Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the extract (Notice of Motion dated 4th January 2015/2016)· [2016] KEELC 124 (KLR)

Mui Annex Propertieslimited v Kamunge & 2 others [2016] KEELC 124 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
4 November 2016
2,077 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court ordered occupants off a Nairobi plot, ruling that a registered title holder's ownership is absolute unless fraud is clearly proved.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of LR No. 209/12678 (Grant No. I.R.68284), which it purchased for Kshs. 35,000,000, moved the court by Notice of Motion seeking a mandatory injunction compelling the defendants to vacate the suit property and a temporary injunction restraining them from entering, taking possession or constructing thereon pending trial. The plaintiff alleged that on 23rd December 2015 the defendants destroyed part of the perimeter wall and erected temporary structures. The defendants, through a replying affidavit sworn by the 3rd defendant, denied the claims, asserting occupation since 1983, that the land was reserved for a market, that the plaintiff's title was fraudulently acquired, and that they had acquired title by adverse possession. The court applied the Giella v Cassman Brown principles for prohibitory injunctions and the higher threshold for mandatory injunctions. It held that under sections 24, 25 and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act the plaintiff's registered title was prima facie absolute and indefeasible; the defendants produced no evidence of a market reservation and their adverse possession claim was contradicted by the photographs and by the fact that the Grant creating the property was only registered on 30th January 1996, making occupation from 1983 impossible. The fraud allegation failed for want of proof to the requisite standard above balance of probability. Finding the defendants trespassers and the plaintiff's case strong and clear with irreparable harm likely, the court allowed the application in terms of prayers 3, 4 and 5, gave the defendants 30 days to vacate if still in occupation, and awarded the plaintiff the costs of the application.

Key legal issues

#
01

Principles for temporary prohibitory and mandatory injunctions

Holding

The Giella v Cassman Brown principles govern prohibitory injunctions; a higher threshold applies to mandatory injunctions, requiring a clear case and special circumstances.

Reasoning

The court restated the settled test: a prima facie case, irreparable harm, and a balance of convenience if in doubt, citing Giella v Cassman Brown. For mandatory injunctions it adopted Locabail International Finance and Showwind Industries, holding that a clear case plus special circumstances is required, but that where a party is prima facie on the wrong - as in trespass - the court may act without waiting for full trial.

p. 2
02

Defendants' adverse possession and market-reservation claims

Holding

Both claims failed at the interlocutory stage for want of evidence; the defendants are trespassers.

Reasoning

The court found no evidence that the suit property was reserved for a market beyond the Part Development Plan, noting the inconsistency of building residences on a market and the incompatibility of a reservation claim with an adverse possession claim. The 1983 occupation claim was contradicted by the photographs and by the fact that the Grant creating the suit property was registered on 30th January 1996, before which the property did not exist.

p. 3
03

Fraud allegation against the plaintiff's title

Holding

The allegation was not proved; the plaintiff's title was prima facie lawful and indefeasible.

Reasoning

Applying sections 24, 25 and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, the court held the plaintiff's registered rights indefeasible. Citing Koinange v Koinange and Kampala Bottlers v Damanico, it held that fraud must be proved to a standard above balance of probability and must be attributable to the transferee; a mere allegation does not suffice. No such evidence was adduced against the plaintiff.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Registration vests absolute ownership of land in the registered proprietor under section 24 of the Land Registration Act, 2012
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud or misrepresentation to which the holder is a party, or where acquired illegally, un-procedurally or through a corrupt scheme (section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act)
  • The standard of proof of fraud is higher than a mere balance of probability, and fraud must be attributable to the transferee to impeach a registered title
  • A mandatory injunction at the interlocutory stage requires a clear case and special circumstances

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's Notice of Motion dated 4th January 2016 is allowed in terms of prayers 3, 4 and 5 thereof
  2. 2.The defendants shall comply with the orders in terms of prayer 3 of the application (vacating the suit property) within 30 days from the date of the order if still in occupation
  3. 3.The plaintiff shall have the costs of the application

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration Actsection 24
  • Land Registration Actsection 25(1), (2), (3)
  • Land Registration Actsection 26(1)

Cases cited (6)

  • Giella vs. Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    [1973] E. A 358
  • Locabail International Finance Ltd. vs. Agro-Export & Another
    [1986] 1 All E.R 901
  • Showwind Industries Ltd. vs. Guardian Bank Ltd. and Another
    [2002] 2 KLR 378
  • Koinange & 13 others vs. Koinange
    [1996] KLR 23
  • Kampala Bottlers Ltd –vs- Damanico (U) Ltd
    East Africa Law Reports [1990-1994] E. A 141 (SCU)
  • Shariff Abdi Hassan vs. Nadhif Jama Adan
    [2006] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court (suit land LR No. 209/12678); Land Registration Act, 2012 invoked

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mui Annex Propertieslimited v Kamunge & 2 others [2016] KEELC 124 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2016). Not stated in the extract (Notice of Motion dated 4th January 2015/2016). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2016/124/eng@2016-11-04

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.