Nganga v Gachiri
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that whoever claims land ownership must prove it with verifiable documents, or they're a trespasser who can be evicted and fined.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Lawful proprietorship of the triangular/V-shaped plot
The respondent proved ownership through consistent 1974 and 1989 Council documents amalgamating the V-shaped plot into Plot T19; the appellant's 2007 documents did not identify any verifiable parcel, so the plot was not available for allocation to him and he was a trespasser
The Court re-evaluated the documentary evidence as a first appellate court. The respondent's documents (1974 application, 1974 minutes extending Plot T19 by 10 feet, and the 1989 letter incorporating the V-shaped plot) consistently described the disputed portion. The appellant's Kangema Town Council documents referred to a 10 x 10 foot open space for a septic tank without identifying the specific area, and no payment evidence was adduced. Applying sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act, the appellant failed to discharge the burden of proof.
Limitation of actions in trespass
The appellant's continued unauthorized occupation was a continuing trespass; each continuance is a fresh trespass, so the respondent's claim was not time barred by the three-year period in section 4(2) of the Limitation of Actions Act
Section 4(2) of the Limitation of Actions Act bars tort actions brought after three years, but this presupposes a one-time trespass. Relying on Jowitt's Dictionary of English Law, Black's Law Dictionary and Clerk & Lindsell on Torts, the Court held that in a continuing trespass a fresh cause of action arises day to day. Since the appellant entered and remained in occupation unauthorized, the claim was a continued tort and not time barred.
Failure to call a scheduled witness (Kangema Sub-County Administrator)
No adverse inference was drawn; the respondent as the plaintiff could decide which witnesses to call, and the trial court had found the larger Murang'a County Council was the relevant body
The appellant urged the Court to infer that the summoned Kangema Sub-County Administrator's evidence would have been adverse to the respondent. The respondent submitted that a litigant may choose which witnesses to call based on probative value, and that the Kangema Sub-County office could not have a say since the matter was within the larger Murang'a County Council's purview. The Court dismissed the appeal and did not disturb the trial court's treatment of the evidence.
Award of Kshs.100,000.00 per annum general damages for trespass
The award was fair, reasonable and just; trespass is actionable per se and the quantum was within the trial Judge's discretion, which the Court of Appeal would not substitute
The appellant contended the award was hypothetical and unsupported by evidence of actual loss. The Court noted the respondent had pleaded mesne profits which the trial court declined to award; the Kshs.100,000.00 was for the trespass itself, which is actionable per se. An appellate court cannot substitute its discretion for that of the trial judge absent proof it was improperly exercised.
Legal principles established
#- A first appellate court may only interfere with findings of fact by the trial court where they are based on no evidence, on a misapprehension of the evidence, or where the judge acted on wrong principles
- Every continuance of a trespass is a fresh trespass giving rise to a new cause of action from day to day, so a claim for continuing trespass is not time barred under section 4(2) of the Limitation of Actions Act
- The party who alleges allocation or ownership of land bears the burden of proving it, failing which the party is a trespasser
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal was dismissed with costs to the respondent
- 2.The judgment of the Environment and Land Court delivered on 8th March 2018 (eviction, permanent injunction, damages of Kshs.100,000.00 annually from 2015 until vacant possession, and costs of the suit) was left undisturbed
- On appeal from
- Environment and Land Court
- Not stated in the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under rule 31(1)(a) of the Court of Appeal Rules (appellant invoked this Court's jurisdiction by a Notice of Appeal dated 10th March 2018)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (2)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission v Kiptoo & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E009 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 4327 (KLR)[2026] KEELC 4327 (KLR)30 Jun 2026
- Feisal Said Rubeya & 3 others v Hamisi Mohammed & 2 others[2026] KECA 1024 (KLR)29 May 2026followed
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Nganga v Gachiri", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1415/eng@2025-07-31
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.