.2 billion, had reneged on a restructuring agreement, issued a premature and defective 40 days' statutory notice, failed to serve all guarantors, and had not undertaken a forced sale valuation. The Bank asserted that the properties were charged by a charge dated 30th October 2009 and further charge of 30th August 2010 for Kshs. 205 million, that default continued, that the 90 days' notices, 40 days' notices and 45 days' auctioneers' notice were all duly served, and that a forced sale valuation was carried out. The court found that the 1st Plaintiff admitted indebtedness of USD 2,328,377 and Kshs. 29,000,000 by letter of 12th July 2014; that the Bank agreed only to reschedule the USD facility; that there was no evidence the Plaintiffs paid the rescheduled instalments; and that certificates of posting proved service of the statutory notices, which complied with Section 90(2) of the Land Act. Applying Mrao Ltd v First American Bank, the court held no prima facie case was established, no irreparable harm was shown, and rival valuations did not infringe Section 97(1). Discovery was refused as premature. The application was dismissed with costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Prima facie case for interlocutory injunction

Holding

The Plaintiffs failed to establish a prima facie case with chances of success

Reasoning

The court applied the Mrao Ltd v First American Bank test. The 1st Plaintiff admitted in its letter of 12th July 2014 that it owed USD 2,328,377 and Kshs. 29,000,000. The charge and further charge were exhibited. Although the Bank agreed to reschedule the USD facility, there was no evidence the Plaintiffs paid the rescheduled instalments, and the Bank never agreed to reschedule the Kenya Shilling facility. The Plaintiffs therefore could not allege bad faith.

p. 4
02

Service and adequacy of statutory notices under the Land Act

Holding

The 90 days' statutory notices dated 12th June 2015 and the 40 days' notices dated 16th September 2015 were served and complied with Section 90(2) of the Land Act, as evidenced by certificates of posting

Reasoning

The court perused the certificates of posting and statutory notices and was satisfied both Plaintiffs were served by registered post at their own addresses. The 45 days' Notification of Sale by Garam Investments Auctioneers was also exhibited with the statutory certificate under Section 15(c) of the Auctioneers Rules. The Plaintiffs did not deny the addresses used.

p. 4
03

Valuation and Section 97(1) of the Land Act

Holding

Holding competing valuation reports does not infringe Section 97(1); the Defendant obtained a forced sale valuation and the remedy for an undervalue sale is damages

Reasoning

The Defendant exhibited two valuation reports by Nile Real Appraisers (EA) Ltd dated 20th January 2016 giving market and forced sale values for both properties. The fact that the Plaintiffs held reports indicating higher values did not establish an infringement of Section 97(1). If at trial the sale price is shown not to be the best reasonably obtainable, damages would lie.

p. 4
04

Irreparable harm

Holding

Having offered the suit properties as security with knowledge of the consequences of default, the Plaintiffs cannot plead irreparable damage

Reasoning

The court held that the Plaintiffs, having charged the properties, were well aware that default would expose the properties to sale to offset the debt. Consequently, the second Giella condition was not satisfied, and the balance of convenience did not favour restraining the Bank's statutory power of sale.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A borrower who has conceded obtaining money from a chargee and has offered property as security, which money remains unpaid, is not entitled to the equitable remedy of an injunction to restrain the chargee's statutory power of sale
  • Possession of rival valuation reports showing a higher value does not, by itself, amount to an infringement of Section 97(1) of the Land Act; the remedy is damages if an undervalue sale is proved at trial
  • A party alleging that a lender reneged on an agreement to restructure a loan must adduce evidence that it honoured its own repayment obligations under the rescheduled terms

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Dismissal of the Plaintiffs' Application dated 11th January, 2016
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the Defendant

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land ActSection 90(2)
  • Land ActSections 96(2) and (3)
  • Land ActSection 97(1)
  • Auctioneers RulesSection 15(c)

Cases cited (1)

  • Mrao Limited vs. First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 others
    (2003) KLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land and charges (specific provision not stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "KAAB Investments Limited & another v Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd [2017] KEELC 2943 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Application dated 11th January, 2016 (Malindi Environment and Land Court suit; file number not stated in the excerpt). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/2943/eng@2017-05-12

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.