Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedHCCC No. 552 of 2011 (O.S.) (inferred from suit filed 14th December 2011; number not stated in judgment)· [2016] KEELC 1108 (KLR)

Antoluc Merchants Limited v Stephen Mburu Kamau & 13 others [2016] KEELC 1108 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya
29 January 2016
2,441 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court refused to stop a land sale because the buyer's agreement was void without land control board consent and he proved no fraud.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued the 1st Defendant and the administrators of the estate of Michael Kamau Muigai (deceased) seeking a declaration of ownership of one acre carved out of LR No. Limuru/Rironi/4487/4, specific performance of an agreement for sale dated 13th March 2009, and a permanent injunction. The suit property had since been registered as Limuru/Rironi/4885/114 in the names of the 1st and 3rd to 13th Defendants and, during the pendency of the suit, transferred to the 14th Defendant. By a Notice of Motion dated 16th February 2015, the Plaintiff sought leave to amend the plaint to join the 3rd to 14th Defendants and an interlocutory injunction to preserve the suit property. The Defendants opposed, contending the sale agreement was void because the administrators of the estate were not parties to it and that the Plaintiff's fraud allegations were unproved. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown principles, Okong'o J held that the administrators of the estate were not bound by the agreement the 1st Defendant made with the Plaintiff, that the 1st and 3rd to 13th Defendants were entitled to the land upon distribution and free to sell it, that no fraud was strictly proved against the 14th Defendant, and that the agreement had become null and void for want of land control board consent within six months. The court therefore found no prima facie case and dismissed the injunction application, with costs in the cause. However, in the interest of justice and to preserve the suit property, the court granted an order of inhibition against further dealings with Limuru/Rironi/4885/114 until the hearing and determination of the suit or further orders.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff established a prima facie case for an interlocutory injunction

Holding

No prima facie case was established because the administrators of the estate were not bound by the sale agreement with the 1st Defendant, and the agreement was null and void for want of land control board consent

Reasoning

Plot 4487/4 was registered in the name of the deceased. The confirmed administrators were not parties to the 2009 sale agreement with the 1st Defendant and were free to subdivide and distribute the estate land. On registration in their names, the 1st and 3rd to 13th Defendants could deal with the suit property, including selling it to the 14th Defendant. No fraud was strictly proved, and the agreement lapsed for want of land control board consent. Hence the Plaintiff could not succeed.

p. 4
02

Whether the sale of the suit property to the 14th Defendant was fraudulent

Holding

No fraud was established; fraud requires strict proof and none was placed before the court beyond the pleading

Reasoning

The Plaintiff merely pleaded fraud regarding the transfer to the 14th Defendant without evidential support. The court restated the settled standard that fraud must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved to a standard higher than the balance of probabilities, citing Koinange and Urmila Shah. Since the registered proprietors were entitled to sell, the transfer was lawful and no fraud was proved.

p. 4
03

Whether the agreement for sale dated 13th March 2009 was valid

Holding

The agreement became null and void because the requisite land control board consent was not obtained within the prescribed six months

Reasoning

The agreement was expressly subject to land control board consent. The court noted there was no evidence that consent was obtained within the six-month statutory period, and in its absence the agreement was null and void. This independently defeated the Plaintiff's claim to enforce the agreement, in addition to the non-joinder of the administrators who were not bound by it.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Administrators of a deceased's estate who are not parties to a sale agreement executed by one of their number are not bound by it and are free to deal with estate property
  • Allegations of fraud must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved on a standard higher than a mere balance of probabilities
  • A land sale agreement subject to land control board consent becomes null and void if the consent is not obtained within the prescribed six months
  • Once registered as proprietors following distribution of an estate, the defendants were free to deal with the land as they deemed fit

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 16th February 2015 is dismissed save for prayer 2 thereof which had already been granted
  2. 2.Costs of the application shall be in the cause
  3. 3.An order of inhibition inhibiting the registration of any other or further dealings with the suit property LIMURU/RIRONI/4885/114 until the hearing and determination of this suit or further orders by the court

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Control Act (implied by reference to land control board consent)Consent requirement and 6-month validity period

Cases cited (4)

  • Giella vs. Cassman Brown Ltd
    (1973) E.A 358
  • Komarock View Ltd Vs. Another vs. Bank of Baroda (K) Ltd & Another
    [2008] eKLR
  • Koinange & 13 others vs. Koinange
    (1986) KLR 23
  • Urmila w/o Mahendra Shah vs. Barclays Bank International Ltd & Another
    (1979) KLR 76
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the High Court over land claims (not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Antoluc Merchants Limited v Stephen Mburu Kamau & 13 others [2016] KEELC 1108 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2016). HCCC No. 552 of 2011 (O.S.) (inferred from suit filed 14th December 2011; number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2016/1108/eng@2016-01-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.