Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated on the face of the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 20th December, 2016)· [2017] KEELC 307 (KLR)

Margaret Malu William & another v Rachel Anyango Ogweno & another [2017] KEELC 307 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
20 December 2017
1,569 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan land buyer with official search certificates and rate receipts beat a rival who had no ownership documents, winning a court-ordered freeze on the disputed plots.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiffs, registered proprietors of Plots 163 'A' and 163 'B'/Industrial – Noonkopir Trading Centre at Kitengela, moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 20th December 2016 under Section 3A of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 40 of the Civil Procedure Rules seeking a temporary injunction. The 2nd Plaintiff deponed that she purchased the plots in 2003, paid land rates, and discovered on 30th November 2016 that the 1st Defendant was constructing on the land, erecting a fence and dismantling the Plaintiffs' caretaker's mabati structure, claiming she had bought the plots from a Mr. Nzioki. Complaints to the Kitengela Police and the National Land Commission yielded no relief. The 1st Defendant opposed through grounds of opposition, alleging abuse of process due to a pending suit (Civil Case No. 329 of 2011) and denying the encroachment, but filed no replying affidavit and produced no evidence of ownership. The court framed two issues: entitlement to a temporary injunction and whether the 1st Defendant had encroached. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown principles, the court held that although letters of allotment are not documents of title, the Plaintiffs' Certificates of Official Search, rate receipts and photographs established a prima facie case; the uncontroverted encroachment showed irreparable harm not compensable in damages; and the balance of convenience favoured the Plaintiffs. The motion dated 20th December 2016 was allowed, and the injunction sought was granted. Judgment delivered at Kajiado on 20th December 2017 by Christine Ochieng J, with the parties absent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiffs established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

Yes. The Plaintiffs exhibited letters of allotment, Certificates of Official Search, rate payment receipts and photographs, while the 1st Defendant produced no evidence of ownership; the court found a prima facie case established.

Reasoning

The court applied the first limb of Giella v Cassman Brown. Although letters of allotment are not documents of title, the Plaintiffs produced Certificates of Official Search confirming ownership as at December 2016 and rate payment receipts. The 1st Defendant filed only grounds of opposition, no replying affidavit, and produced no documentation proving her claim of ownership from a Mr. Nzioki. The evidential imbalance established a prima facie case with probability of success.

p. 3
02

Whether the Plaintiffs would suffer irreparable harm not compensable by damages

Holding

Yes. The 1st Defendant's encroachment and interference with the Plaintiffs' caretaker structure, and continued construction of a fence, established irreparable harm.

Reasoning

The court noted the 1st Defendant did not deny encroaching on the suit land, had interfered with the mabati caretaker structure, and was erecting a fence despite the Plaintiffs' complaints to the police and the National Land Commission. The Plaintiffs' continued payment of land rates evidenced possession and enjoyment of the properties. The court found harm that could not adequately be compensated by an award of damages if the injunction was denied.

p. 3
03

Whether the balance of convenience favoured the Plaintiffs

Holding

Yes. The balance tilted in favour of the Plaintiffs who had presented documents proving ownership.

Reasoning

On the third Giella limb, the court observed that the Plaintiffs had exhibited documentary proof of ownership while the Defendants had produced nothing to substantiate their competing claim. Preservation of the status quo pending trial would therefore favour the party in documented possession, and the balance of convenience was held to tilt towards the Plaintiffs.

p. 3
04

Whether the 1st Defendant encroached on the Plaintiffs' plots

Holding

Effectively yes; the 1st Defendant did not deny the encroachment and produced no evidence to rebut the Plaintiffs' account of construction of a fence and interference with the caretaker's structure.

Reasoning

The 1st Defendant relied only on grounds of opposition without a replying affidavit or documentary evidence. The Plaintiffs' account of the 1st Defendant constructing a fence, ripping open the caretaker's mabati structure, and claiming ownership through a purchase from a Mr. Nzioki stood uncontroverted, supported by photographs and reports to the police and the National Land Commission.

Legal principles established

#
  • A letter of allotment is not a document of title to land; it is a transient offer or right to take property.
  • The Giella v Cassman Brown principles govern the grant of temporary injunctions: prima facie case with probability of success, irreparable injury not compensable by damages, and balance of convenience.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion dated 20th December, 2016 is allowed
  2. 2.Temporary injunction granted restraining the Defendants from interfering with, constructing on, wasting, damaging or alienating the suit properties pending the outcome of the suit
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 3A of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 51 rule 1 and Order 40 rules 1 & 2 of the Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Margaret Malu William & another v Rachel Anyango Ogweno & another [2017] KEELC 307 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2017). Not stated on the face of the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 20th December, 2016). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2017/307/eng@2017-12-20

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.