Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCriminal Appeal (not specified in judgment)· [2025] KECA 2108 (KLR)

Onesmus Karisa Karabu v Republic

Court of Appeal of Kenya
5 December 2025
4,359 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~17 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal cut a 20-year sentence back to 15 years because the judge failed to deduct remand time and to warn the appellant before enhancing the sentence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The appellant, Onesmus Karisa Karabu, was convicted by the trial magistrate of defilement contrary to Section 8(1) as read with Section 8(4) of the Sexual Offences Act and sentenced to 15 years imprisonment. The prosecution case was that he abducted LC, a 16-year-old girl, on 24th May 2016, detained her in his locked house for about three days and repeatedly defiled her, threatening her with a panga. The High Court dismissed his first appeal, upheld the conviction but enhanced the sentence to 20 years imprisonment. On second appeal, the appellant, appearing in person from Manyani Prison, abandoned the appeal against conviction and pursued three grounds: enhancement of sentence without notice contrary to Section 382 of the Criminal Procedure Code; failure to apply Section 333(2) in respect of the period spent in remand custody; and violation of his right to legal representation under Article 50(2)(g) and (h) of the Constitution. The Court of Appeal, applying Section 361(1) which confines second appeals to questions of law, dismissed the ground on legal representation, finding the appellant had actively participated in his trial and suffered no substantial injustice from the absence of State-funded counsel. However, the court found merit in the sentencing grounds: the High Court failed to reduce the sentence proportionately by the 1 year and 7 months spent in remand custody, and enhanced the sentence from 15 to 20 years without notice or warning, a misdirection under the JJW v Republic principle. The appeal against conviction was dismissed; the appeal against sentence partially succeeded. The 20-year sentence was set aside, the trial court's 15-year sentence restored, with the 1 year and 7 months in custody to be deducted. The judgment was delivered at Mombasa on 5th December 2025 by Murgor, Tuiyott and Nyamweya, JJA.

Key legal issues

#
01

Right to legal representation under Article 50(2)(g) and (h)

Holding

The omission by the trial court to inform the appellant of his right to State-funded counsel did not invalidate the conviction as no substantial injustice or prejudice was shown.

Reasoning

The court applied its decision in William Oongo Arunda, holding that State-funded representation is required only where substantial injustice would result, such as in complex or serious charges or where the accused cannot participate effectively. The record showed the appellant actively participated, cross-examined witnesses strenuously, and raised the issue only on appeal, not at trial. The High Court had not addressed the point, but this court found no prejudice.

p. 5
02

Section 333(2) Criminal Procedure Code - remand custody

Holding

The High Court erred in failing to deduct the 1 year and 7 months spent in remand custody from the sentence; the sentence must be reduced proportionately by that period.

Reasoning

Section 333(2) obligates a sentencing court to take account of the period spent in custody before sentence. Following Ahamad Abolfathi Mohammed and Bethwel Wilson Kibor, the court held that 'taking into account' means reducing the sentence proportionately, not merely reciting that the period was considered. The appellant was arrested on 27th May 2016 and convicted on 20th December 2017, hence entitled to the deduction.

p. 7
03

Enhancement of sentence without notice - Section 382 Criminal Procedure Code

Holding

The High Court's enhancement of the sentence from 15 to 20 years without notice or warning was a misdirection and the enhancement was set aside.

Reasoning

Applying JJW v Republic, the court held that although the High Court has power under Section 354(3) to enhance a sentence, the appellant must be warned before or at the commencement of the hearing, or served with a prosecution cross-appeal seeking enhancement. No such notice or warning appeared on the record, denying the appellant an opportunity to oppose enhancement, amounting to a misdirection.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • On a second appeal the Court of Appeal is confined to questions of law and cannot interfere with findings of fact unless the lower courts considered matters they ought not to have, or failed to consider matters they should have, or were plainly wrong.
  • State-funded legal representation under Article 50(2)(h) arises only where substantial injustice would otherwise result, particularly in complex or serious charges or where the accused cannot effectively participate in the trial.
  • A court sentencing an accused who was held in custody prior to sentence must reduce the sentence proportionately by the period already spent in custody; it is not enough to merely state that the period has been taken into account.
  • An appellate court may not enhance a sentence without prior notice to the appellant, either by a prosecution cross-appeal served in good time or by a warning at the commencement of the hearing that the sentence risks enhancement.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal against the upholding of the appellant's conviction dismissed
  2. 2.Sentence of 20 years imposed by the High Court set aside; trial court's sentence of 15 years imprisonment upheld
  3. 3.The 1 year and 7 months spent in custody prior to sentencing to be deducted from the 15 years term of imprisonment
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal limited to questions of law)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Onesmus Karisa Karabu v Republic", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not specified in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/2108/eng@2025-12-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.