Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment

Chuna Co-operative Savings & Credit Society Limited v Osawo (Civil Application E501 of 2025) [2025] KECA 1992 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
21 November 2025
969 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Court of Appeal gave a company 14 more days to file its appeal against a Kshs. 7.1 million gratuity award, but refused to shortcut filing fees.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a single-judge ruling of the Court of Appeal at Nairobi, delivered by D. K. Musinga, President of the Court, on 21st November 2025, on a notice of motion dated 13th August 2025. The applicant, an employer aggrieved by an ELRC judgment of Abuodha, J. of 27th September 2024 in Nairobi ELRC Cause No. 606 of 2019 awarding the respondent Kshs. 7,119,820 as gratuity under a Collective Bargaining Agreement, sought extension of time to file a notice of appeal and record of appeal, plus deeming orders for documents already filed. The applicant explained that it learned of the judgment in November 2024 without service of a judgment notice, and that its application for leave and stay before the trial court was dismissed on 13th June 2025 because the ELRC lacked jurisdiction to extend time for an appeal to the Court of Appeal. Applying the Salat principles, the Court found the delay candidly explained, the intended appeal arguable (raising retrospective application of the CBA, computation of gratuity, entitlement in law, and unjust enrichment), and no prejudice to the respondent. The Court granted leave to file and serve the notice of appeal and record of appeal within fourteen days, declined to deem the already-filed documents as properly filed absent proof of payment of fees, and made no order as to costs given the respondent's non-participation.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the applicant should be granted extension of time to file and serve a notice of appeal, record of appeal and/or memorandum of appeal against the ELRC judgment
  2. 2.Whether the memorandum of appeal and record of appeal already filed should be deemed properly filed and admitted on record

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the delay in filing the notice of appeal and record of appeal was reasonably explained and whether extension of time should be granted

Holding

Extension of time was granted because the applicant candidly explained the delay (no service of judgment notice; bona fide error on jurisdiction), the intended appeal was not frivolous, and the respondent would suffer no prejudice.

Reasoning

The Court applied the Salat principles: extension is an equitable remedy for a deserving party; the applicant bore the burden of explaining the delay. The applicant learned of the judgment in November 2024 without being served, promptly instructed advocates, and the earlier dismissal of its application before the trial court rested on lack of jurisdiction to extend time for an appeal to this Court. The intended appeal raised arguable issues on the CBA gratuity award, and the unopposed application caused no prejudice to the respondent.

p. 2
02

Whether an unopposed application may simply be allowed without scrutiny

Holding

Even where an application is unopposed, the Court must consider it on its merits.

Reasoning

The respondent was served but filed nothing. The judge expressly declined to treat non-opposition as determinative, instead testing the application against the Salat criteria before granting partial relief. This ensured the discretion was exercised judiciously rather than by consent or default.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • In an application for extension of time under rule 4 of the Court of Appeal Rules, the Court exercises unfettered discretion which must nonetheless be exercised judiciously, applying the Salat principles.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Leave granted to the applicant to file and serve notice of appeal and the record of appeal within fourteen (14) days from the date of the ruling
  2. 2.Refusal to deem any notice of appeal and memorandum of appeal already filed as properly filed, absent evidence of payment of requisite fees
  3. 3.No order as to costs

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

On appeal from
Employment and Labour Relations Court, Nairobi
Cause No. 606 of 2019
Jurisdiction invoked
Rule 4 of the Court of Appeal Rules (extension of time)

Relief refused

#

Deeming of the notice of appeal and memorandum of appeal already filed as properly filed and admitted on record

The Court had not seen the documents and there was no evidence that filing fees were paid

p. 3

Costs

No order as to costs since the respondent did not file anything in opposition to the applicant's application.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Extension of time is not a right of a party. It is an equitable remedy that is only available to a deserving party at the discretion of the Court;
p. 2Nature of extension of time
Although the application is not opposed, I am duty bound to consider the application on its merits.
p. 2Duty to scrutinise unopposed applications
Consequently, I grant leave to the applicant to file and serve notice of appeal and the record of appeal within the next fourteen (14) days from the date of this ruling.
p. 3Final orders - leave granted

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment does not disclose the names of the applicant or the respondent, nor the appeal/case number before the Court of Appeal or a neutral citation.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Chuna Co-operative Savings & Credit Society Limited v Osawo (Civil Application E501 of 2025) [2025] KECA 1992 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1992/eng@2025-11-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.