Nation Media Group Limited v David Mugambi Simon
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal threw out a Kshs. 3 million defamation award against Nation Media Group because the published story was substantially true.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the publication was defamatory notwithstanding that the respondent was arrested as a suspect and later released
The publication was not defamatory because it was a substantially true and accurate account of the respondent's arrest as a suspect during a police operation against a dangerous gang; the respondent's own testimony admitted the core facts reported.
The Court found it common ground that the newspapers carried the respondent's photograph with the story of his arrest as a suspect in a gang crackdown. The respondent admitted being arrested during a shootout between police and an armed gang and being released after it was found he was not a gang member. Reporting an arrest as a suspect was therefore an accurate account of the day's happenings and factually correct.
Whether the burden of proof was discharged given that the appellant called no witnesses
The burden of proving the defamation claim rested on the respondent under sections 107, 108 and 109 of the Evidence Act, and the appellant's failure to call evidence did not relieve the respondent of that obligation; on the respondent's own admission the story was accurate.
The Court reiterated that the burden lay on the respondent as owner of the claim, citing Mumbi M'Nabea and Charterhouse Bank. Since the appellant had pleaded the truth of the police operation and arrest, and the respondent's testimony confirmed those facts, there was no need for the appellant to testify to establish justification.
Whether the publication was protected by qualified privilege and whether malice was established
The public was entitled to know about the insecurity incident on Accra Road; the appellant, as a responsible newspaper, ensured the story was substantially accurate and done in good faith to inform the public, discharging its duty responsibly; no negligence or malice was established.
The Court accepted that the publication concerned matters of great public interest, namely insecurity and police efforts to combat it. What mattered was that the story was substantially accurate, published in good faith with the sole intention of informing the public. On that basis the defence of qualified privilege stood and malice failed.
Whether the award of Kshs. 3,000,000 in damages was proper
The question of damages did not arise for determination because the Court found the trial court was not justified in finding defamation and dismissed the claim outright.
Although the Court had framed damages as a contingent issue for re-examination, having allowed the appeal on liability and set aside the High Court judgment, no award of damages survived. The claim was dismissed with costs, rendering the damages ground moot.
Legal principles established
#- On a first appeal, the appellate court must reconsider and evaluate the evidence and draw its own conclusions, while making allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses, and should not substitute its own findings for those of the trial court unless there is no evidence to support them or the trial judge is plainly wrong.
- The failure by a defendant to call evidence does not relieve a plaintiff of the obligation to prove their case on a balance of probabilities.
- Where the respondent's own evidence establishes the substantial accuracy of a publication, the defendant need not call evidence to prove the defence of justification.
Court orders
#- 1.Appeal allowed with costs to the appellant
- 2.Judgment and decree of the learned judge of the High Court set aside
- 3.The respondent's claim dismissed with costs
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- Not stated in the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal; the judgment was delivered by the remaining members of the bench under Rule 34(4) of the Court of Appeal Rules following the death of a member of the bench
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Nation Media Group Limited v David Mugambi Simon", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/713/eng@2026-03-25
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.