Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedEmbu ELC (plaint dated 22nd February 2017; case number not stated in judgment)· [2017] KEELC 881 (KLR)

Peter Muriithi Nyaga v Madris Kanini Mbungu & another [2017] KEELC 881 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
23 November 2017
807 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~3 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that lawsuits to recover land bought under a sale agreement have 12 years to be filed, not 6.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a plaint filed on 22nd February 2017, the Plaintiff sought transfer of 0.4 ha portions out of parcels Kyeni/Kigumo/1485 and 1486, or execution of the transfer forms by the Deputy Registrar, plus costs and interest, alleging breach of sale agreements dated 6th May 2007. The Defendants denied capacity to contract (unconfirmed letters of administration), pleaded repudiation for non-payment of the balance, and filed a preliminary objection dated 27th March 2017 contending the suit was barred by section 4(1)(a) of the Limitation of Actions Act (Cap 22), which bars contract actions after six years. By consent, the objection was canvassed by written submissions. The Defendants argued the agreements were about ten years old and relied on Lucky Summer Estate Co Ltd v Kariuki & Gatheca Resources Ltd. The Plaintiff countered that the applicable provision was section 7, allowing twelve years for actions to recover land, citing Salesio Njeru Mbogo v Michael Muriithi Njagi & Another and Board of Governors Kisasi Secondary School v Johnson Kitheka Kathenge. The court agreed that the suit was not an ordinary contract action but one under a contract for the sale of land in which the Plaintiff sought to recover land, so section 7 applied. The cause of action, arising in 2007, had not expired by 22nd February 2017, with roughly two years remaining. The preliminary objection was dismissed with costs to the Plaintiff on 23rd November 2017. The main suit remained for determination; this ruling disposed only of the objection.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the applicable limitation period was 6 years under section 4(1)(a) or 12 years under section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act

Holding

The suit is an action for recovery of land under a contract for sale of land, so section 7 (12 years) applies and the suit, filed on 22nd February 2017, was not statute barred.

Reasoning

The Defendants argued the 2007 sale agreements gave rise to a contract claim barred after six years under section 4(1)(a). The Plaintiff relied on section 7, which allows twelve years for actions to recover land. The court held the claim was not an ordinary contract action but one seeking recovery of land under a contract for sale of land, and was persuaded by the authorities cited by the Plaintiff's advocate that section 7 governs. The cause of action, arising in 2007, had therefore not expired by February 2017.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A suit by a purchaser seeking transfer/recovery of land under a contract for the sale of land falls under section 7 (12 years) and not section 4(1)(a) (6 years) of the Limitation of Actions Act.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Defendants' preliminary objection dated 27th March 2017 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the preliminary objection to the Plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Limitation of Actions Act (Cap 22)section 4(1)(a)
  • Limitation of Actions Act (Cap 22)section 7

Cases cited (3)

  • Lucky Summer Estate Co Ltd & 3 Others Vs Kariuki & Gatheca Resources Ltd
    NBI HCCC No. 2587 of 1994
  • Salesio Njeru Mbogo Vs Michael Muriithi Njagi & Another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Board of Governors Kisasi Secondary School Vs Johnson Kitheka Kathenge
    [2017] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes (particular statutory/constitutional basis not stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Peter Muriithi Nyaga v Madris Kanini Mbungu & another [2017] KEELC 881 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Embu ELC (plaint dated 22nd February 2017; case number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/881/eng@2017-11-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.