Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] KECA 1733 (KLR)

Galana Oil Limited v Mogas Kenya Limited

Court of Appeal of Kenya
24 October 2025
4,622 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~18 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that a bookkeeping error is not proof of fuel delivery, so Galana Oil had no right to withhold Mogas's paid-for stock.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first appeal to the Court of Appeal at Nairobi by Galana Oil (Kenya) Limited against the judgment of the High Court (F. Tuiyott, J) dated 27th June 2019, which allowed Mogas Kenya Limited's claim for release of 1,125.298 cubic meters of Gasoil (AGO) and dismissed Galana's counterclaim. The dispute arose from an erroneous double entry of 801.599 MT of Premium Motor Spirit (PMS) in the books of Kenya Petroleum Refineries Limited (KPRL), which Galana alleged Mogas had physically drawn and utilised, justifying its lien over Mogas's paid-for AGO. The Court of Appeal framed the central question as whether the double entry was a paper entry only or was accompanied by an actual drawing of physical fuel. Reviewing the email correspondence among the parties, KPRL and the Ministry of Energy, the court found no document showing that Mogas admitted receiving the second tranche of PMS, noted that KPRL - the party that could have confirmed physical release - never acted, and observed that Galana had withdrawn its claim against KPRL in its counterclaim. The court found the respondent consistent to the end in denying receipt and saw no basis to depart from the trial court's finding. It held that Galana was not justified in holding the AGO as lien, affirmed the trial court's orders, and dismissed the appeal with costs to the respondent. The judgment was delivered on 24th October 2025 by a bench of three Judges of Appeal.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the erroneous double entry of 801.599 MT of PMS in KPRL's books amounted to an actual delivery of physical product to Mogas

Holding

There was no evidence that the respondent ever admitted receiving the second tranche of the disputed PMS; the finding of the trial court that the respondent did not draw the disputed fuel was correct.

Reasoning

The court reviewed the email correspondence between the parties, KPRL and the Ministry of Energy and found no document demonstrating the respondent acknowledged taking the second tranche. KPRL, the custodian that would have confirmed release, never acted, and the appellant withdrew its claim against KPRL. The respondent consistently denied receipt of the disputed tranche to the end. The court therefore found no basis to depart from the trial court's finding.

p. 9
02

Whether the appellant's lien over the respondent's AGO stock persisted

Holding

The lien was not justified; the appellant could not continue withholding the AGO paid for by the respondent.

Reasoning

Having found that the respondent never received or acknowledged receipt of the disputed PMS, the court held that the appellant had no basis to hold the respondent's AGO as security. The lien was temporary and conditional on cooperation to correct the book error, which the respondent demonstrated willingness to effect; the continued withholding was therefore not merited and the trial court's orders releasing the product were proper.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • A first appellate court must reappraise, re-evaluate and re-analyze the record, consider it in light of rival submissions and draw its own conclusions while making due allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses.
  • A claim of lien over goods is unjustified where the party claiming the lien cannot demonstrate that the other party received, or acknowledged receiving, the physical product claimed to be owed.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs to the respondent
  2. 2.The judgment of the High Court dated 27th June 2019, including the release of 1,125.298 cubic meters of AGO to the respondent, stands
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nairobi
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal from the High Court in its original jurisdiction under Rule 31(1) of the Court of Appeal Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Galana Oil Limited v Mogas Kenya Limited", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1733/eng@2025-10-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.