Stephen Muchira Nyaga v Mwai Murondo [2017] KEELC 2024 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The High Court dismissed an appeal dormant for over three years, confirming that delay kills appeals and missing practising certificates don't invalidate court documents.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether pleadings/documents drawn by an advocate without a current practising certificate are invalid
No - such documents are not rendered invalid on that ground alone unless the advocate has been struck off the roll; the grounds of opposition were therefore not struck out
Relying on the Supreme Court decision in National Bank of Kenya Ltd v Anaj Warehousing Ltd, the court held that the absence of a current practising certificate does not, by itself, invalidate a document. The Law Society of Kenya letter confirmed Mr. KagUithia last held a practising certificate in 2007, but there was no evidence he had been struck off the roll, so the grounds of opposition stood.
Whether the appeal should be dismissed for want of prosecution
Yes - the appeal was dismissed for want of prosecution with costs; the Appellant had taken no steps for over three years and had lost interest
The appeal was admitted on 19th February 2014 (and in fact earlier admitted on 18th June 2012 by Sergon J., the 2014 admission being erroneous), yet no record of appeal was ever prepared or filed. The Appellant's assertion of readiness and absence of delay was not serious. The court concluded the Appellant had no intention of prosecuting the appeal and brought it to a close.
Legal principles established
#- A document prepared by an advocate not holding a current practising certificate is not invalid on that ground alone unless the advocate has been struck off the roll
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Appellate jurisdiction of the High Court over an appeal admitted for hearing (specific provision not stated in the judgment)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Stephen Muchira Nyaga v Mwai Murondo [2017] KEELC 2024 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Not stated in extract (appeal filed 22nd February 2006). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/2024/eng@2017-07-28
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.