Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNotice of Motion dated 19th January 2017 (suit number not stated in the judgment)· [2017] KEELC 2338 (KLR)

Gabriel Mwewe v Albert Mungwana Philip [2017] KEELC 2338 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
13 July 2017
1,319 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court dismissed a landowner's injunction, ruling that a Certificate of Confirmation of Grant alone does not prove ownership of listed property.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Applicant, Gabriel Mwewe, moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 19th January 2017 seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Respondent, Albert Mungwana Philip, from trespassing on, entering, selling, alienating or dealing with House No. BR 48 on Plot No. 1389, Barani area, Malindi. The Applicant claimed ownership under a sale agreement dated 1st December 2016 with Mary Nyacomba Kinaro, who derived title from a Certificate of Confirmation of Grant in Malindi High Court Succession Cause No. 120 of 2015, as legal representative of the Estate of Johnson Otiaye Wambogo. He complained that the Respondent had disconnected water and electricity to the premises. The Respondent opposed, averring that the house belonged to his deceased father, Filipo Wambogo Okusimba alias Philip Aboko, who bought it from Omar Bin Abdalla Bin Daghar in 1966 and had since paid ground rent to the registered owners of the land, the Estate of Said Seif Salim; he contended the vendor had no proprietary interest to pass. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown principles and the prima facie case standard in Mrao Ltd v First American Bank and Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen, the court found the Applicant had not established a prima facie case with a probability of success. A Certificate of Confirmation of Grant listing property in its schedule is not, on its own, ipso facto evidence of ownership, and the Applicant offered nothing beyond a general denial to rebut the Respondent's documentary history of the property. The application dated 19th January 2017 was dismissed with costs to the Respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Applicant established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

He did not; his claimed title derived from a sale by Mary Nyacomba Kinaro rested solely on a Certificate of Confirmation of Grant and a building plan, with no evidence of how the property was acquired or the estate distributed

Reasoning

The Applicant relied on a sale agreement and a Confirmation of Grant issued to the vendor as legal representative of the Estate of Johnson Otiaye Wambogo. The Respondent showed the property's history since 1966, including purchase and payment of rent and rates. The Applicant gave only a general denial, offering no evidence of acquisition by the deceased or distribution between the brothers, so the alleged right was not apparently infringed.

p. 3
02

Evidential weight of a Certificate of Confirmation of Grant as proof of ownership

Holding

Not ipso facto proof of ownership of the scheduled property on its own

Reasoning

The court held that a Confirmation of Grant listing property in its schedule, standing alone, does not establish ownership. Corroborating evidence of how the property was acquired by the deceased estate is required. Where a party alleges a relationship (here brothers) between estates, the applicant must show how the estate was distributed to pass title to the vendor.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A Certificate of Confirmation of Grant listing a property in its schedule is not, on its own, evidence of ownership of that property
  • The conditions for granting an interlocutory injunction are those in Giella v Cassman Brown: prima facie case, irreparable injury, and balance of convenience

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Application dated 19th January 2017 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application to the Respondent

Authorities

#

Cases cited (3)

  • Giella versus Cassman Brown & Company Ltd
    (1973) EA 358
  • Mrao Ltd -vs- First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 Others
    (2003) eKLR (Civil Appeal No. 39 of 2002)
  • Nguruman Limited -vs- Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    (2014) eKLR (Civil Appeal No. 77 of 2012)
Jurisdiction invoked
Inherent jurisdiction to grant interlocutory injunctive relief; judgment does not cite a specific constitutional or statutory provision

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Gabriel Mwewe v Albert Mungwana Philip [2017] KEELC 2338 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Notice of Motion dated 19th January 2017 (suit number not stated in the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/2338/eng@2017-07-13

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.