Muli v Republic (Criminal Appeal E038 of 2024) [2026] KECA 1370 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal dismissed a defilement appeal, confirming the 20-year sentence and that second appeals only question law, not facts.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the High Court failed to analyze the ingredients of the charge of defilement (age, penetration, identification)
- 2.Whether the prosecution complied with section 77 of the Evidence Act in producing the medical evidence
- 3.Whether the complainant was a credible witness and whether her sole identifying evidence could sustain a conviction
- 4.Whether the defence of alibi was properly considered and rejected
- 5.Whether the sentence of 20 years' imprisonment was excessive
Key legal issues
#Proof of the ingredients of defilement on second appeal
The three ingredients of defilement - age of the victim, penetration and identification of the offender - were each established beyond reasonable doubt; the birth certificate proved age, medical evidence proved penetration, and the complainant's recognition of the appellant proved identity
The birth certificate showed the victim was 13. The P3, PRC and treatment notes, admitted through Dr Miringo familiar with the maker's handwriting and unobjected to, showed a perforated vagina and penetrated hymen, satisfying the statutory definition of penetration as full or partial. The complainant, tested by voire dire, positively identified a known assailant by nickname.
Scope of a second appeal and deference to concurrent findings of fact
This Court, restricted to matters of law under section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code, pays homage to concurrent findings of fact of the trial court and first appellate court unless they rest on no evidence, a perversion of the evidence, or no reasonable tribunal could reach them
Relying on Karingo and Adan Muraguri Mungara, the Court held it will not disturb concurrent findings absent the established grounds. The alibi defence was considered and rejected by the courts below, and no evidence supported the bare assertion that the complainant was not credible.
Admissibility of medical evidence under sections 33 and 77 of the Evidence Act
Statements and reports of a medical practitioner who could not attend may be produced by another person familiar with the maker's handwriting, and a medical report under section 77 may be used in evidence with the court presuming the genuineness of the signature
Dr Miringo produced the P3, PRC and treatment notes prepared by Dr Abdikadir, confirming familiarity with her handwriting; the appellant raised no objection. Section 77(1) and (2) permitted the report's use in evidence with the presumption of a genuine signature.
Mandatory minimum sentence under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act
The 20-year minimum prescribed by section 8(3) binds the courts; the trial court's sentence was the statutory minimum and could not be disturbed
Following Republic vs Manyeso and Republic vs Ayako of the Supreme Court, which bind the Court of Appeal, the Court held it could not interfere with a statutory minimum sentence. The appellant had received exactly the minimum, so the plea on sentence failed.
Legal principles established
#- A second appeal to the Court of Appeal is confined to points of law and the Court will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact unless they are based on no evidence or amount to a perversion of the evidence
- Where a minimum sentence is prescribed by statute, courts have no discretion to vary or tinker with that sentence
- A conviction may rest on the evidence of a single witness provided that evidence is properly tested at trial
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed in its entirety
- 2.The conviction and sentence imposed by the trial court and confirmed by the High Court stand
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya at Kiambu
- Not stated in the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Second appeal to the Court of Appeal under section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code, confined to matters of law
Relief refused
#Setting aside the conviction for defilement
No error of law or miscarriage of justice was demonstrated in the High Court judgment; age, penetration and identification were all proved
Review or reduction of the 20-year sentence
Section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act prescribes a minimum sentence of 20 years, which courts cannot tinker with per binding Supreme Court authority
Costs
No costs order made in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
On the whole, the appeal is found to be without merit and is dismissed.
A second appeal must be confined to points of law and this Court will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact arrived at in the two courts below unless based on no evidence.
where a minimum sentence is imposed by statute, courts have no room to tinker with such a sentence
It is trite law that where the only evidence against a defendant is evidence of identification or recognition, a trial court is enjoined to examine such evidence carefully and to be satisfied that the circumstances of identification were favourable and free from possibility of error before it can safely make it the basis of conviction.
section 143 of the Evidence Act provides that a conviction can be achieved by the evidence of a single witness, provided that such evidence is properly tested at trial.
Issues in the judgment
#Internal contradiction on the victim's date of birth: the judgment states a birth certificate confirmed the minor's date of birth as 19th September 2020, yet concludes the victim was 13 years old at the time of an offence committed on 24th May 2014
Internal contradiction on the scope of the appeal: the judgment states the judgment is written on the basis there was no challenge to the conviction on the 2nd count, but describes that count inconsistently as conspiracy to commit a felony when the alternative charge was indecent act with a child
The judgment does not state its own appeal number or neutral citation, nor any costs order, limiting identification and enforcement of the decision
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Muli v Republic (Criminal Appeal E038 of 2024) [2026] KECA 1370 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1370/eng@2026-07-10
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.