Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in judgment· [2017] KEELC 2201 (KLR)

Samuel Kipkurgat Soi v John Kipkoech Soi [2017] KEELC 2201 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
21 July 2017
951 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that whoever holds a registered title deed owns the land outright and can evict occupants who have no documents.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, Samuel Kipkurgat Soi, sued his brother, John Kipkoech Soi, by plaint claiming to be the registered owner of land parcel Nandi/Chepkongony/472 and alleging that the defendant was illegally in occupation and had constructed a house on the land without any legal rights. He sought an order of eviction of the defendant, his agents, servants and family, together with costs. The defendant was served but failed to enter appearance or file a defence. At the hearing, the plaintiff testified that he bought the parcel from one Kibet Rono on 19th April 1977 for Kshs. 6,000/=, obtained the Aldai Land Control Board consent, and was issued a title deed on 19th October 1981, which he produced in court. He stated that the defendant had been in occupation from 4th January 2002 and had refused requests to vacate. The court held that the plaintiff had proved on a balance of probabilities that he is the absolute owner of the suit land, reasoning from sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act No. 3 of 2012, which vest absolute ownership in the registered proprietor and treat the certificate of title as conclusive evidence, challengeable only for fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedural acquisition or corruption. The court granted the eviction order, directed the plaintiff to give one month's notice, and awarded costs to the plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved ownership of the suit land on a balance of probabilities

Holding

The plaintiff, as sole registered proprietor holding a title deed issued on 19th October 1981, proved on a balance of probabilities that he is the absolute owner of the suit land

Reasoning

The plaintiff testified that he bought the parcel from Kibet Rono in 1977 for Kshs. 6,000/=, obtained Land Control Board consent and produced a title deed as an exhibit. Sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act vest absolute ownership in the registered proprietor and render the certificate of title conclusive evidence, challengeable only on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedural acquisition or corruption. The defendant offered no defence or documents.

p. 1
02

Whether eviction of the defendant from the suit land should issue

Holding

Having found the plaintiff the absolute proprietor, the court granted an eviction order against the defendant, his agents, servants and family, with one month's notice and costs to the plaintiff

Reasoning

The defendant was served but failed to enter appearance or file a defence, so the claim was uncontroverted. The plaintiff established registration and title under the Land Registration Act and showed the defendant had no legal documents to claim ownership. The court exercised its jurisdiction to order eviction to vindicate the plaintiff's proprietary rights.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Registration vests absolute ownership of land in the registered proprietor, whose title is conclusive unless acquired fraudulently, illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order of eviction of the defendant, his agents, servants or family out of land parcel Nandi/Chepkongony/472
  2. 2.The plaintiff to give one month's notice
  3. 3.Costs to the plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration Actsection 24
  • Land Registration Actsection 25
  • Land Registration Actsection 26
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land parcel Nandi/Chepkongony/472 (provision not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Samuel Kipkurgat Soi v John Kipkoech Soi [2017] KEELC 2201 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/2201/eng@2017-07-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.