Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCOtherNot stated in the judgment· [2015] KEELC 739 (KLR)

Rachel Chepkosgei Misoi & another v Loftin Kinyua Mwirichia [2015] KEELC 739 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya (Environment and Land jurisdiction)
27 February 2015
2,196 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

In a contested Nairobi land ownership dispute, the High Court ordered both sides to keep the property exactly as it is until trial decides who owns it.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiffs, asserting registered ownership of L.R No. 13746 Nairobi, applied on 2nd July 2014 for orders prohibiting the Defendant from dealing with the suit property, directing him to vacate and hand over possession, and for police assistance in enforcement. They deposed that they were owners in possession until 8th June 2014 when the Defendant moved in, uprooted their fence and erected a temporary structure. The Defendant, in reply and supplementary affidavits, claimed he was allocated the plot on 24th July 1985, paid the requisite fees, took possession and developed it, and that his title was never processed because his file went missing at the Ministry of Lands. He alleged the Plaintiffs' title was forged, pointing to the grant's registration on a Saturday and the absence of records authenticating his allotment letter. The Plaintiffs countered that the Defendant's allotment letter could not be authenticated by the NLC or the Lands Office. The application was canvassed by written submissions. The court, L. Gacheru J, found the ownership dispute highly contested: the Plaintiffs' acquisition history was unexplained and the Defendant's allegations of fraud brought their title into sharp focus. Such a finding could only be made at trial after witnesses testified and were cross-examined. Applying the Court of Appeal decision in Ougo & anor v Otieno (1987) KLR 1, the court ordered maintenance of the status quo: no development or demolition of any fence or structure, and the Plaintiffs restrained from charging, disposing of or alienating the property pending the hearing and determination of the suit. Costs of the application were to be in the cause. The injunctive and possessory orders sought were refused at this interlocutory stage.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether a prima facie case was established to justify an interlocutory injunction in a contested ownership dispute

Holding

No. The dispute over ownership was highly contested and could not be resolved on affidavit evidence; status quo was the appropriate interim measure.

Reasoning

Both parties claimed ownership: the Plaintiffs produced a title and land rent receipts, while the Defendant alleged the documents were forged and relied on a 1985 allotment letter, receipts and evidence of long possession. The Plaintiffs offered no history of acquisition, lending weight to the Defendant's allegations. A definitive finding required oral evidence tested by cross-examination, so the court ordered maintenance of the status quo pending trial, following Ougo & anor v Otieno.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Where there is a serious conflict of facts on an interlocutory application, the trial court should maintain the status quo until the dispute is decided at trial

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order of status quo to the effect that there shall be no development or demolition of any fence or structure on the suit property
  2. 2.The Plaintiffs restrained from charging, disposing of or in any way alienating L.R No. 13746 Nairobi pending the hearing and determination of the suit or until further orders
  3. 3.Costs of the application to be in the cause

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land ActSection 7

Cases cited (1)

  • Ougo & anor -vs- Otieno
    (1987) KLR 1
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over the suit; interlocutory application dated 2nd July 2014

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Rachel Chepkosgei Misoi & another v Loftin Kinyua Mwirichia [2015] KEELC 739 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2015). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2015/739/eng@2015-02-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.