Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2014] KEELC 551 (KLR)

Njuwangu Holdings Ltd v Langata KPA Nairobi West Trading Co Ltd & 5b others [2014] KEELC 551 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya (title/land dispute; the judgment does not state the division)
2 May 2014
3,131 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A registered land title in Kenya beats a letter of allotment, unless fraud is specifically proved against the registered owner.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling by J.M. Mutungi J, delivered at Nairobi on 2 May 2014, determines two interlocutory applications by the plaintiff in a land dispute over L.R. No. 209/13415 Nairobi. The plaintiff, which purchased the property from Gatero Enterprises Ltd for Kshs.77,000,000 and was registered as proprietor on 16 September 2008, sought an injunction restraining the 1st to 4th Defendants from interfering with its possession and a conservatory order barring the Commissioner of Lands from processing a title over L.R. No. 209/10636, which the plaintiff says was amalgamated in 1997 into L.R. No. 209/13415 and no longer exists. The Defendants, relying on a letter of allotment of 4 October 2012 to the 1st Defendant and their claim of long occupation, alleged the plaintiff's title was fraudulently procured and counterclaimed for its cancellation. The court held that no fraud had been established at the interlocutory stage - such allegations being generalised and required to be proved to a standard higher than a balance of probability - and that the plaintiff was prima facie a bona fide purchaser for value holding an indefeasible title under sections 25(1) and 26 of the Land Registration Act, protected by Article 40 of the Constitution. Applying Satya Investments Ltd v J.K. Mbugua, the court held that a letter of allotment cannot override a registered title and that there cannot be two titles over one parcel, estopping the Commissioner of Lands from issuing a new title over the property pending trial. The court granted the injunction in terms of prayers 3 and 5 of the motion dated 28 January 2013 and the conservatory order in terms of prayer 5 of the motion dated 6 February 2013, declined to compel disclosure by the Commissioner, directed compliance with Order 11 of the Civil Procedure Rules within 60 days, and ordered each party to bear their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff holds a prima facie indefeasible title to L.R. No. 209/13415

Holding

Yes; the plaintiff is registered proprietor, a bona fide purchaser for value without notice, and its title is prima facie indefeasible under sections 25(1) and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act and protected under Article 40 of the Constitution

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced the Grant No. L.R. 75931, a registered transfer, a KRA stamp duty declaration showing Kshs.77,000,000 consideration, an official search confirming Gatero Enterprises Ltd as proprietor without encumbrances, and evidence of payment of rates and land rent. Fraud allegations against the plaintiff were generalised, lacked specificity and were unproved; at interlocutory stage a definitive finding requires trial evidence and cross-examination.

p. 4
02

The comparative strength of a registered title versus a letter of allotment

Holding

A letter of allotment cannot override a registered title; the allotment letter holder's rights have not crystallised

Reasoning

Following Satya Investments Ltd v J.K. Mbugua (Court of Appeal), where a licence could not override a registered title, the court reasoned by analogy that an allotment letter must give way to a registered title absent fraud by the registered proprietor. There cannot be two titles over the same parcel; the Commissioner of Lands should be estopped from issuing a new title on top of an existing one until the suit is determined.

p. 5
03

Whether the plaintiff's title was procured by fraud or irregularity

Holding

Not established at this stage; the fraud allegations were generalised and unproved

Reasoning

Fraud must be specifically pleaded and proved to a standard higher than a balance of probability. The Defendants' allegations - concerning the missing land office file, the delay in registration and the Deed of indemnity - did not displace the prima facie regularity of the plaintiff's registration. A definitive finding is reserved for the trial court after evidence and cross-examination.

p. 4
04

Existence of L.R. No. 209/10636 after the 1997 replanning/amalgamation

Holding

The Ministry of Lands correspondence indicates L.R. No. 209/10636 ceased to exist upon amalgamation creating L.R. No. 209/13415; the 1987 letter of allotment was disowned by the Ministry

Reasoning

The Director of Surveys' letter of 14/8/2012 confirmed no Deed Plan was issued for L.R. No. 209/10636 and that it was amalgamated in 1997 to become L.R. No. 209/13415. The Ministry of Lands disowned the 1987 letter of allotment. This supports the plaintiff's duplication-of-title concern and justified the conservatory order against processing a title over L.R. No. 209/10636.

p. 2
05

The disappearance of the land office file for L.R. No. 209/13415

Holding

The court found it probable the records were made to disappear after registration of the transfer, with whoever responsible possibly intending to create confusion

Reasoning

The official search of 23/4/2008 showed the Deed file existed. A Deed of indemnity can only be made by the registered proprietor, so the indemnity registered in 2010 could not have enabled the plaintiff's 2008 registration, which already appeared on the title. The court left open the identity of whoever caused the disappearance, finding it irrelevant to the interlocutory determination.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A letter of allotment cannot override a duly registered title; the registered proprietor's rights have crystallised while allotment rights have not
  • Under section 25(1) of the Land Registration Act the rights of a proprietor are indefeasible except as provided in the Act
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of ownership, challengeable only on fraud/misrepresentation or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through corruption
  • The standard of proving fraud in civil cases is higher than a balance of probability
  • Article 40(6) of the Constitution removes protection only where due process is initiated and it is proved the property was unlawfully acquired

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Interim injunction in terms of prayers 3 and 5 of the Notice of Motion dated 28/1/2013 restraining the 1st to 4th Defendants from interfering with the plaintiff's possession and ownership rights over L.R. No. 209/13415
  2. 2.Conservatory order in terms of prayer 5 of the Notice of Motion dated 6th February 2013 barring the Commissioner of Lands from processing a grant of title in respect of L.R. No. 209/10636
  3. 3.Direction that all parties comply with Order 11 of the Civil Procedure Rules within 60 days, after which any party may apply to have the suit fixed for pre-trial conference
  4. 4.Each party to bear their own costs of the applications

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40, 40(3), 40(6)
  • Land Registration Act No. 3Section 25(1), Section 26, Section 26(1)(a)(b), Section 28
  • Registration of Titles Act Cap 281 (repealed)General provisions on registered title
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 11

Cases cited (1)

  • Satya Investments Ltd –vs– J.K. Mbugua
    Civil Appeal No. 164 of 2004
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over land title and interim/conservatory relief; interim relief under the Civil Procedure Rules and the Land Registration Act (specific enabling provision not stated in the ruling)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Njuwangu Holdings Ltd v Langata KPA Nairobi West Trading Co Ltd & 5b others [2014] KEELC 551 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2014). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2014/551/eng@2014-05-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.