Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealOtherNot stated in judgment· [2025] KECA 2047 (KLR)

Joseph Kamau Kahungu v Isaiah Wanyonyi & 2 others

Court of Appeal
27 November 2025
66 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~1 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal in Eldoret allowed an applicant to withdraw their motion without any costs penalty, ending the matter.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a one-page ruling of the Court of Appeal delivered at Eldoret on 27th November 2025 by M. Gachoka, Judge of Appeal. The applicant had filed a notice of withdrawal dated 21st November 2025 in respect of a Notice of Motion dated 24th September 2025. On the strength of that notice of withdrawal, the court marked the Notice of Motion as withdrawn and made no orders as to costs. No reasons were given, no issues were framed, no authorities were cited and no decision below was reviewed; the ruling is purely procedural and creates no binding precedent. Because the certified record supplied contains only the first page, the appeal or application number, the case title, the identities of the parties and any neutral citation are not visible, and those fields have been left as 'not stated in judgment' or empty rather than inferred. The costs order is recorded exactly as made: no orders as to costs. The only quotable passage of substance is the final order marking the motion as withdrawn. The disposition is classified as 'other' since this was not an appeal allowed, dismissed or struck out, but a motion withdrawn by the applicant and so marked by the court.

Key legal issues

#

Legal principles established

#

    Court orders

    #
    1. 1.The Notice of Motion dated 24th September 2025 is marked as withdrawn with no orders as to costs
    Jurisdiction invoked
    Not stated in judgment

    Key timeline

    #

    Practical implications

    #

    Frequently asked questions

    #

    Cite this brief

    #

    Cite this brief

    Caselaw, "Joseph Kamau Kahungu v Isaiah Wanyonyi & 2 others", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/2047/eng@2025-11-27

    Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.