Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNotice of Motion dated 24th November 2015 (suit number not stated in judgment)· [2017] KEELC 1799 (KLR)

Kyanjau Farmers Co-op Ltd v County Government of Kiambu [2017] KEELC 1799 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
1 September 2017
1,486 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court stopped a county government from occupying private land, holding that a title deed proves ownership unless fraud is strictly proven.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling of the Environment and Land Court (Mary M. Gitumbi J, delivered at Nairobi on 1 September 2017) on the Plaintiff's Notice of Motion dated 24 November 2015 seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Defendant from trespassing on, entering, constructing on or interfering with LR Number 21213, Thika Municipality, pending trial. The Plaintiff, a co-operative society with about 360 members, averred that it purchased the suit property in 1996 and holds a title deed, and that the Defendant entered the land in October 2015 intending to construct a waste management plant. The Defendant, through the affidavit of its Chief Officer David K. Gatimu, denied trespass, asserting that its waste management plant stands on a public garbage dump site adjacent to a sewage disposal site on public land, and alleged that the Plaintiff's title was procured fraudulently. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown conditions and the definition of a prima facie case in Mrao v First American Bank, the court found the Plaintiff's certificate of title to be prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act. The Defendant's fraud allegation failed because, per R.G. Patel v Lalji Makanji and Section 107 of the Evidence Act, fraud must be strictly proved. Citing Niaz Mohamed Jan Mohamed v Commissioner of Lands, the court held damages would not adequately compensate the breach of the right of possession, and the balance of convenience tilted to the Plaintiff, who was found in possession. The application was allowed with costs to the Plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff established a prima facie case

Holding

The Plaintiff's title deed is prima facie evidence of indefeasible ownership; the Defendant's bare allegation of fraud, unaccompanied by strict proof, does not displace it

Reasoning

Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act renders the certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, subject only to challenge on fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is party, or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition. The Defendant alleged fraud but, per Section 107 of the Evidence Act and R.G. Patel v Lalji Makanji, fraud must be strictly proved - something more than a balance of probabilities. The Defendant failed to discharge that onus at this interlocutory stage.

p. 3
02

Whether damages would be an adequate remedy

Holding

Damages would not suffice to atone for the breach of the Plaintiff's right of possession pending trial

Reasoning

Relying on Niaz Mohamed Jan Mohamed v The Commissioner of Lands, the court held that no amount of money can compensate the infringement of the right to possession of land where the transgression involves unlawful occupation. The Defendant's structures on the suit property made an award of damages inadequate, satisfying the second Giella condition.

p. 3
03

Balance of convenience

Holding

The balance of convenience tilts in favour of the Plaintiff, who is in possession of the suit property

Reasoning

Guided by Nguruman Ltd v Jan Bonde Nielsen, the court compared the inconvenience to each party. Although the Defendant's structures lie on the suit property, there was no indication the plant was in use, and the court found the Plaintiff in possession. The inconvenience of refusing the injunction to the Plaintiff outweighed any inconvenience to the Defendant.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedural acquisition or corrupt scheme
  • Allegations of fraud must be strictly proved to a standard above a mere balance of probabilities

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Application allowed
  2. 2.Temporary injunction restraining the Defendant from trespassing on, entering, constructing on or interfering with LR Number 21213 Thika Municipality pending hearing and determination of the suit
  3. 3.Costs of the application to the Plaintiff
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over land (Environment and Land Court) - not expressly cited in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kyanjau Farmers Co-op Ltd v County Government of Kiambu [2017] KEELC 1799 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Notice of Motion dated 24th November 2015 (suit number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/1799/eng@2017-09-01

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.