Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KECA 1047 (KLR)

Icea Lion General Insurance Company Limited v Lawrence Muthiga T/A Kimathi Booksellers

Court of Appeal
29 May 2026
5,064 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that motor insurance policies only pay a vehicle's pre-accident value minus salvage and excess, and never business losses unless expressly agreed.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The respondent insured a Volvo Tipper (KBK 564U) with the appellant for Ksh.4,500,000, partly financed by Diamond Trust Bank. The vehicle was involved in an accident at Bisil on 13th March 2011 and was written off. The appellant initially repudiated liability on the ground that the loss arose from mechanical breakdown, but later offered Ksh.3,420,000 on an ex-gratia basis, remitting Ksh.1,882,100 (after deducting salvage of Ksh.1,537,900) through the Bank without the respondent's involvement. The respondent sued for the balance of the sum insured and loss of business. Mong'are, J. entered judgment for Ksh.2,617,900, loss of business of Ksh.6,625,000, interest and costs. The Court of Appeal, as the first appellate court, re-evaluated the evidence and framed two issues: entitlement to loss of business and quantum. It held that the policy expressly excluded consequential loss, and that standard form policies do not cover such loss unless specifically agreed; the Judge's reliance on delay in settlement was unwarranted since section 203 of the Insurance Act prescribes no repercussions for late settlement. On quantum, the Court approved that compensation for a written-off vehicle is the pre-accident value (Ksh.3,800,000), less the 10% excess under clause 11 and salvage, applying the principle of restitution. The appeal was allowed; the High Court judgment was set aside and substituted with Ksh.1,882,100 plus interest from filing suit, with no order as to costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Entitlement to compensation for loss of business (consequential loss) under the insurance contract

Holding

The appellant was not liable for loss of business because the contract expressly excluded consequential loss, and the learned Judge's reliance on delay in settling the claim was unwarranted since section 203 of the Insurance Act prescribes no repercussions for late settlement

Reasoning

The exceptions to Section 1 of the policy excluded 'Consequential loss'. Following Madison Insurance and Nyutu Agrovet, the Court held that standard form policies do not cover consequential loss unless specifically agreed. Counsel for the respondent conceded that section 203 of the Insurance Act prescribes no sanction for failure to settle within 90 days, undermining the Judge's delay-based rationale. The claim for loss of profits was therefore not recoverable under the policy.

p. 8
02

Quantum of compensation: pre-accident valuation versus sum insured

Holding

Compensation for a written-off vehicle should be based on the pre-accident value less salvage and other reasonable consequential expenses, not the value at purchase or the sum insured

Reasoning

Applying the principle of restitution, which aims to put the insured in the same financial position as before the loss, the Court approved the reasoning in Permuga Auto Spares and Mbugu David that the pre-accident value, less salvage and reasonable consequential expenses, is the proper measure. The pre-accident value was assessed at Ksh.3,800,000, and the vehicle was depreciating. Awarding pre-accident value plus loss of user would amount to double compensation.

p. 8
03

Application of clause 11 (10% excess) and the fate of the salvage

Holding

The 10% excess clause and the salvage deduction applied, and the respondent failed to mitigate by not attending to the fate of the salvage vehicle

Reasoning

Clause 11 of the policy made the insured responsible for the first 10% of the insured's estimate of vehicle value. The respondent, having been a party to the contract, ought to have known its clauses. Newspaper notices by Kaplan & Stratton Advocates in July 2016 notified the respondent to collect the vehicle, and upon learning of the payment through the bank he ought to have mitigated his loss by finding out the fate of the salvage but did not.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • Ordinary or standard form contracts of insurance do not cover consequential loss unless the parties specifically contract that such loss would be covered
  • Once a vehicle has been written off, the proper measure of compensation is the pre-accident value less salvage value and other reasonable consequential expenses, not the purchase price or insured value
  • A first appellate court has an obligation to re-consider and re-evaluate the evidence and come up with independent conclusions

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal allowed
  2. 2.Impugned judgment and decree of the High Court set aside
  3. 3.Substitution of an order that the respondent was entitled to Ksh.1,882,100, being the balance of the sum insured, with interest from the date of filing suit
  4. 4.No order as to costs
On appeal from
High Court
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over an appeal from the High Court (as stated: 'As the first appellate court we have an obligation to re-consider and re-evaluate the evidence')

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Icea Lion General Insurance Company Limited v Lawrence Muthiga T/A Kimathi Booksellers", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1047/eng@2026-05-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.