Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCriminal Appeal (not stated in judgment beyond memorandum of appeal)

Cox v Republic (Criminal Appeal E099 of 2021) [2025] KECA 1488 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
19 September 2025
5,397 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~22 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a 35-year murder sentence based on circumstantial evidence, but credited the man's time already spent in custody.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Court of Appeal at Nakuru (Mativo, Gachoka and Korir, JJA) dismissed a first appeal against a conviction for the murder of Beatrice Ekidor, who was stabbed to death near a bar at Keringet Trading Centre, West Pokot County, on the night of 16th/17th February 2018; the appellant was sentenced to 35 years' imprisonment by the High Court. No witness saw the stabbing, so the case rested on circumstantial evidence. Applying the Abanga and Sawe principles, the Court found a complete chain of circumstances: a violent brawl between the appellant and the deceased over an unpaid bill, the appellant in hot pursuit, the fatal stabbing minutes later, the appellant's overnight disappearance from the vicinity, the recovery of blood-stained shoes and curtains from his rented house (forensic analysis showing the blood did not match the deceased, though the appellant had been injured in the brawl), and his false denials of knowledge of the death. Malice aforethought was inferred from the multiple penetrating stab wounds to the chest, lung and heart despite the murder weapon not being recovered. On sentence, the Court found the trial judge erred by passing sentence solely on the presentence report without referring to the appellant's mitigation, and by failing to apply the proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code on pre-sentence custody. Although this entitled the Court to revisit the sentence, it concluded the same term would have been imposed; the 35-year sentence was left intact but ordered to run from 6th April 2018, the date of first arraignment.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the prosecution proved beyond reasonable doubt that the death of the deceased occurred and was caused by an unlawful act
  2. 2.Whether the circumstantial evidence proved beyond reasonable doubt that it was the appellant who committed the unlawful act
  3. 3.Whether the appellant had malice aforethought
  4. 4.Whether the sentence of 35 years was harsh and passed without consideration of mitigation

Key legal issues

#
01

Proof of death and cause of death

Holding

Death and its cause were established by the autopsy evidence and unchallenged testimony of witnesses who saw the body

Reasoning

The postmortem by Dr. Mukhola established stab wounds and the cause of death as acute blood loss. Multiple witnesses saw the body at the scene and described the injuries; no alternative version of the death was suggested and identity of the body was never raised in cross-examination.

p. 5
02

Sufficiency of circumstantial evidence identifying the appellant as the killer

Holding

The cumulative circumstances - the brawl, hot pursuit, proximate timing, flight, blood-stained shoes recovered from his house, and false denials - formed a complete chain excluding innocence

Reasoning

No witness saw the stabbing, so the case rested on circumstantial evidence. The court applied Abanga and Sawe, finding the brawl, pursuit, stabbing shortly after, disappearance, recovery of blood-stained shoes and the appellant's contradictory accounts incompatible with any reasonable hypothesis of innocence.

03

Malice aforethought

Holding

Malice aforethought was proved by the nature and number of stab wounds to vital organs, even without recovery of the murder weapon

Reasoning

Applying section 206 of the Penal Code, the multiple penetrating stab wounds to the chest, lung and heart demonstrated an intention to kill or cause grievous harm. Production of the weapon was not necessary where the injuries objectively established lethal intent.

p. 8
04

Sentence - mitigation and section 333(2) proviso

Holding

The trial judge erred by sentencing solely on the presentence report without referencing mitigation, and failed to credit pre-sentence custody, but the 35-year sentence was not disturbed; it was ordered to run from 6th April 2018

Reasoning

The court invoked its discretion to relook at sentence due to the judge's failure to consider mitigation and the s.333(2) proviso. Weighing aggravating and mitigating factors and Muruatetu, the court concluded the same sentence would have been imposed, but granted credit for time in custody.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • On a first appeal, the appellate court must reconsider and re-evaluate the evidence afresh, making allowance for the trial court's advantage of seeing and hearing the witnesses
  • Circumstantial evidence must satisfy the three Abanga tests: circumstances cogently established, of definite tendency pointing to guilt, and cumulatively forming a complete chain excluding any other hypothesis
  • The burden of proof on circumstantial evidence never shifts to the accused
  • An appellate court will not interfere with sentence unless it is manifestly excessive or the trial court overlooked a material factor, considered wrong material, or acted on a wrong principle
  • Failure to consider an accused's mitigation and the proviso to section 333(2) Criminal Procedure Code entitles the appellate court to relook at the sentence

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal against conviction dismissed and conviction affirmed
  2. 2.Appeal against sentence dismissed
  3. 3.Sentence of 35 years' imprisonment to run from 6th April 2018, the date the appellant was first arraigned in court

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority
majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 379(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code (first appeal)

Relief refused

#

Quashing of the conviction for murder

Circumstantial evidence formed a complete chain pointing to the appellant and no other person

p. 9

Reduction of the 35-year sentence

Trial judge's failure to consider mitigation would not have produced a different sentence

p. 9

Costs

No costs order made in the judgment

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

We therefore find that the cause of death and the fact that the deceased died as a result of the stab wounds were established by the prosecution.
p. 5proof of death
The chain created by available evidence is intricately intertwined, linking the appellant and no other person to the ofience. We find that the appellant waylaid the deceased and stabbed her.
circumstantial evidence
The burden of proving facts that justify the drawing of this inference from the facts to the exclusion of any other reasonable hypothesis of innocence is on the prosecution, and always remains with the prosecution.
p. 6burden of proof
In the end, we dismiss the appeal against conviction and sentence. However, the appellant's sentence of 35 years' imprisonment shall run from 6th April 2018, when he was first arraigned in court.
p. 9final orders / disposition

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Final orders describe the appeal as dismissed in its entirety, yet the court identified a sentencing misstep entitling it to relook the sentence and varied the commencement date - a partial concession rather than outright dismissal; classification as partially_allowed rests on the variation of the sentence start date

minor

Case number of the appeal before the Court of Appeal is not stated anywhere in the judgment, and no neutral citation appears

minor

The judgment refers to the trial Judge inconsistently as 'he' and 'she'

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Cox v Republic (Criminal Appeal E099 of 2021) [2025] KECA 1488 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment beyond memorandum of appeal). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1488/eng@2025-09-19

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.